The Serpent and the Scorpion (Ursula Marlowe Series #2)

The Serpent and the Scorpion (Ursula Marlowe Series #2)

5.0 1
by Clare Langley-Hawthorne
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A gripping mystery of scandal and intrigue starring a spirited and beautiful Edwardian heiressIt’s the end of 1911 and Ursula Marlow, struggling to maintain control over her father’s textile empire, finds her business trip to Egypt interrupted by two violent deaths. The first victim is her new friend, Katya—the mysterious wife of a wealthy Russian… See more details below

Overview

A gripping mystery of scandal and intrigue starring a spirited and beautiful Edwardian heiressIt’s the end of 1911 and Ursula Marlow, struggling to maintain control over her father’s textile empire, finds her business trip to Egypt interrupted by two violent deaths. The first victim is her new friend, Katya—the mysterious wife of a wealthy Russian financier. Then when a young woman dies in a fire in one of Ursula’s factories just days later, she returns to investigate and discovers the woman was already dead before the fire started. Driven by her need for justice, the headstrong Ursula is determined to unravel the possible connection between the two deaths, the return of her Bolshevik ex-lover, and disturbing events in the Middle East. The Serpent and the Scorpion is a tale of romance, betrayal, and murder that will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Peters, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Jacqueline Winspear.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

In Langley-Hawthorne's absorbing second historical to feature heiress Ursula Marlow (after Consequences of Sin), Ursula is struggling to maintain control of her late father's textile empire. A business trip to Egypt is complicated by the strange death of a new friend, the mysterious wife of a wealthy Russian. Next comes word of a fire in one of her factories and the discovery of the body of a young woman killed before the fire started. Struggling to make sense of these two deaths, Ursula also faces possible financial ruin because someone appears determined to put her out of business. Meanwhile, her romance with Lord Oliver Wrotham, a lawyer, is stalled because of her unwillingness to accept the subservient role of wife that Edwardian society demands. Showing an admirable grasp of social and political history, Langley-Hawthorne closes her tightly knit tale with an unexpected twist that will leave readers impatient for the next book. (Oct.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Calgary Herald
Langley-Hawthorne follows in the pertly trod path set by Jacqueline Winspear. . . . Consequences of Sin is more Dorothy Sayers than CSI, which isn't a bad thing at all.
Library Journal

In this follow-up to Langley-Hawthorne's historical debut, Consequences of Sin, it is 1912, and headstrong, independent Ursula Marlow has taken control of her father's textile mills while as a suffragette she tries to advance the role of women in society. On a business trip in Egypt, she witnesses the murder of a new friend, the wife of a Russian financier; back in England, the body of a young woman is found in the rubble of Ursula's new factory, destroyed by a fire. The plight of women in the Edwardian era, trouble in the Middle East, and the flight of Russians from the revolutionary turmoil in their native land add to the complex plot. For mystery collections where historicals circulate.


—Jo Ann Vicarel
Kirkus Reviews
Pre-World War I England is a seething cauldron of conflicting ideologies as Bolsheviks, suffragettes, socialists and merchants of death battle for control. Still recovering from the murder of her father, Oxford-educated free spirit Ursula Marlow is trying to hold his textile empire together. On a purchasing trip to Egypt, she befriends Katya Vilensky, wife of a wealthy Jewish financier who's helping establish communities in Palestine, and is horrified when her new friend is violently murdered before her eyes. Warned off by her old nemesis Chief Inspector Harrison (Consequences of Sin, 2007), who's now investigating treason rather than murder, Ursula, too stubborn to desist, continues her inquiries on her return to London. Her relationship with Lord Wrotham, the love of her life, has cooled since she refused his marriage proposal. But as one of her trustees, he remains in her life and joins the attempt to deflect her from sleuthing. A fire at her model factory and the discovery of a dead woman who turns out to be Katya's sister mire her even more deeply in a hazardous probe that clearly annoys some powerful and dangerous men. Clever, capable Ursula, deceived and betrayed, still manages to learn the truth. Ursula's second period adventure caps its romance and mystery with a shocking climax that broadly hints at its heroine's next outing. Agent: Randi Murray/DeFiore and Company

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781440638169
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
09/30/2008
Series:
Ursula Marlowe Series , #2
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
702,484
File size:
0 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >