×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Seven Secrets of Seduction
     

Seven Secrets of Seduction

4.0 48
by Anne Mallory
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Anne Mallory gives classic romance a fresh and delightful spin with her clever plots and winning imagination.”
—Teresa Medeiros, New York Times bestselling author

 

Explore seduction, deception, and searing passion in USA Today bestselling author Anne Mallory’s Seven Secrets of Seduction. A RITA Award

Overview

“Anne Mallory gives classic romance a fresh and delightful spin with her clever plots and winning imagination.”
—Teresa Medeiros, New York Times bestselling author

 

Explore seduction, deception, and searing passion in USA Today bestselling author Anne Mallory’s Seven Secrets of Seduction. A RITA Award finalist (for Three Nights of Sin  and For the Earl's Pleasure ), Anne once again delivers a passionate, heart-wrenching Regency Era romance, intricately well-plotted and filled with memorable characters, including a particularly fearless heroine. Fans of Julia Quinn and Elizabeth Boyle will delight over Anne Mallory’s scandalous Secrets.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061579158
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/25/2010
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
643,997
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.20(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Anne Mallory is a lifelong romance reader who soldher first novel to Avon Books after becoming a finalistin RWA’s Golden Heart contest. In Total Surrender isher eleventh book. A native Michigander, Anne currentlylives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Seven Secrets of Seduction 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have NEVER written a book review before. The pain in my head and the bloody sockets were my eyes once resided before I read this drivel called a novel demanded it. Please reader,be warned, save your the time, money,and above all sanity and do not buy this book. I felt like I was watching a horror movie and I was praying the girl would get slashed to death by the deranged serial killer escaped from a mental hospital after years of mental and emotional damage. How can one heroine be so idiotic mystifies but if I had to read one more page of this nonsense to find out I will chose to remain in the dark blindy looking out from the gaping holes where my eyes use to be. R. E. F. U. N. D.
Heather18 More than 1 year ago
The characters of this book are very sweet, and the plot is a definite surprise. *Warning: May contain SPOILERS* It was a little done plot of the high born male with the lowly shop female, and them falling in love. It was a very unique and interesting story of them falling in love, but the last 50 pages began to get extremely frustrating, because it really looked like they weren't going to end up married, just as lord and mistress- with the very real concerns of he class difference in mind- but then all of a sudden they're together and the book is over. There is no mention as to how they were going to address the class gap that had been all important throughout the rest of the 200+ page book. I was even confused if they got married or not- I had to re-read the last couple of pages a few times to understand it completely. The rest of the book was so good, the ending was just a complete let-down. Overall, I did enjoy the rest of the book enough that I found it worth the $8 that I paid for it, because it was a sweet story. And this book also allows you to consider your own endings, if you didn't like the actual one as I didn't.
AustenStudent More than 1 year ago
This is a subtle and introspective book about a shopgirl’s seduction by a wealthy aristocrat known for his (and his family’s) exploits in the gossip pages. The novel is unique in that it is told in the third person but almost entirely from the heroine’s point of view so that Lord Downing (Maximilian Landry) remains largely a shadow figure. The prose is beautifully written and there are many literary references and complex conversations amid the calculated seduction. Lord Downing knows he will seduce Miranda and she accepts that he will. But I don’t think it’s a happy story and it has the same power and manipulation themes as Fifty Shades of Grey, though this was published in 2010 and is set in the Regency period. Lord Downing–I can’t quite think of him as Maximilian–is a magnetic and troubled hero while Miranda Chase is an innocent but learned young heroine. Everything about this man was so beyond her familiarity. She had assumed that without something epically scintillating on her lips, he would withdraw…become bored or irritated. But he keeps coming back, finding ways to see her and, yes, essentially, manipulate her into coming to his house purportedly to arrange his library. With her uncle’s permission no less, a scatterbrained and clueless guardian who only wants coveted and valuable books that Lord Downing has promised him in exchange for Miranda’s “assistance.” Or rather, her seduction. Miranda is a voracious reader and has curiosity, wit, and and an innate passion but knows that, as a member of the merchant class and a woman, her options are limited. She eagerly awaits the next new book by her favorite authors. While minding the shop one afternoon and devouring the latest exciting book, Lord Downing visits the shop and mesmerizes Miranda with his blatant innuendo, his dark good looks, and his spirited conversation. She trades intelligent discourse on a wide variety of topics including the titillating Seven Secrets of Seduction. Miranda is enchanted but also wary. And the handsome stranger knows it. The biggest problem I have with this book is that the reader really only gets Miranda’s version of the story. Lord Downing’s viewpoint and thoughts don’t appear until Chapter 6 and then in only a handful of chapters (and very short ones at that). This disappointed me and I wonder if the story would have been more effective (and, thus, powerful) if it was told in the first person point of view instead. As it is, I feel like I’m only getting part of the story. Downing challenges Miranda to explore her wild side, just as Christian Grey coaxes and demands of Anastasia Steele. Miranda feels the power of her feminine allure and finds she enjoys it. The wonderful heady feeling of feminine power beat in her. She wondered if she could bottle the feeling and clutch it to her in the darkness of the night. “You will be my darkness and I will be your shame.” But it seems that Miranda is merely a fun game for Downing, a challenge to while away his aristocratic ennui. He even has a room called the Red Room (just like Christian Grey) but it doesn’t hold quite the same fear and mystery as that infamous chamber. ...he always got what he wanted. But he couldn’t even explain it to himself, this need to have her. To break her. To shape her. To remold her. To keep her exactly as she was and shield her from people just like himself. For the rest of this review: http://bit.ly/1FZ9PGu
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read a few of the reviews and for the anon who titlef it "T" No, seduction doesn't necessarily mean a naked couple briefly teasing each other before just having sex. Seduction doesn't always lead to sex either. It's more about the sensual side of life. What you described was more like a pathetic porn plot than any resemblance of seduction. While I agree with several others about the difference between the enticing beginning and the slightly confusing, seemingly incomplete, unfinished ending (Heather18 stated the truth quite well), I do feel that the story does capture a true sense of seduction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Isn't seduction where a naked woman sneaks up behind a man and strips of his clothes and then they start wrestlling or kissing? Or where a man and woman take a bath or shower together?To sum it up, isn't it where a naked man and woman do stuff on top,or next to each other?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LUV_HISTORICAL_ROMANCE More than 1 year ago
Not a page turner but I've truly enjoyed the book. Well worth reading!