Shifting Shadows: Stories from the World of Mercy Thompson


Mercy Thompson’s world just ...

See more details below
Shifting Shadows: Stories from the World of Mercy Thompson

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

Available for Pre-Order
This item will be available on September 2, 2014.
NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99 price


Mercy Thompson’s world just got a whole lot bigger…

A collection of all-new and previously published short stories featuring Mercy Thompson, “one of the best heroines in the urban fantasy genre today” (Fiction Vixen Book Reviews), and the characters she calls friends…

Includes the new stories…
“Roses in Winter”

…and reader favorites
“Fairy Gifts”
“Alpha and Omega”
“Seeing Eye”
“The Star of David”
“In Red, with Pearls”

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Between the eight books in Briggs's "Mercy Thompson" series and the three in the "Alpha and Omega" series that share a universe, one would think that the author had no stories left to tell about this world. Fortunately, that's not the case. "Seeing Eye" is a story about Moira, a white witch who helps a werewolf rescue his brother from a dark coven. "Roses in Winter" features Asil, the werewolf also known as "The Moor," who fears he will lose control of his wolf side but finds a gentleness in dealing with young werewolf Kara. And the story that introduced Anna and Charles, "Alpha and Omega," will be a treat for those who didn't read it when it was anthologized in the paperback On the Prowl. Although beloved series protagonist Mercy has a story here, too ( "Hollow," in which she helps a man who is seeing ghosts), the best tales take advantage of the depth of the author's cast, giving some excellent side characters a chance to shine. There are even two "outtakes"—brief scenes cut from recent novels Silver Bourne and Night Broken. VERDICT Briggs's many fans will eat this up, and it will serve as a solid introduction for new readers.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780425265000
  • Publisher: Ace Hardcover
  • Publication date: 9/2/2014
  • Series: Mercy Thompson Series
  • Pages: 464
  • Sales rank: 54,924

Meet the Author

Patricia Briggs

#1 New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs lives in Washington State with her husband, children, and a small herd of horses.

Her Mercy Thompson novels include Moon Called, Blood Bound, Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, Silver Borne, River Marked, Frost Burned, and Night Broken.

Her Alpha and Omega series includes Cry Wolf, Hunting Ground, and Fair Game

Read More Show Less

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)