Server Down: A Mad Dog & Englishman Mystery #5 [NOOK Book]

Overview

Attending the Yaqui tribe’s Easter Ceremonies in Tucson should be a dream come true for a Cheyenne-wannabe-shaman like Mad Dog. But immediately after his midnight arrival, he is accused of being a witch. Then moments later a policeman is murdered, and Mad Dog is blamed. Suddenly Mad Dog and his wolf-hybrid, Hailey, are targets of a city-wide manhunt with shoot-first overtones. Mad Dog’s niece, Heather English, a part-time deputy for her father in Kansas, comes to Tucson to try to arrange a peaceful surrender or ...
See more details below
Server Down: A Mad Dog & Englishman Mystery #5

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.99
BN.com price

Overview

Attending the Yaqui tribe’s Easter Ceremonies in Tucson should be a dream come true for a Cheyenne-wannabe-shaman like Mad Dog. But immediately after his midnight arrival, he is accused of being a witch. Then moments later a policeman is murdered, and Mad Dog is blamed. Suddenly Mad Dog and his wolf-hybrid, Hailey, are targets of a city-wide manhunt with shoot-first overtones. Mad Dog’s niece, Heather English, a part-time deputy for her father in Kansas, comes to Tucson to try to arrange a peaceful surrender or clear her uncle by finding the real killer.
Back in Kansas, someone has blown Mad Dog’s house off the face of the Great Plains. Sheriff English, investigating that crime, learns Mad Dog has been playing a massive online computer game: War of Worldcraft. There, a vampire wizard has made a habit of tormenting him. Mad Dog claims the creature has reached out of the game to come after him in the real world. The sheriff isn’t convinced...until he begins receiving threats from a vampire wizard on his office computer. The ghost in the machine promises death for Mad Dog and explicit and horrible tortures for Heather. And all before dawn....
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

starred review - Library Journal
"Full of outrageous humor and a plot that will leave even the most jaded readers demanding more, Hayes' latest gives Evanovich a run for the wackiest characters and most bizarre plots in crime fiction." --Library Journal, starred review
Book list
"Fans of Mad Dog and English will enjoy their latest caper. As always, it is full of just the right amount of action and humor." --Booklist
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781615950911
  • Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
  • Publication date: 5/27/2011
  • Series: Mad Dog & Englishman Series, #5
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 263
  • Sales rank: 338,265
  • File size: 232 KB

Meet the Author

J.M. Hayes was born and raised on the flat earth of central Kansas where Prairie Gothic takes place. He graduated from Wichita State University and did another three years of post graduate work at the University of Arizona. He shares a home in Tucson, AZ with his wife, several computers, four thousand or so books, and a small herd of German Shepherds.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)