×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shadow of the Mark
     

Shadow of the Mark

4.5 12
by Leigh Fallon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Leigh Fallon’s Shadow of the Mark, the sequel to Carrier of the Mark, is a captivating love story set against the lush backdrop of Ireland.
 
Megan knew she was destined to be with Adam from the first moment she saw him and now they are determined to be together. But Megan and Adam are Marked Ones, and a romance between two Marked

Overview

Leigh Fallon’s Shadow of the Mark, the sequel to Carrier of the Mark, is a captivating love story set against the lush backdrop of Ireland.
 
Megan knew she was destined to be with Adam from the first moment she saw him and now they are determined to be together. But Megan and Adam are Marked Ones, and a romance between two Marked Ones is strictly forbidden…and could cause worldwide devastation.
 
Leigh Fallon’s Shadow of the Mark is a great choice for readers who love Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush.

Editorial Reviews

VOYA - Ann McDuffie
The sequel to Carrier Of The Mark (HarperTeen, 2011/Voya October 2011) continues just weeks after the first book's dramatic ending and does well bringing readers up to speed on the characters' supernatural powers and romance. Earlier it was discovered that Megan, along with her boyfriend Adam and his siblings, are Marked ones, the four earthly elements in human form. Though their love is forbidden, Megan and Adam continue to seek a way to defy the prophecy and avert destruction of the world. When a suspiciously friendly new girl latches onto the group, powerful and complicated desires confuse all involved. In a desperate attempt to find answers, the four Marked race off to Sweden to track down the mysterious Knights. Tension mounts as Megan and Adam move closer to consummating their love, until the power of their colliding elements causes Adam to fall into a coma. Once again, it is up to Megan to save the day. Short, fast chapters and realistic high school banter make this an easy read for lovers of supernatural romance; however (annoyingly), the characters keep doing stuff they have been warned against, like wearing the powerful amulet or taking their relationship to the next level. Megan's actions cause all sorts of disasters until she realizes that her powers must be kept away from Adam. Although arranged marriages have ensured the line of Marked ones continues through the centuries, Megan vows that the line will end with her, leaving readers hungry for the final installment. Reviewer: Ann McDuffie
School Library Journal
10/01/2013
Gr 8 Up—In this sequel to Carrier of the Mark (HarperCollins, 2011), the Marked Ones-siblings Adam (Water), Áine (Earth), and Rían (Fire), along with Adam's girlfriend, Megan (Air)-are preparing for the alignment of their elemental powers. Megan and Adam are struggling with their heady forbidden romance (a prophesied, potentially catastrophic union). Meg's powers are reacting with everyone else's in new and dangerous ways thanks to a pivotal role she's meant to play. Rían is hooking up with mysterious newcomer Chloe, yet he and Meg are troublingly drawn to each other. There are several threads and varying agendas in this supernatural romance. An overabundance of almost indistinguishable Mark-related factions and various conspirators complicate matters and make it difficult for the Marked to trust anyone (yet sometimes they do to their detriment). Though peppered with backstory, new readers likely won't be as invested as returning fans. Characters are fairly stock and setting description is spare (a shame as the brunt of the story is set in Ireland). This title relies more on "tell" than "show," with dialogue (internal and spoken) tending toward the melodramatic. While the premise is intriguing and the plot is action driven (pacing really picks up in the last two-thirds), this is strictly an additional purchase for libraries in which supernatural tales still fly off the shelves or the first installment is popular.—Danielle Serra, Cliffside Park Public Library, NJ
Kirkus Reviews
In this sequel to her debut, Carrier of the Mark (2011), Fallon assumes readers have nearly complete knowledge of her previous book, but if new readers can figure out its basic premise, they'll muddle through. Four teens gathered in a small town in Ireland have control of the elements: earth, air, fire and water. Druids and knights who protect the elements, but not necessarily their human carriers, help when they're not fighting with one another, and members of the evil Knox family try to thwart everything. Protagonist Megan, the carrier of air, is permanently and completely in love with handsome Adam, the carrier of water, except when she's almost irresistibly attracted to Rían, the carrier of fire. However, whenever Megan and Adam kiss, she inadvertently draws his element from him, coming close to killing him, except for the times that doesn't happen. It's quite a dilemma for poor Megan, who only wants to be young and in love. Young she certainly is. Whenever someone tells Megan not to do something, be sure that she will do it as soon as the whim strikes. As thin as the air Megan controls, the book's major entertainment value lies in various suspenseful episodes, and the author handles these fairly well. Characterizations, emotional encounters and dialogue plumb all the depths of the common TV soap opera. Light--very light--entertainment for the Twilight crowd. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062128003
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
07/09/2013
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
453,396
Product dimensions:
5.42(w) x 7.88(h) x 0.76(d)
Lexile:
HL600L (what's this?)
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Leigh Fallon was born in South Africa, raised in Dublin, Ireland, and moved to Cork in her twenties. Leigh and her family now share their time between Ireland and the United States. She is also the author of Carrier of the Mark.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shadow of the Mark 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
JessabellaReviews More than 1 year ago
I loved Carrier of the Mark, and I couldn't wait to read the next book in the series. Oh, but did I ever wait! About a year and a half after, I FINALLY had the chance to read Shadow of the Mark. I was a little worried that I may have forgotten where the plot was, and what was going on in the book. Well, I had absolutely NOTHING to worry about! Shadow of the Mark picks up right where the first book left off. I was immediately pulled right back into the story, and it just took off from there. I really enjoyed watching Megan and Adam's releationship develop, as they tried to overcome the limits of two "marked ones" being together. The strength of their love is tested for a few different reasons, and it added a nice bit of romantic tension to the book. I loved all of the mythology It was explained in a way that wasn't boring at all, and just flowed very nicely throughout.  The constant worry over keeping the "marked ones" safe, and who was out to get them, provides tension in spades. There are new characters who are introduced, and it was exciting to try and figure out who the good/bad guys were. Aime is one of my favorite characters, as she is funny, sweet, and smart. I always seemed to really love the scenes she was in. Also, Rian just seems to exude sex appeal right through the pages. Where Adam is more sweet and romantic, Rian seems like the kind of guy I would go for! The pacing was perfect, and I read the book in one sitting. I just had to know what happened next! There are some great revelations in the story so that you feel pretty satisfied after reading, but also can't wait because you know that there is much more to come. I am soo excited for Age of the Fifth, the third book in the series, and only hope that I don't have to wait too long! If you have read Carrier of the Mark, then this sequel is simply a must read. If you haven't started the series then, well, what the heck are you waiting for?
terferj More than 1 year ago
3.75 stars What I like: *I found this to be better than the first book. *I found I went through the pages very quickly. Things progressed at a better rate. Yay to not skipping too much time. *Megan’s powers are changing and the twists that comes with it *Megan and Adam’s relationship *Megan and Caitlin’s friendship has better evolved *The ending What I didn’t like: *The bad attempt at what I would assume is a love triangle *I didn’t really like Megan in this book
KKetch More than 1 year ago
I felt that, compared to Carrier of the Mark, Shadow of the Mark was a slower paced novel. For most of the novel, the relationship Megan and Adam felt stagnate, which I felt hindered the plot. Also, some of the actions and dialogue made the characters seem younger than their actual age. However, it was intriguing watching Megan struggle with the growing power inside her and how that struggle affected the powers of Adam, Rain, and Aine. I also enjoyed the introduction of the new characters at play in this power struggle, especially Chloe. She’s definitely a character to watch in the next book. Particularly with the plot twist toward the end of Shadow of the Mark. That was completely unexpected, and also what helped boost the ranking. Overall, this was good sequel to the series. I can’t wait to see where the final novel leads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
Feeling excited to step into this world again, I found it very exciting with lots of action. Plot: It leaves off where the last book left off, with Megan doing her best to control her powers. Not all is going well and not to mention that Megan is out of the loop a lot. I felt like the plot ran fast leaving the reader trailing behind. I did my best to catch up, but honestly, I hate being out on secrets. Love: This part I enjoyed more cause of the tension that they give off. Megan and Adam are not only fighting their on powers but as well as another society. The development of their love and the movement of different forces against them, tested it. I’m hoping and crossing my fingers, more will be resolved in the next book. Characters: More characters are added and this indeed brings new elements to the story. Also, some characters die. (Don’t worry, I won’t say) but in the end, it left me really sad. New characters answered questions and other characters just brought more in. I’m excited for the new characters cause this in fact, changes a lot of circumstances and things I thought I knew. Overall, this book kept me on my toes. With every new chapter, the powers got stronger. Alliances were formed. Lies were revealed. I can’t wait to read the last book to see how it will all end. Shadow Of The Mark is a great sequel pulling the reader in for much excitement. An eventful story that doesn’t disappoint, Shadow Of The Mark is awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I preordered this book and it just came in the mail it rocks love it is ther gonna be a next book cause leigh can go either way with this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Angela1997 More than 1 year ago
I recently read this book and I have absolutely fallen in love with Megan and Adam's story. Can't wait for the sequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book 3 of the Marked series is the best yet! The story and people are ccomplex, but endearing. The only down side is book 4 is not released yet. Shadow of the Marked is appropiate for any age reader.