Seducing the Governess

Seducing the Governess

3.5 28
by Margo Maguire
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The supremely talented Margo Maguire brings us Seducing the Governess—the first in her lush historical series set in England’s colorful Regency Era, featuring the lost heiresses of a powerful duke and their surprising discoveries of fortune, passion, and romance. A thrilling, emotionally rich love story in the vein of Liz Carlyle and Julia

Overview

The supremely talented Margo Maguire brings us Seducing the Governess—the first in her lush historical series set in England’s colorful Regency Era, featuring the lost heiresses of a powerful duke and their surprising discoveries of fortune, passion, and romance. A thrilling, emotionally rich love story in the vein of Liz Carlyle and Julia London, Seducing the Governess brings a beautiful young lady into the crumbling estate of a tormented, vengeance-seeking earl, forcing him to choose between his duty and his desire.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062074553
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/22/2011
Series:
Regency Flings , #4
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
157,615
File size:
2 MB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Margo Maguire is the author of twenty-one historical romance novels. Formerly a critical care nurse, she worked for many years in a large Detroit trauma center. Margo writes full time and loves to hear from readers. Keep up with news on Margo's latest books by signing up for her newsletter on her website, www.margomaguire.com, and looking her up on Facebook and Twitter.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Seducing the Governess 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1816 having served on the continent during the war where he suffered an eye injury, Nash Farris returns home to learn he is the Earl of Ashby and has become guardian to his orphaned niece Emmaline following the suspicious death of his brother. He has never expected to be the earl as he was the third son so he lacks the necessary skills. Worse he has no idea how to raise a child, especially a female. Nash hires Mercy Franklin to be a governess to his niece. Their first meeting on the road to his dilapidated home sets the gauntlet as a gender war is declared. He is attracted to mouthy Mercy, but feels his first mission is to learn what happened to his sibling Arthur and his sister-in-law as well as their oldest brother Hoyt earlier in the year. Deadly accidents have occurred too frequently; so Nash, surrounded by veterans he fought with and trusts with his life, increases his efforts to find who is behind the incidents. As he falls in love with Mercy, Nash knows he should wed the girl next door but wants the governess. Seducing the Governess is a wonderful Regency romantic suspense with two investigative subplots (the other not mentioned above). The story line is fast-paced as Nash and Mercy argue, detect and fight while falling in love; at the same time a captain Briggs is also conducting an investigation. With a strong cast and a fabulous whodunit as well as the other mystery, sub-genre fans will fully relish Margo Maguire' magnificent historical while waiting for the second part of Brigg's inquiry. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the plot, interesting characters with good chemistry. Good read.
AAR More than 1 year ago
SEDUCING THE GOVERNESS by Margo Maguire is an exciting historical romantic suspense set in 1816 England.The plot is written with depth and details,The characters are interesting,engaging,and will capture your heart. While this story is ultimately about love,tenderness,romance it is also about betrayal,deceit,murder,sweet sensuality and finding someone who sees beyond the scars to the beauty beneath. The hero,Nash,the new Earl of Ashby by default of his two eldest brothers within a year of each other,he is a veteran war hero who has a scarred face that goes deeper than the surface,but into his soul also,most can look like in the face,he also has a damaged eye,which is cloudy.Enter Emmaline,she has just found out she was adopted,being told on her mother's deathbed,she was left penniless and seeks employment at Ashby Hall.When Nash and Emmaline,first meet sparks fly for Emmaline does not back down and looks Nash straight in the face as through she doesn't see his scars.Emmaline becomes not only attached to Nash's eight year niece but is attracted to Nash himself.Nash is immediately distracted by Emmaline,although he knows he need to marry rich to get Ashby Hall back on its feet,he can not bring himself to do that.He wants Emmaline and she him.Along the way Nash has his suspicions that his brother did not die accidental as he was told but where both murdered along with his second brother's wife.In the meantime Emmaline's grandfather who is a wealthy duke is looking for her and her sister and sends Captain Briggs,a trusted former Army officer of the Crown.When her true parents died he sent the two sisters away,for he had disowned their mother for marrying their father and wished to have anything to do with them.They where a merely three years old and adopted out.After twenty years Emmaline will find out not only is she and her twin sister in danger but they will have money and land.Their grandfather is dying and wishes to set things right.His distant cousin's son has other ideas.The deception about the Nash brother does not reveal itself until the last few chapters,and Emmaline is not found until the very last.While I would have liked to seen some into their future,what happened next...We will have to wait until the next installment which is Wicked and will be released at the end of November, 2011, and features Captain Briggs as the hero.This is a suspense romance on every corner and will keep the reader wanting more and turning pages. It will keep every historical and romance readers on their toes. This book was received for the purpose of review from Net Galley and details can be found at Avon,an imprint of Harper Collins and My Book Addiction Reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LadyScarlet More than 1 year ago
A nice read. I always love a good Lord falls in love with the Governess tale!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago