Senseless

Senseless

4.1 39
by Mary Burton
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Every Serial Killer Knows. . .

The vicious burns scarring the victims' flesh reveal the agony of their last moments. Each woman was branded with a star, then stabbed through the heart. With every death, a vengeful killer finds a brief, blissful moment of calm. But soon it's time for the bloodshed to start again. . .

The Perfect Time. . .

Ten years

See more details below

Overview

Every Serial Killer Knows. . .

The vicious burns scarring the victims' flesh reveal the agony of their last moments. Each woman was branded with a star, then stabbed through the heart. With every death, a vengeful killer finds a brief, blissful moment of calm. But soon it's time for the bloodshed to start again. . .

The Perfect Time. . .

Ten years ago, Eva Rayburn and her sorority sisters were celebrating the end of the school year. That party turned into a nightmare Eva can't forget. Now she's trying to start over in her Virginia hometown, but a new nightmare has begun. Every victim is linked to her. And Detective Deacon Garrison isn't sure whether this mysterious woman needs investigating--or protecting. . .

To Make His Mark

Only Eva's death will bring peace. Only her tortured screams will silence the rage that has been building for ten long years. Because what started that night at the sorority can never be stopped--not until the last victim has been marked for death. . .

Praise for the novels of Mary Burton

"A twisted tale. . .I couldn't put it down!" --Lisa Jackson on Dying Scream

"Taut, compelling. . .delivers a page-turner." --Carla Neggers on I'm Watching You

"A chilling thriller." --Beverly Barton on Dead Ringer

"Mary Burton's latest romantic suspense has it all--terrific plot, complex and engaging protagonists, a twisted villain, and enough crime scene detail to satisfy the most savvy suspense reader."--Erica Spindler, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Vines

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Stieg Larsson fans will find a lot to like in Burton's taut, well-paced novel of romantic suspense. Eva Rayburn returns home to Alexandria, Va., after serving 10 years in prison for a crime she's not sure she committed--the murder of Josiah Cross--after the terrible night when Josiah, the ex-boyfriend of one of Eva's college sorority sisters, terrorized Eva and the other residents of their sorority house, branding each with a four-pointed star. Now, the women who survived are starting to die at the hands of a serial killer, who first brands each victim with a four-pointed star. Eva joins forces with Deacon Garrison, an Alexandria city homicide detective, to find the revenge killer. Despite their initial distrust, Deacon and Eva end up unable to fight the spark between them. Burton (Dead Ringer) surrounds her appealing protagonist with a strong supporting cast, including a largehearted bar owner, a ruthless crime reporter, and a self-preserving socialite. (Jan.)
Library Journal
Ten years after surviving a brutal attack that led to her subsequent arrest and ten-year imprisonment because of the death of her attacker, Eva Rayburn returns home to Alexandria, VA, to rebuild her life. Only now bodies are being discovered, and they're somehow related to that long-ago crime, an event she could never fully remember. Homicide detective Deacon Garrison must battle his attraction to Eva and figure out whether she's involved in these new killings, and if so, why. VERDICT In the first of two linked novels, rising romantic suspense star Burton (Dying Scream) gives us a fast-paced thriller with a touch of romance. With hard-edged, imperfect but memorable characters, a complex plot, and no-nonsense dialog, this excellent novel will appeal to fans of Lisa Gardner and Lisa Jackson. [Merciless, the second book, will be published February 2011.—Ed.]—Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City/Cty. Lib. Dist., St. Peters, MO

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781420110197
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
01/01/2011
Pages:
416
Sales rank:
216,819
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 6.60(h) x 1.20(d)

Videos

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >