Shall We Gather: American Hymns & Spirituals

( 4 )
$18.99 price
(Save 5%)$19.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $7.00   
  • New (2) from $15.11   
  • Used (2) from $7.00   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/25/2001
  • Label: Albany Records
  • UPC: 034061047629
  • Catalog Number: 476
  • Sales rank: 160,222


Disc 1
  1. 1 Lord, in Thy Presence, hymn (to the tune Liberty Hall) (2:07)
  2. 2 Rise, Shine, for Thy Light Is A-Comin', spiritual (from American Negro (2:38)
  3. 3 O Brother Man, hymn (to the tune Welwyn) (2:06)
  4. 4 The Lord's My Shepherd, hymn (to the tune Pisgah) (2:04)
  5. 5 Poor Rosy, spiritual (2:31)
  6. 6 I've Just Come from the Fountain, spiritual (from American Negro Songs (1:13)
  7. 7 Let Us Cheer the Weary Traveler (2:58)
  8. 8 Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing, hymn (to the tune Nettleton) (1:47)
  9. 9 What Wondrous Love Is This, hymn (to the tune Wondrous Love) (2:44)
  10. 10 Gospel Train, spiritual (1:24)
  11. 11 My Days Are Gliding Swiftly By, hymn (to the tune Shining Shore) (1:38)
  12. 12 More Love, hymn (1:52)
  13. 13 In Mercy, Lord, Incline Thine Ear, hymn (to the tune In Mercy, Lord) (2:02)
  14. 14 Shall We Gather at the River, hymn (1:57)
  15. 15 Some of These Days, spiritual (from American Negro Songs & Spirituals) (1:39)
  16. 16 Old Ship of Zion (1:11)
  17. 17 In Christ There Is No East or West, hymn (to the tune St. Peter) (1:33)
  18. 18 Awake, Our Souls, hymn (to the tune Missionary Chant) (1:25)
  19. 19 What Ship Is This?, hymn (to the tune Old Ship of Zion) (2:12)
  20. 20 Inching Along, spiritual (from American Negro Songs & Spirituals) (3:22)
  21. 21 Watchman, Tell Us of the Night (2:46)
  22. 22 Hurry On, My Weary Soul, spiritual (2:15)
  23. 23 O when Shall I See Jesus, hymn (to the tune Morning Trumpet) (2:32)
  24. 24 He's a Mighty Good Leader, spiritual (from American Negro Songs & Spiri (1:41)
  25. 25 Hold On, spiritual (2:44)
  26. 26 My Shepherd Will Supply My Need, hymn (to the tune Resignation) (3:12)
  27. 27 We Shall Walk Through the Valley, spiritual (3:01)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
William Appling Primary Artist, Conductor
Michele A. Eaton Soprano (Vocal)
Karen Krueger Alto (Vocal)
Thomas Baker Tenor (Vocal)
Mark Wagstrom Bass (Vocal)
Walter Richardson Bass (Vocal)
Cynthia Richards Wallace Soprano (Vocal)
Emily K. Eyre Alto (Vocal)
William Appling Singers Vocal Ensemble
Technical Credits
Jim Christopher Arranger
Ian Fraser Liner Notes
Thomas Carter Arranger
John Vachon Cover Photo
Traditional Composer
John W. Work II Arranger
William Appling Arranger, Liner Notes
George Faddoul Mastering, Engineering
William McClelland Producer, Liner Notes
John Work III Composer
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Real Thing!

    Finally, a recording of hymns like they were meant to be heard! What a beautiful record!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010


    It's so rare to hear a professional chorus sing with such an understanding of this repertoire. This is genuine American music sung by Americans, and one only gets the same kind of feeling when hearing a fine chorus from, say, France, singing French music. It's really a unique, thrilling experience. And the music chosen here is impeccable. I will be listening to this album for years and years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Music

    This is a beautiful record. Many of these hymns were very familiar but there were a number of wonderful discoveries too - the variety is amazing. The pieces are performed as they were originally written, just for chorus. The singing is remarkable, and I especially love the haunting We Shall Walk Through the Valley. I can't stop listening to this CD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful hymns

    I just got this and I love it. I have never heard hymns done this way : THE WAY THEY WERE WRITTEN!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews