The Shimmering

( 3 )
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (10) from $3.50   
  • Used (10) from $3.50   
Note: Visit our Teens Store.
Sending request ...

More About This Book

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781935359791
  • Publisher: Book Publishers Network
  • Publication date: 6/10/2011
  • Pages: 344
  • Age range: 3 months - 17 years
  • Product dimensions: 5.90 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia, The Harry Potter f

    In the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia, The Harry Potter franchise, and the Lord of the Rings, comes the award-winning first book in Tales of Tremora series titled The Shimmering. 

    Exactly one year to the date, Michael's father, a forest ranger, went into the forest close to their house and mysteriously disappeared. The authorities did everything they could, but there wasn't any evidence to his disappearance. It was just like he went "Poof" and he was magically gone. 

    On his fourteenth birthday, Michael went into the forest, just like his father did, and without realizing it, he steps into another world called Tremora, where he meets a strange individual calling himself Tracker. It seems this person was more than aware that Michael would appear into Tremora. As he is led deeper into the stranger land, he meets other odd characters, such as Wazalops and wizards. 

    There is good and evil living in Tremora and Michael will encounter both as he learns of why he brought there. And he may find the answer to the question that has been on his mind for an entire year. What happened to his father?

    I had received Tales of Tremora last month courtesy of the author in exchange for my honest review. Over the last three years, I have had the chance to read many great and not so great books by independent authors. The majority of books aimed toward young adults involve vampires, werewolves and other nightly creatures, so I was pleasantly surprised to learn that The Shimmering is based on an original concept and does not use themes that have been done to death. Readers of all ages will instantly like the main character, Michael, as he journeys through the land of Tremora in search of what happened to his father. Along the way he encounters many quirky characters. The author, William Westwood, Jr., has created a delightful world that makes the readers use their imagination. The characters are loveable, the plot is well written, and the dialogue is sharp. Overall, I enjoyed stepping into Tremora and I recommend it to all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Tales of Tremora Book 1 THE SHIMMERING William Westwood Jr. Dis

    Tales of Tremora Book 1
    THE SHIMMERING
    William Westwood Jr.

    Discovery as a fourteen year old is more magical through the vivid characters and places that William Westwood Jr. brings to life in this story. A strange land calls a 14 year old through a magical veil. The young boy soon discovers spellbinding adventures as well as dangerous obstacles. William Westwood Jr. offers the good against the evil in the Shimmering. Follow all the adventures as the 14 year old has them, and feel as if your right there along with them. No one can predict what will happen next.
    Everyone needs to get a copy of The Shimmering to pass down to generations. It is the greatest read so far that I have ever had the fortune to find. I have bought other copies for friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Mom's Choice Awards Recipient!

    The Shimmering is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom's Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS's Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, and New York Times best-selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)