Shadow Maker

( 3 )

Overview

James R. Hannibal—a veteran combat pilot with Top Secret clearance from the U.S. government—continues the thrilling international action and intrigue, following covert operative Nick Baron.

How far will collateral damage from a CIA drone strike reach?

When a suicide bomber attacks the National Mall, former pilot and undercover Cerberus operative Nick “Victor” Baron receives an eerie invitation from the chess ...

See more details below
Paperback
$12.72
BN.com price
(Save 20%)$16.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (37) from $1.99   
  • New (12) from $2.72   
  • Used (25) from $1.99   
Shadow Maker

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

James R. Hannibal—a veteran combat pilot with Top Secret clearance from the U.S. government—continues the thrilling international action and intrigue, following covert operative Nick Baron.

How far will collateral damage from a CIA drone strike reach?

When a suicide bomber attacks the National Mall, former pilot and undercover Cerberus operative Nick “Victor” Baron receives an eerie invitation from the chess app on his phone—a mysterious figure named the Emissary wants to play.

Nick and his Triple Seven Chase unit are drawn into battle against an unknown opponent who has resurrected the legendary Hashashin order of assassins. And there is a long-awaited prophecy being fulfilled by a series of violent attacks which may culminate with a final apocalypse over Jerusalem.

The lines between the game and the fight begin to blur as every time Nick loses a piece on the board, he loses one of his men. And if Nick cannot find a way to stop the terrorist mastermind, a checkmate may kill millions…

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
04/21/2014
Early in Hannibal’s entertaining if overstuffed third thriller featuring special ops warrior Nick Baron (after 2013’s Shadow Catcher), a suicide bomber blows himself up near the Health and Human Services building in Washington, D.C. Nick, his wife, toddler son, and father escape serious injury in their car near the explosion, which was masterminded by the Qaim, aka “the Emissary of the Mahdi,” who has made it a high priority to commit acts of terrorism and to wreak vengeance on Nick, his family, and friends. Nick and his long-term teammate, Drake Merigold, race around the globe trying to head off both a biological attack and a nuclear bomb, always one step behind the brilliant Emissary. The addition of legendary Hashashin assassins and some secret codes nudges the plot into Da Vinci Code territory, but the book ends strongly with a down-to-the-wire, page-turning chase. Hopefully, Hannibal will try for a tighter focus next time. Agent: Harvey Klinger, Harvey Klinger Inc. (June)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780425266892
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 6/3/2014
  • Series: Nick Baron Series , #2
  • Pages: 384
  • Sales rank: 479,705
  • Product dimensions: 5.40 (w) x 8.30 (h) x 1.10 (d)

Meet the Author

James R. Hannibal (Lt. Col., USAF Reserve), is a graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy who has flown the A-10 Warthog, the MQ-1 Predator drone, and the top secret B-2 Stealth Bomber, totaling over a thousand combat and combat support hours. He regularly reviews terrorism-related nonfiction for the New York Journal of Books. Find him on the Stealth Ops app or visit him online at facebook.com/JamesRHannibal, twitter.com/JamesRHannibal, and stealthcommand.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    He did it again. I was up late into the night reading. Like I sa

    He did it again. I was up late into the night reading. Like I said in my review of Shadow Catcher once you start reading you just can’t stop.

    The book starts with a prologue of an event in Yemen in 2005. From there we are on a journey with the Triple Seven Chase Team from Washington D.C. to Turkey, London, Israel and many more points in between. It becomes a complicated game of cat and mouse tied to mysterious chess game. Nick always seems to be just one step behind the Emmissary’s plan. Unfortunately this game of chess has dire consequences so Nick needs to figure out a plan that gets him ahead instead of behind.

    Nick Baron and Drake Merigold are quite a pair. They have been teammates for more than a decade and always have each others six. Even during the heat of battle their dialogue is quick and sharp and sometimes has a touch humor. Just what you need when you are being chased through the streets surrounded by gunfire.

    They are aided on this adventure by Dr. Scott Stone, the lead engineer is well versed with IT problems and can hack into almost any system. He usually helps from the command center but this time the command center is mobile so for the first time he is out in the field. CJ, Celine Jameson, works with the team from the FBI’s Intelligence Coordination Center in Washington D.C.

    Hannibal really raised the bar with this one. The thrilling – edge of your seat moments happen right on top of each other. The Emissary and his group of rabid Hashasins have no qualms about killing. In fact their plan could kill millions, including Baron’s family. Dr. Kurt Baron, Nick’s father, is with Nick’s wife and their son on a trip Nick thought would keep them safe. His father has no idea what he does for a living, he thinks Nick sits at a desk and pushes paper all day.

    This is a truly excellent story. Fans of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy or Vince Flynn will absolutely love this thriller. I have become very invested in Nick, his family, Drake and all the other members of the Triple Seven Chase Team. I can’t wait for the next James R. Hannibal thriller. He is definitely an author to watch!! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Collateral damage, how far does it go? The 777 team race to find

    Collateral damage, how far does it go? The 777 team race to find a solution to this puzzling question. Fast paced, straight ahead exciting action. From Russia to England and back to the middle east, every page is full of twists and turns and you wonder can Nick Baron make it out unscathed. An absolute must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great tale from James Hannibal-his best yet. This story

    Another great tale from James Hannibal-his best yet. This story is all about dominoes. Hannibal explores how far the trail of falling dominoes will lead when the first is triggered by a CIA drone strike-gone-wrong. His covert ops team lead, Nick Baron returns with the Triple Seven Chase squadron. This time Baron and his team are drawn into a chess match (both real and figurative) with a genius bent on a very unique brand of revenge. The real-world chase and the chess match blend together in diabolical ways. Hannibal, of course, brings his military experience and counter-terrorism background into the mix for a realistic atmosphere. This one is not to be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)