×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sherlock Holmes: A Double Barreled Detective Story
     

Sherlock Holmes: A Double Barreled Detective Story

4.0 2
by Arthur Conan Doyle, Mark Twain
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Double Barreled Detective Story by Mark Twain features Sherlock Holmes in the American west. Twain uses Sherlock Holmes to brilliantly parody the entire mystery genre. Holmes slavishly employs the scientific method to a ridiculous degree and to a widely incorrect conclusion while attempting to solve a crime. Holmes nephew, Fetlock Jones, provides us with Twain's

Overview

A Double Barreled Detective Story by Mark Twain features Sherlock Holmes in the American west. Twain uses Sherlock Holmes to brilliantly parody the entire mystery genre. Holmes slavishly employs the scientific method to a ridiculous degree and to a widely incorrect conclusion while attempting to solve a crime. Holmes nephew, Fetlock Jones, provides us with Twain's opinion of Holmes: "Anybody that knows him the way I do knows he can't detect a crime except where he plans it all out beforehand and arranges the clues and hires some fellow to commit it according to instructions." Fans of both Sherlock Holmes and Mark Twain will be delighted by this wonderful book.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781617203459
Publisher:
Wilder Publications
Publication date:
04/28/2011
Pages:
46
Sales rank:
1,123,493
Product dimensions:
5.80(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.30(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Samuel Langhorne Clemens (1835-1910), best known by his pen name Mark Twain, was an author and humorist noted for the novels The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (which has been called "The Great American Novel") and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, among many other books. Twain was raised in Hannibal, Missouri, which later provided the setting for Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn, and he spent time as a riverboat pilot on the Mississippi River before finding fame as a writer.

Brief Biography

Date of Birth:
November 30, 1835
Date of Death:
April 21, 1910
Place of Birth:
Florida, Missouri
Place of Death:
Redding, Connecticut

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sherlock Holmes: A Double Barreled Detective Story 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't let the reference to Sherlock Holmes fool you into thinking this book is a Holmes story. Instead 3/4 of the story focuses on the telling of a strange tale regarding revenge and the unexpected outcome of success in seeking revenge. The prose doesn't match Twain's standard writing style but the twisted tale he tells does reflect is sharp and witty mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago