The Seasons on Henry's Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm

The Seasons on Henry's Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm

3.9 10
by Terra Brockman
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Henry's Farm, run by Henry Brockman, is in central Illinois — some of the richest farming land in the world. There, he and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terra, the author — have bucked the traditional agribusiness conventional wisdom by farming in a way that's sensible, sustainable, and focused on producing healthy,…  See more details below

Overview

Henry's Farm, run by Henry Brockman, is in central Illinois — some of the richest farming land in the world. There, he and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terra, the author — have bucked the traditional agribusiness conventional wisdom by farming in a way that's sensible, sustainable, and focused on producing healthy, nutritious food in ways that doesn't despoil the land. Terra Brockman tells the story of her family and their life on the farm in the form of a year-long memoir (with recipes) that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, digressions, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm's vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
After reading Brockman's lyrical portrait of a central Illinois sustainable farm, citizens of the Fast Food Nation and Slow Foodies alike will gain a renewed appreciation for a fresh tomato or a fistful of basil. Covering a year on her family's farm, biologist and writer Brockman takes readers through the cycle of farming, transmitting the chill of numb fingers harvesting lettuce and the searing heat of cucumber and tomato harvests, not to mention the meticulous winter seeding and backbreaking weeding that ensure a successful crop. Brockman doesn't pull any punches, from the slaughter and processing of poultry, to the politics of plastic shopping bags at the farmers' market, to harrowing tales of pesticides that will have readers rethinking supermarket peaches. Digressions involving farming methods and quirky residents like Lucky Tom the turkey entertain rather than distract; recipes for fresh corn, pea soup and fried green tomatoes also enhance Brockman's multi-dimensional take on what, in less gifted hands, could have been a pedestrian story. Sure to inspire a trip to the farmers market, and a much deeper appreciation of its bounty, Brockman covers her subject with hard-earned expertise and organic passion.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781572846562
Publisher:
Agate
Publication date:
04/28/2010
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
900,745
File size:
7 MB

Meet the Author

Terra Brockman was raised in central Illinois, where four generations of her family had farmed. She earned a BA in biology and BA and MA degrees in English at Illinois State University, then lived and worked as a teacher, writer, and editor in Japan and New York City for fifteen years, with time out to travel extensively, from Nepal to Eritrea to Morocco to the Baltics. In 2001, she founded The Land Connection, a nonprofit working to save farmland, train new organic farmers, and connect consumers with fresh local foods.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Seasons on Henry's Farm 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
r-4109 More than 1 year ago
More than just the seasons of a farm but of a family's life as well. Intertwinded with wonderfully crafted details amd expdanded hitorical knowledge beyond the farm that give you the full understanding and meaning of each seasons history and whys and hows of doing things. As a home gardener I throughly enjoyed this book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago