Sex Diaries Project: What We're Saying about What We're Doing

( 2 )

Overview

In the tradition of The Vagina Monologues and PostSecret, this provocative collection takes a peek behind bedroom doors-satisfying our insatiable desires to look into the private lives of ordinary people

Arianne Cohen spent four years collecting 1,500 Sex Diaries and in this book she takes us on a tantalizing tour of American bedrooms through the all-new, provocative, often moving, sometimes shocking, always entertaining real diaries of forty Sex Diarists. From the Madly-In-Love...

See more details below
Hardcover (First Edition)
$21.59
BN.com price
(Save 16%)$25.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (24) from $1.99   
  • New (11) from $8.40   
  • Used (13) from $1.99   
The Sex Diaries Project: What We're Saying about What We're Doing

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$25.95
BN.com price

Overview

In the tradition of The Vagina Monologues and PostSecret, this provocative collection takes a peek behind bedroom doors-satisfying our insatiable desires to look into the private lives of ordinary people

Arianne Cohen spent four years collecting 1,500 Sex Diaries and in this book she takes us on a tantalizing tour of American bedrooms through the all-new, provocative, often moving, sometimes shocking, always entertaining real diaries of forty Sex Diarists. From the Madly-In-Love 17-Year-Old Who Might be Pregnant to the Cheating Father of Three and the Grandma Who Is Perfectly Happy Alone, these tales of love, lust, longing and leaving will shock, titillate, and educate. Cohen serves as tour guide, drawing on her deep database of Sex Diaries for her incisive and illuminating commentary. Cohen was the first editor of the Sex Diaries column, a popular feature in New York magazine, editing it from 2007 to 2010. Her work regularly appears in Marie Claire and the New York Times and she is a contributing editor at Woman's Day. She is executive producing a TV reality series based on this book.

  • Presents a groundbreaking portrait of relationships in America-including myriad options beyond single, dating, and married
  • Includes Sex Diaries of straight, gay, bi, single, married, young, and older Sex Diarists, published here for the first time
  • Gives readers tips on how to evaluate their own relationships and sex lives

Sex is everywhere in our culture-yet how people best connect and disconnect is largely a mystery. The Sex Diaries Project turns the lights on to reveal the secrets that lie behind closed bedroom doors.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781118157251
  • Publisher: Turner Publishing Company
  • Publication date: 1/24/2012
  • Edition description: First Edition
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 304
  • Sales rank: 1,107,111
  • Product dimensions: 6.10 (w) x 9.40 (h) x 1.20 (d)

Meet the Author

ARIANNE COHEN collects sex diaries from all over the globe and partners with publishers, producers, and museums to share them with the world. Her work appears regularly in publications such as the New York Times, the Guardian, Elle, and Marie Claire, among many others, and she is executive producing a reality TV series based on the project. She graduated magna cum laude from Harvard. Cohen invites you to keep your own anonymous diary at www.sexdiariesproject.com.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Introduction: A Few Tantalizing Words from Your Sex Diaries Editor 1

Part One Solo

1 Dalliancing: I'm Enjoying Myself 11

2 Soloing: I Am My Own Soul Mate 39

Part Two Partnered

A Brief Intermission: Your Editor's Sex Diaries Epiphany 57

3 Dating: It's Simple: I Like You, You Like Me 67

4 Committing: Together, Forever 97

5 Recommitting: Round Two 139

6 Ending: Dissonance, Breakups, Death and Other Mishaps 159

Part Three Poly

7 Cheating: On Paper I'm Monogamous, in Practice . . . 207

8 Flourishing: The More, The Merrier 235

Appendix: What Kind of Relationship Is It?: A Cheat Sheet 275

The Sex Diarists 277

Notes 285

Acknowledgments 287

Index 289

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    HORRIBLE

    Dysgsjdtdhdxdfdtdx.........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    A fun read that's difficult to put down

    Portland-based author Arianne Cohen has created an entertaining, behind-the-scenes book version of her successful New York Magazine column. Cohen's semi-voyeuristic chronicles of Americans' private lives covers people from across geographies, ages and walks-of-life. There's something for everyone here. This book is a fun read and is impossible to put down at times ("I'll just read one more diary"). Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)