Short Century: A Novel

Overview

When a mysterious blogger reveals renowned pro-war journalist Arthur Hunt’s long-ago incestuous affair with his smart but impressionable younger sister, Emily, Arthur writes a memoir in defense of his life, coming to terms with his shattered sense of self, his skewed political ideals, and the crumbling American empire he has been struggling to uphold. An angry but eloquent narrator in the tradition of Philip Roth and Thomas Bernhard, Arthur recounts his relationship with Emily, weaving in his claustrophobic WASP ...

See more details below
Paperback
$12.36
BN.com price
(Save 22%)$15.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (17) from $3.50   
  • New (8) from $8.00   
  • Used (9) from $3.50   
Short Century: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$8.99
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$9.99 List Price

Overview

When a mysterious blogger reveals renowned pro-war journalist Arthur Hunt’s long-ago incestuous affair with his smart but impressionable younger sister, Emily, Arthur writes a memoir in defense of his life, coming to terms with his shattered sense of self, his skewed political ideals, and the crumbling American empire he has been struggling to uphold. An angry but eloquent narrator in the tradition of Philip Roth and Thomas Bernhard, Arthur recounts his relationship with Emily, weaving in his claustrophobic WASP childhood, his '60s student radical days at Yale, and his vociferous support for America’s war in Iraq and its continuing drone campaign.

Capturing the tumult of recent American history, Short Century is filled with supporting characters as memorable as Arthur— including Miranda, his mercurial college girlfriend; Jersey Rothstein, the charismatic free-love guru for whom Miranda leaves Arthur; their son Jason, who signs up to serve in Iraq, where he is killed; their daughter Sydney, who follows Arthur into pro-war punditry; and their daughter Daisy, who chooses to wear a burqa. With a broad historical scope but an intimate personal focus, this is a novel about America, family, and how the desire for freedom is often entangled with darker impulses.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"David Burr Gerrard's masterfully woven debut novel...takes the reader from discussions of war, journalism, and their agencies into a metaphysical, almost Nabokovian intrigue." —Matthew Daddona, The Los Angeles Review of Books

"Like one of Arthur Hunt’s beloved drone strikes, Short Century hits with devastating accuracy."—Scott Cheshire, The Brooklyn Rail

"I’ve tried to stop thinking about Arthur Hunt, the unreliable memoirist and antihero of the thrillingly ambitious Short Century, but I can’t. Hunt’s outsized depredations—political, moral, sexual—are acutely satirized in this dark, funny, unflinching novel. David Burr Gerrard is a scarily clever young man, with a talent as subversively unforgettable as his artful creation."—Rebecca Mead, author of My Life in Middlemarch

"David Burr Gerrard's Short Century is one of the smartest, wittiest and most original novels I've read in a long time. With a dark humor reminiscent of Evelyn Waugh and Kingsley Amis and a playful intellectual energy all its own—as well as a surprisingly touching human story at its center—this deft, clever and thoroughly well-written book is riveting and a pleasure to read."—Adelle Waldman, author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P

"I tore through Short Century. Gerrard is a very promising young writer and a sick SOB."—Spencer Ackerman, national security editor, The Guardian

"An astute and searing look at the political and cultural mores of the last fifty years—in all their savagery and good intentions."—Fiona Maazel, author of Last Last Chance and Woke Up Lonely

"In this audacious, ferociously funny novel, David Burr Gerrard shows us how easily our idealism and dearly held loyalties can lead us to dark places and even darker appetites. He creates an anti-hero who is both a tribute to and a take-down of Philip Roth's fictional creations and an embodiment of the unfulfilled promises of the American political and cultural scene. Subversive yet full of feeling, wicked yet somehow big-hearted, Short Century seems to balance on the edge of a knife."—Amy Grace Loyd, author of The Affairs of Others

"Short Century is painfully smart, the good kind of pain. David Burr Gerrard pushes every hot button in Short Century—personal, familial, and political—and dances in the fallout. If David Corn and Georges Bataille had a baby it would read like Short Century."—Tupelo Hassman, author of Girlchild

“A sly shout at America’s backcountry ways, and a love story so brilliant and debauched it summons Humbert Humbert. Gerrard delves into a heart of darkness and emerges poised and praiseworthy.”—Alex Gilvarry, author of From the Memoirs of a Non-Enemy Combatant

"Short Century is a revelatory debut that forces us to reexamine what we’ve told ourselves about family, politics, our personal beliefs and national mythologies. A brave new voice in the Rothian tradition, David Burr Gerrard has created an unforgettable portrait of a man both defined by and complicit in defining his era."—Courtney Elizabeth Mauk, author of Spark

"Short Century is the gutsy debut novel from one of our most compelling new voices. Difficult to put down. Impossible to forget." —Julian Tepper, author of Balls
“A brave new voice in the Rothian tradition.” —Courtney Elizabeth Mauk, author of Spark

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781940207070
  • Publisher: Rare Bird Books
  • Publication date: 3/18/2014
  • Pages: 352
  • Sales rank: 973,627
  • Product dimensions: 5.40 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Meet the Author

David Burr Gerrard graduated from Columbia University with an MFA in fiction writing. He's a contributing editor for Tottenville Review and his short fiction has been published in Extract(s). He lives in New York City.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)