The Seamstress and the Wind

The Seamstress and the Wind

by César Aira
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

As he runs wildly amok, Aira captures childhood’s treasures — the reality of the fable and the delirium of invention — in this hilariously funny book.

The Seamstress and the Wind is a deliciously laugh-out-loud-funny novel. A seamstress who is sewing a wedding dress for the pregnant local art teacher fears that her son, while playing

Overview

As he runs wildly amok, Aira captures childhood’s treasures — the reality of the fable and the delirium of invention — in this hilariously funny book.

The Seamstress and the Wind is a deliciously laugh-out-loud-funny novel. A seamstress who is sewing a wedding dress for the pregnant local art teacher fears that her son, while playing in a big semitruck, has been accidentally kidnapped and driven off to Patagonia. Completely unhinged, she calls a local taxi to follow the semi in hot pursuit. When her husband finds out what’s happened, he takes off after wife and child. They race not only to the end of the world, but to adventures in desire — where the wild Southern wind falls in love with the seamstress, and a monster child takes up with the truck driver. Interspersed are Aira’s musings about memory and childhood, and his hometown of Coronel Pringles, with a compelling view of the hard lot of this working-class town, situated not far from Buenos Aires.

Editorial Reviews

ZYZZYVA
Aira’s voice is clear, his characters are palpable, and his ideas —elucidations on literary theory, existential ruminations, and thought experiments — are evocative and infectious.”— Cristóbal McKinney
The New York Times
His brutal humor and off-kilter sense of beauty make his stories slip down like spiked cream puffs.”— Natasha Wimmer
The Los Angeles Times
Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald,
those great late modernists for whom fiction was a theater of ideas.”— Mark Doty
Cristóbal McKinney - ZYZZYVA
“Aira’s voice is clear, his characters are palpable, and his ideas —elucidations on literary theory, existential ruminations, and thought experiments — are evocative and infectious.”
Natasha Wimmer - The New York Times
“His brutal humor and off-kilter sense of beauty make his stories slip down like spiked cream puffs.”
Roberto Bolaño
“Once you start reading Aira, you don’t want to stop.”
Mark Doty - The Los Angeles Times
“Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald,
those great late modernists for whom fiction was a theater of ideas.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780811219341
Publisher:
New Directions Publishing Corporation
Publication date:
06/28/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
404 KB

Meet the Author

Nominated for a Neustadt Award and shortlisted for the 2015 Man Booker International Prize, César Aira was born in Coronel Pringles, Argentina, in 1949. He has published at least ninety books.
Rosalie Knecht won a Fulbright to work closely with César Aira on the translation of The Seamstress and the Wind.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >