×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Shimmering
     

The Shimmering

5.0 3
by William Westwood
 

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781935359791
Publisher:
Book Publishers Network
Publication date:
06/10/2011
Pages:
344
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
3 Months to 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Shimmering: Tales of Tremora, Book One 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
BillyB More than 1 year ago
In the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia, The Harry Potter franchise, and the Lord of the Rings, comes the award-winning first book in Tales of Tremora series titled The Shimmering.  Exactly one year to the date, Michael's father, a forest ranger, went into the forest close to their house and mysteriously disappeared. The authorities did everything they could, but there wasn't any evidence to his disappearance. It was just like he went "Poof" and he was magically gone.  On his fourteenth birthday, Michael went into the forest, just like his father did, and without realizing it, he steps into another world called Tremora, where he meets a strange individual calling himself Tracker. It seems this person was more than aware that Michael would appear into Tremora. As he is led deeper into the stranger land, he meets other odd characters, such as Wazalops and wizards.  There is good and evil living in Tremora and Michael will encounter both as he learns of why he brought there. And he may find the answer to the question that has been on his mind for an entire year. What happened to his father? I had received Tales of Tremora last month courtesy of the author in exchange for my honest review. Over the last three years, I have had the chance to read many great and not so great books by independent authors. The majority of books aimed toward young adults involve vampires, werewolves and other nightly creatures, so I was pleasantly surprised to learn that The Shimmering is based on an original concept and does not use themes that have been done to death. Readers of all ages will instantly like the main character, Michael, as he journeys through the land of Tremora in search of what happened to his father. Along the way he encounters many quirky characters. The author, William Westwood, Jr., has created a delightful world that makes the readers use their imagination. The characters are loveable, the plot is well written, and the dialogue is sharp. Overall, I enjoyed stepping into Tremora and I recommend it to all readers.
queenpanda0 More than 1 year ago
Tales of Tremora Book 1 THE SHIMMERING William Westwood Jr. Discovery as a fourteen year old is more magical through the vivid characters and places that William Westwood Jr. brings to life in this story. A strange land calls a 14 year old through a magical veil. The young boy soon discovers spellbinding adventures as well as dangerous obstacles. William Westwood Jr. offers the good against the evil in the Shimmering. Follow all the adventures as the 14 year old has them, and feel as if your right there along with them. No one can predict what will happen next. Everyone needs to get a copy of The Shimmering to pass down to generations. It is the greatest read so far that I have ever had the fortune to find. I have bought other copies for friends.
MomsChoiceAwards More than 1 year ago
The Shimmering is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom's Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS's Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, and New York Times best-selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.