×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Seasons in Hell: With Billy Martin, Whitey Herzog and
     

Seasons in Hell: With Billy Martin, Whitey Herzog and "The Worst Baseball Team in History"-The 1973-1975 Texas Rangers

4.0 5
by Mike Shropshire
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Even before the start of spring training, Herzog had said, ‘If Rich Billings is the starting catcher again, we’re in deep trouble.’ When that evaluation was passed along to Billings, he simply nodded and said, ‘Whitey, obviously, has seen me play.’”
 
In early 1973, gonzo sportswriter Mike Shropshire agreed to

Overview

“Even before the start of spring training, Herzog had said, ‘If Rich Billings is the starting catcher again, we’re in deep trouble.’ When that evaluation was passed along to Billings, he simply nodded and said, ‘Whitey, obviously, has seen me play.’”
 
In early 1973, gonzo sportswriter Mike Shropshire agreed to cover the Texas Rangers for the Fort-Worth Star-Telegram, not realizing that the Rangers were arguably the worst team in baseball history. Seasons in Hell is a riotous, candid, irreverent behind-the-scenes account in the tradition of The Bronx Zoo and Ball Four, following the Texas Rangers from Whitey Herzog’s reign in 1973 through Billy Martin’s tumultuous tenure. Offering wonderful perspectives on dozens of unique (and likely never-to-be-seen-again) baseball personalities, Seasons in Hell recounts some of the most extreme characters ever to play the game and brings to life the no-holds-barred culture of major league baseball in the mid-seventies

Editorial Reviews

USA Today
“Disastrously hilarious.”—USA Today
Booklist
“This is a funny, revealing, Ball Four–like romp through mid-seventies baseball. . . . Shropshire offers the perfect antidote for those weepy-eyed tributes to baseball’s pastoral beauty.”—Booklist

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780803292772
Publisher:
UNP - Bison Books
Publication date:
03/28/2005
Edition description:
New Edition
Pages:
245
Sales rank:
425,488
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.54(d)

Meet the Author

Mike Shropshire is a longtime journalist who has written for numerous newspapers and magazines such as Sports Illustrated and is the author of several books, including When the Tuna Went down to Texas: How Bill Parcells Led the Cowboys Back to the Promised Land. He lives in Dallas, Texas.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Seasons in Hell: With Billy Martin, Whitey Herzog, and "The Worst Baseball Team in History"-The 1973-1975 Texas Rangers 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MinTwinsNY More than 1 year ago
Rating:   4 of 5 stars (very good) Review: When a young sportswriter received the news that he was going to be working on the Texas Rangers’ beat in 1973, he didn’t really know what to expect.  That sportswriter, Mike Shropshire, ended up writing about that assignment in this hilarious book about what was arguably one of the worst baseball teams in the history of the game.    That season the Rangers finished with 105 losses and was managed by Whitey Herzog, who would later achieve more success managing the Kansas City Royals and St. Louis Cardinals.  The bulk of the stories and book is centered on this 1973 team and many of the quotes that Herzog has in this book, especially on the abilities and skills of his players, is reason alone to invest some time in this book. This is not a new topic for books – the inside stories, some of which are not family-friendly, of a major league baseball team.  However, unlike other books that have been written by players, I felt that this version of that theme, from the vantage of a writer who travels with the team and has to submit a story every day during the season, gave the reader a different perspective.  Instead of simply telling everything that happened to him, Shropshire’s version of these wacky stories has the feel of being that “fly on the wall” – and it is a very funny version. Even after that terrible season, the book stays as funny as ever when Billy Martin becomes the new Rangers manager.  Anyone who knows about Martin’s history for drinking and fighting will appreciate these stories as well. They stay in the same short, compact format that makes the book easy to read and enjoy. While it is entertaining, there are editing and factual errors that pop up and were a distraction for me.   One is the misspelling of names such as “Mohammad” Ali and Don “Larson” instead of Larsen, the correct spelling of the man who pitched the only perfect game in a World Series.  Even worse, when Jim Bibby threw a no-hitter for one of the few bright spots in that 1973 season for the Rangers, Shropshire mentions that it is the third no-hitter in the Senators-Rangers franchise history.  He even lists the other two – Walter Johnson in 1920 and Bobby Burke in 1931.  Problem is – that Washington Senators franchise did not become the Rangers, but instead moved to Minnesota and became the Twins in 1961.  The franchise that became the Rangers was the “new” Washington Senators that started play in 1961 to replace the team that left for the Twin Cities. While these errors may take away from the historical accuracy, history is not what this book is about.  It is about sharing funny stories about a team that was one of the worst the game has seen.  In that context, this book is certainly worth reading as the reader will be entertained from the first page to the last.  Pace of the book:   This was a very quick read as I completed it in less than two hours of total reading time.  It was a page turner for me because it was so entertaining. Do I recommend?   Yes, to baseball fans who enjoy humorous stories will enjoy this as it is geared toward readers who enjoyed books such as “Ball Four” and “The Bronx Zoo.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alpha98 More than 1 year ago
This is The Funniest Book I have ever read!!
This book is amazing!!!
One of a kind!!!