Shades of Earth (Across the Universe Series #3)

Shades of Earth (Across the Universe Series #3)

4.8 68
by Beth Revis
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The final book in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and Prometheus!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh—to build a home—on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion

See more details below

Overview

The final book in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and Prometheus!

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh—to build a home—on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed's former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who—or what—else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed—friends, family, life on Earth—will have been for nothing.

FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.

Praise for the ACROSS THE UNIVERSE trilogy:

"Entirely original, deeply compelling, and totally unputdownable—I've found a new favorite!" —Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth

"A murder mystery, a budding romance, and a dystopian world gracefully integrated into a sci-fi novel that blows away all expectation." —Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely

"A fast-paced, action-packed follow-up . . . that explores not only the nature of authority and loyalty but fear of the unknown and fulfilling one's personal destiny." —LA Times

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Though not "frexing brilly" like Across the Universe (2011) and A Million Suns (2012), this conclusion nonetheless supplies plenty of suspense and twists to satisfy readers already on the ride. Desperate to live on a planet, even one with unidentified monsters, Elder and Amy gather 1,456 terrified people onto a shuttle and break away from their life-supporting spaceship to land on Centauri-Earth, a planet with two suns. There's no turning back: shuttle operation is dubious, and only the prematurely awakened Amy's ever lived on a planet--Elder's people were born on Godspeed, a generation ship. Also aboard the shuttle are "frozens," earthborn scientists and military personnel--including Amy's parents--who've been cryogenically frozen for five centuries, waiting for arrival. On Centauri-Earth, pterodactyllike creatures, toxic flora, sentient beings who won't reveal themselves, and hostility between earthborns and shipborns ("They're not our people") all bring danger. Death tolls soar as Elder and Amy--alternating first-person narration in virtually indistinguishable voices--race to unravel history and mysteries. Romantic focus and purple prose exceed that found in the previous volumes ("I die at the end of each kiss and am brought gasping back to life at the beginning of the next"), which is a pity. Interpersonal relationships and motivations aren't Revis' strong point, but action and revelations are. Strong on setup and plot, weak on human complexities and characterization, this still brings it home on a planet far from home. (Science fiction. 14 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781595143990
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
01/15/2013
Series:
Across the Universe Series, #3
Pages:
384
Product dimensions:
6.40(w) x 9.08(h) x 1.23(d)
Lexile:
HL780L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher

PRAISE FOR SHADES OF EARTH:

"A fabulous job of integrating science fiction and YA romance."—USAToday.com

"Great science fiction...recommend[ed] for both teenagers and adults." —Wired.com

"Comes to a fittingly explosive conclusion in this satisfying series ender. . . . A propulsive storyteller with a knack for jarring surprises and raising the stakes." —Booklist

"Throughout the series, Revis has brought real and immediate emotions to sci-fi scenarios . . . and here she invests that skill in making readers feel, along with her protagonists, the awe and wonder facing humanity as the characters step out onto an alien planet for the first time."  —Horn Book Reviews

"Wraps up questions with elegant surprises and fresh moral dilemmas . . . Revis is a truly original voice." —BCCB

"Brings it home on a planet far from home." –Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE ACROSS THE UNIVERSE TRILOGY:

"Entirely original, deeply compelling, and totally unputdownable--I've found a new favorite!" —Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth

"A murder mystery, a budding romance, and a dystopian world gracefully integrated into a sci-fi novel that blows away all expectation." —Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely

"A horrifying and deliciously claustrophobic masterpiece that's part sci-fi, part dystopian, and entirely brilliant." —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy and Supernaturally

"A fast-paced, action-packed follow-up . . . that explores not only the nature of authority and loyalty but fear of the unknown and fulfilling one's personal destiny." —LA Times

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >