Seal Team Six: Hunt the Wolf

Seal Team Six: Hunt the Wolf

5.0 3
by Don Mann
     
 

Navy SEAL Team Six commando Don Mann infuses his debut military thriller with the real-life details only a true insider can reveal.

In the midst of a grueling training exercise, Thomas Crocker, USN, unearths a pocket of terrorism that leads straight from the slopes of K2 to the cities of Europe and the Middle East. Crocker and his team, who are trained for the

Overview

Navy SEAL Team Six commando Don Mann infuses his debut military thriller with the real-life details only a true insider can reveal.

In the midst of a grueling training exercise, Thomas Crocker, USN, unearths a pocket of terrorism that leads straight from the slopes of K2 to the cities of Europe and the Middle East. Crocker and his team, who are trained for the most intense kinds of combat in the most extreme environments, must blaze through a perilous web of terrorist cells to track down a ruthless sheikh who is running an international kidnapping ring before his captives pay the ultimate price.

HUNT THE WOLF is an adrenaline-packed novel sure to appeal to fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor, featuring the world's most elite soldiers and based on the experiences of renowned SEAL Team 6 commando Don Mann.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
SEAL veteran Mann and bestseller Pezzullo (Inside SEAL Team Six) make their fiction debut with this solid military adventure thriller. U.S. Navy Chief Warrant Officer Tom Crocker leads the members of SEAL Team Six in the hunt for terrorist Abu Rasul Zaman (aka AZ), al-Qaeda’s number three man, who manages to slip through the team’s attack on a warehouse hideout in Karachi. Evidence seized during the raid points to a sex kidnapping scheme in France and to a mystery ship, the Syrena. Crocker and his men have to deal with the usual Washington weenies and a troublesome CIA contact in Pakistan, Lou Donaldson, among other minor impediments. The characters spend a little too much time reminiscing about their home lives and bemoaning the state of the world, but a steady stream of action makes this a worthy entry into the burgeoning SEAL thriller genre. Agent: Heather Mitchell, Gelfman Schneider Literary Agency. (June)
Library Journal
A ruthless sheik is running an international kidnapping ring that specializes in abducting women to be sold for sex, with the proceeds funding terrorism. Thomas Crocker and his team of SEALs are called on to stop him and to rescue the latest victim. There are, of course, chases and fights galore. Prior to this debut novel, Mann, with Pezzullo, wrote a memoir of his 30 years with the Navy SEALs (Inside SEAL Team Six). There has been interest in the shadowy and incredibly heroic works of the U.S. Navy SEALs, in particular the almost legendary SEAL Team Six, since even before they took down Osama bin Laden in 2011. While the premise of this novel is potentially exciting, it fails in execution. VERDICT This short novel has been absurdly punctuated and stretched in an irritating attempt to fill 300-plus pages. As a result, it lacks depth, and, while there is a lot of slam-bang action, there is little to recommend the tale. Purchase for demand.—Robert Conroy, Warren, MI
Kirkus Reviews
A year ago, a team of Navy SEALs impressed the world by killing Osama bin Laden. In this book, the SEALs go a few steps further by capturing a leading terrorist, breaking up a sex-trafficking ring and scaling K2 for good measure; all in a few days with little apparent food or sleep. Far-fetched but fast-moving, former SEAL commando Mann's debut novel is essentially a series of action scenes strung together. A car bomb devastates a U.S. embassy in Morocco during the prologue, a young woman is abducted two chapters later, and it doesn't take long for the plot to tie those two events together (though we barely hear from the woman again, after one chapter from her perspective). Because the book quickly establishes that the SEALs are pretty much invincible and that freedom and justice sure beat the alternative, there's never much suspense about how things will turn out. Co-writer Pezzullo (Jawbreaker, 2005, etc.) is probably responsible for fleshing out the character details--Chief Warrant Officer Tom Crocker is a music fan who hums Sonny Rollins and Bill Withers songs to himself, a nice touch--but even he can't keep the terrorists from uttering stock terrorist lines ("You're an infidel! What do you know of Allah?") at crucial moments. The K2 side trip, which introduces a strong if short-lived female character and is full of gritty details about mountain terrain and hypothermia, is by far the most exciting section, though it has little bearing on the main plot. There's also a bureaucratic supervisor who frustrates Crocker's efforts at every turn, an action plot device that's been familiar since James Bond was in diapers. The finale is a seaboard showdown complete with explosions and knife fights. SEAL aficionados and action addicts will find a couple engaging hours of reading here; everyone else can wait for the inevitable movie.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780316209564
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company
Publication date:
11/20/2012
Series:
A Thomas Crocker Thriller Series, #1
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
171,972
Product dimensions:
4.34(w) x 6.64(h) x 0.94(d)

Meet the Author

Don Mann (CWO3, USN) is the author of the forthcoming Inside SEAL Team Six and has for the last thirty years been associated with the Navy SEALS as a platoon member, assault team member, boat crew leader, or advanced training officer; and more recently program director preparing civilians to go to BUD/s (SEAL Training). Up until 1998 he was on active duty with SEAL Team 6. Since his retirement, he has deployed to the Middle East on numerous occasions in support of the war on terror. Many of the active duty members of SEAL Team 6 are the same guys he taught how to shoot and conduct ship and aircraft takedowns, and trained in urban, arctic, desert, river, and jungle warfare, as well as Close Quarters Battle and Military Operations in Urban Terrain. He has suffered two broken backs, two pulmonary embolisms, and multiple other broken bones, in training or service. He has twice survived being captured during operations.

Co-writer Ralph Pezzullo is a New York Times bestselling author and award-winning playwright, screenwriter and journalist. His books include Jawbreaker (with CIA operative Gary Berntsen).

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Seal Team Six: Hunt the Wolf 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
cincfam1 More than 1 year ago
As a fan of Vince Flynn, Brad Taylor, Howard Wasdin and Stephen Templin's books, I was expecting similar suspense and dangerous situations by Don Mann in his book Hunt the Wolf. I got it all in spades! A fast moving,rip-roaring story of the Seals defeat of terror from one port to another. I love the weaponry, explosions, and annihilation of the enemy! There's danger around every corner and I'm totally addicted. Packed with commandos and military action. I've already bought Hunt the Scorpion, the next book in the series, and I look forward to another great read!
Barb00 More than 1 year ago
I've always been curious about the Navy SEALS and I loved the book SEAL Team Six: Hunt The Wolf by Don Mann. The storyline is well-written, fast paced, and full of action. To me, it was an exciting novel and kept me turning the pages. The characters were wonderful and I enjoyed reading this book. I'm looking forward to reading Don Mann's SEAL Team Six: Hunt The Jackal. I received a complimentary copy from the publisher and Net Galley in exchange for my honest review. This review is one hundred percent my opinion. Thank you Net Galley and Mulholland Books for the opportunity to read SEAL Team Six: Hunt The Wolf by Don Mann.
jlgc More than 1 year ago
Our main character is Tom Crocker. He is the leader of this small band of Seals, part of Seal Team 6. Tom spends a good portion of the early part of the novel in introspection as he goes through his days. The team is sent to a terrorist hotspot to try to capture a specific terrorist. Their cover is climbing a mountain. Tom intends to take his team climbing as a training exercise after they finish the mission.  The mission is unsuccessful and disappointing. They head for the mountain and start climbing. Through the climb, we learn more of their characters. And continue to get a feel for who Tom Crocker is and the kind of leader he is. While on the mountain he meets a man who is specifically looking for Tom to enlist his help in tracking down who is kidnapping young men and women from his country.  Tom doesn’t get approval for this, but is instead sent on another mission to find a terrorist in connection to the one his team tried to capture earlier. It turns out the kidnappers and the terrorist are closely related.  This is a fast action packed story. I enjoyed it very much and impressed by the dedication of the Seals. Which I believe represents the real life dedication of the Seals. I recommend this book for anyone who likes thrillers, military, spy, and adventure novels. It’s a great read.