Shakespeare Inspired

( 1 )
$16.14 price
(Save 5%)$16.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $8.83   
  • New (5) from $8.83   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 5/31/2011
  • Label: Two Pianists Records
  • EAN: 6009801039077
  • Catalog Number: 1039077
  • Sales rank: 193,113


Disc 1
  1. 1 Love's Philosophy, for voice & piano, Op. 3/1 - William Shakespeare & Roger Quilter (1:28)
  2. 2 Silent Noon ("Your hands lie open in the long fresh grass"), song for voice & piano (The House of Life No. 2) - William Shakespeare & Ralph Vaughan Williams (4:31)
  3. 3 Hark! Hark! the Lark, for voice & piano - William Shakespeare & Roger Quilter (1:06)
  4. 4 Pleading, song for voice & piano, Op. 48/1 - Edward Elgar & William Shakespeare (2:37)
  5. 5 English Lyrics (6) for voice & piano, Set 4: When We Two Parted - William Shakespeare & Hubert Parry (3:27)
  6. 6 Songs (7) from the Norwegian, for voice & piano, RT v/9: Twilight Fancies - Frederick Delius & William Shakespeare (3:53)
  7. 7 A Piper - William Shakespeare & Michael Head (1:30)
  8. 8 Homing, for voice & orchestra - Teresa Clotilde Del Riego & William Shakespeare (2:20)
  9. 9 Sleep, for voice & piano - Ivor Gurney & William Shakespeare (2:59)
  10. 10 Silver, for voice & piano, Op. 30/2 - Cecil Armstrong Gibbs & William Shakespeare (3:23)
  11. 11 It Was a Lover and His Lass - William Shakespeare & Geoffrey Bush (2:03)
  12. 12 Songs, Op 22, "Take, O Take Those Lips Away" - Edmund Rubbra & William Shakespeare (1:45)
  13. 13 English Lyrics (6) for voice & piano, Set 2: Take, O Those Lips Away - William Shakespeare & Hubert Parry (1:37)
  14. 14 Under the Greenwood Tree - Mervyn Horder & William Shakespeare (1:38)
  15. 15 Under the Greenwood Tree, for voice & piano (from film score "As You Like It") - William Walton & William Shakespeare (1:48)
  16. 16 Fancie: Tell me where is fancy bred, for unison chorus & piano - Benjamin Britten & William Shakespeare (0:59)
  17. 17 Willow, Willow for voice & piano - William Shakespeare & Hubert Parry (2:34)
  18. 18 O Mistress Mine, for voice & piano (from English Lyrics, Set 2) - William Shakespeare & Hubert Parry (1:27)
  19. 19 Orpheus with his lute, for voice & piano - Eric Coates & William Shakespeare (2:17)
  20. 20 Who is Sylvia? for voice & piano - Eric Coates & William Shakespeare (3:27)
  21. 21 When Daisies pied and Violets blue, song - William Shakespeare & Thomas Arne (3:01)
  22. 22 Pageant of Empire, songs (8) for voice (or chorus) & orchestra: Shakespeare's Kingdom - Edward Elgar & William Shakespeare (2:50)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Michelle Breedt Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Interesting and upbeat

    I was pretty conflicted looking at this album. That is, I'm a huge fan of Shakespeare, but I'm not a huge fan of vocal recordings, especially in a more classical-baroque style. I will confess that it was difficult to get into this, but ultimately it proved a good listen. While the inspiration seems to have been taken from Shakespeare's comedies as opposed to his tragedies, the tone and cadence of every song fits ever so well with the cadence of Shakespeare's iambic pentameter. And that's why I like it. It's a beautiful midpoint of opera and spoken word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews