Gift Guide

Shostakovich: Cello Concertos

( 2 )
$16.14 price
(Save 5%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (3) from $8.83   
  • New (3) from $8.83   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 4/29/2014
  • Label: Ondine
  • UPC: 761195121825
  • Catalog Number: 1218
  • Sales rank: 54,753


Disc 1
  1. 1–4 Cello Concerto No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 107 - Dmitry Shostakovich & Reijo Kiilunen (28:45)
  2. 5–7 Cello Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 126 - Dmitry Shostakovich & Reijo Kiilunen (36:09)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Truls Mørk Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Shostakovich CELLO CONCERTOS Truls Mork/Oslo Philharmonic Orche

    Shostakovich CELLO CONCERTOS Truls Mork/Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra & Vasily Petrenko ONDINE

    Post-WW2 Soviet music is definitely an acquired taste; before and after Stalin, much of it sounds stunted, cut off as it was from developments in the west, to say nothing of being subjected to bureaucratic censure. When failing to please the critics results, not in bad reviews or empty houses, but penalties ranging from loss of livelihood to imprisonment to possible loss of life, the wonder is that any real creative work got done at all.
    Having managed to outlive Stalin, Shostakovich might be thought of as the most successful mid-20th century Russian composer, with a long string of masterpieces to his credit.
    His First and Second Cello Concertos, newly recorded by internationally acclaimed cellist, Truls Mork, were originally written for Mstislav Rostropovich and have become part of standard orchestral repertoire. Both pieces are very well served by Mr. Mork’s passionate and virtuosic playing, as well as the sympathetic performance of the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, led by the great Vasily Petrenko.
    Congratulations also go out to the engineering staff for the clarity and precision of this recording.
    This is NOT an appropriate record for anyone who uses classical music as background for dinner parties or to put their children to sleep. Written under duress, facing both illness and constant political pressure, Shostakovich’s First and Second Cello Concertos convey a sense of grief and longing, brooding and despair that is largely missing from most of today’s music. Music for the dark night of the soul doesn’t go over so well in our have-a-nice-day world.

    Highly recommended 9 out of 10 Oscar O. Veterano

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Great performances of these complex works. The two Cello Concer

    Great performances of these complex works. The two Cello Concertos of Shostakovich are the product of the composer's friendship with Mstislav Rostropovich, one of the greatest cellists of the twentieth century. I have heard the great Norwegian cellist Truls Mork before; most notably in stellar performances of modern concerti by Hallgrimsson and Rautavaara. He is an amazing player with stellar technique and a beautiful sound. The two Shostakovich concerti are right within his comfort zone and these performances are wholly impressive. The first Concerto was written in 1959 and is characterized by a fairly small orchestra and a somewhat spiky, sardonic nature. In fact it is said that the folk song that serves as the basis to the final Allegro con moto was a favorite of Stalin's and is - purposefully - treated by Shostakovich in a very sarcastic and brusque way. (I have played this piece and it is demanding for everyone not just the soloist) In fact it sounded to me like Mork/Petrenko's tempo for this close is faster than what one usually hears but is very exciting for it. The Concerto #2 was written in 1966 and is quite a but different. The orchestra is much larger and the tone of the piece darker; nearly pessimistic. The opening Largo is sad and pensive but the mood is shattered with some outbursts from the winds and percussion. I think a highlight of this work is the military inspired finale, allegretto, with its wildly "out of place" use of horn calls and percussion against declamation from the cello. In the whole Shostakovich oeuvre, these concertos are among his most hard to understand and difficult to assimilate for the listener However, they are masterpieces. As for Mork's performance it is brilliant. He was out of performance a few years ago with illness and he now back to being one of the world's great cellists. I do recommend this disc highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews