The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation

( 1 )

Overview

"A truly remarkable achievement." —Barry Unsworth
In the tradition of Seamus Heaney’s Beowulf and Marie Borroff’s Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher’s The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of the most famous work of England’s premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer’s rhyme and meter, Fisher makes these tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Her informative introduction highlights Chaucer’s ...

See more details below
Paperback
$15.20
BN.com price
(Save 19%)$18.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (14) from $3.57   
  • New (7) from $11.72   
  • Used (7) from $3.57   
The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 44%)$18.95 List Price

Overview

"A truly remarkable achievement." —Barry Unsworth
In the tradition of Seamus Heaney’s Beowulf and Marie Borroff’s Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher’s The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of the most famous work of England’s premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer’s rhyme and meter, Fisher makes these tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Her informative introduction highlights Chaucer’s artistic originality in his memorable portrayals of surprisingly modern women and men from across the spectrum of medieval society.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

New Republic
“In setting the scene for an informed understanding of Chaucer and his background, Fisher shows herself a true professional.”— Peter Green
Peter Green - New Republic
“In setting the scene for an informed understanding of Chaucer and his background, Fisher shows herself a true professional.”
Warren Ginsberg
“Sheila Fisher's vibrant new verse translation captures in contemporary English the rhymes, the rhythms, the wit, the earnestness, and the game of the best-known Canterbury Tales.”
New Republic - Peter Green
“In setting the scene for an informed understanding of Chaucer and his background, Fisher shows herself a true professional.”
Library Journal - BookSmack!
Chaucer's old saw has been terrorizing students seemingly forever, and it gets a new verse translation here by Trinity College professor Fisher. Her jazzier update is on the right-hand page, while Chaucer's original script is on the left. More for the academics; the price is doable. — Mike Rogers, "Classic Returns," Booksmack! 1/6/11
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780393341782
  • Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
  • Publication date: 4/9/2012
  • Pages: 800
  • Sales rank: 473,793
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.30 (h) x 1.70 (d)

Meet the Author

Sheila Fisher is a professor of English at Trinity College. She lives in Sandy Hook, Connecticut.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments xi

Introduction and Background xv

A Chaucerian Lexicon xlvii

The General Prologue 3

The Knight's Tale 61

The Miller's Prologue a Tale 195

The Reeve's Prologue and Tale 243

The Cook's Prologue and Tale 275

The Wife of Bath's Prologue and Tale 285

The Clerk's Prologue and Tale 367

The Merchant's Prologue and Tale 457

The Franklin's Prologue and Tale 535

The Pardoner's Prologue and Tale 591

The Prioress's Prologue and Tale 637

The Prologue and Tale of Sir Thopas and The Prologue to the Tale of Melibee 657

The Nun's Priest's Prologue and Tale 681

The Parson's Prologue and Chaucer's Retraction 727

Suggestions for Further Reading 737

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Great translation!

    I had to read a significant chunk of Chaucer's "Canterbury Tales" in a literature class, and I wasn't doing so great because of the original Middle English syntax. In the apex of my despair, I decided to look for a modern translation to help me out, and I found the help I needed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)