×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman
     

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman

4.0 4
by Lindy West
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY:
NPR,
ESQUIRE, The LA Times, and NEWSWEEK

WINNER OF THE STRANGER GENIUS AWARD

Shrill is an uproarious memoir, a feminist rallying cry in a world that thinks gender politics are

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY:
NPR,
ESQUIRE, The LA Times, and NEWSWEEK

WINNER OF THE STRANGER GENIUS AWARD

Shrill is an uproarious memoir, a feminist rallying cry in a world that thinks gender politics are tedious and that women, especially feminists, can't be funny.

Coming of age in a culture that demands women be as small, quiet, and compliant as possible—like a porcelain dove that will also have sex with you—writer and humorist Lindy West quickly discovered that she was anything but.

From a painfully shy childhood in which she tried, unsuccessfully, to hide her big body and even bigger opinions; to her public war with stand-up comedians over rape jokes; to her struggle to convince herself, and then the world, that fat people have value; to her accidental activism and never-ending battle royale with Internet trolls, Lindy narrates her life with a blend of humor and pathos that manages to make a trip to the abortion clinic funny and wring tears out of a story about diarrhea.

With inimitable good humor, vulnerability, and boundless charm, Lindy boldly shares how to survive in a world where not all stories are created equal and not all bodies are treated with equal respect, and how to weather hatred, loneliness, harassment, and loss, and walk away laughing. Shrill provocatively dissects what it means to become self-aware the hard way, to go from wanting to be silent and invisible to earning a living defending the silenced in all caps.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
★ 04/11/2016
West, a GQ culture writer and former staff writer for Jezebel, balances humor with a rare honesty and introspection in her debut. Over the course of the book, West details finding her voice as a writer and a feminist through stories about her family, her weight, having an abortion, and the emotional toil of being harassed online. West's chronicle of the series of highly personal online attacks—and of how much Internet conversations have changed in the past decade—marks this book as required reading. Always entertaining and relatable, West writes openly and with clear eyes about embarrassing moments and self-esteem issues, and has a remarkable ability to move among lightheartedness, heavy hitting topics, and what it means to be a good person. By reading about West's thought-provoking responses to online rape jokes, gender-specific attacks, and being trolled about a family tragedy, readers learn by example how to navigate the Internet's sometimes soul-sucking terrain with dignity and retain a sense of adventure. Agent: Gary Morris, David Black Agency. (May)
From the Publisher
"Stitch-inducing and searingly honest."—USA Today"

Lindy
West is one of the Great Ladies of the Feminist Internet, her writing style alone setting a regal standard for many of us coming of age in these wild online times....250 pages of pure hilariousness...West writes about both the trap of living in a body and identity that is marginalized, but also the power we have to reclaim these identities by being wholly,
indefatigably, and - wait for it - shrilly ourselves."—Feministing.com"

You have to be careful about what you read when you're writing, or you can end up in total despair, thinking, 'This is what I wanted to say, only she got there first and said it better.'"—Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Good in Bed and The Littlest Bigfoot
"

Read West's ferociously funny book and you'll be shouting her praises."
People"

Lindy West's name may already be familiar to readers of Jezebel or to anyone who listened to her fascinating, brutal piece on internet trolls for This American Life.
Her collection of essays takes on stereotypes, gender politics, beauty standards and other topics she attacks with her thoughtful, clever,
cutting and inspiring commentary."—Minnesota Public Radio, Best Books of 2016
"

Fearless and funny."
Chicago Tribune

Library Journal
05/01/2016
GQ culture writer West's essay collection addresses topics such as fantasy literature, fat acceptance, rape jokes, and being a woman on the Internet with sometimes bittersweet, frequently hilarious results—step five of "How To Stop Being Shy in Eighteen Steps" involves joining a choir with "uniforms that look like menopausal genie costumes." In one of the most powerful pieces, the author describes being targeted by an online troll who had adopted the persona of her late, beloved father (his Twitter bio read "Location: Dirt hole in Seattle"). After writing about the situation for Jezebel.com, West was contacted by the troll, who apologized and agreed to join her on an episode of NPR's "This American Life" to discuss why he'd done such a cruel thing to a complete stranger. West's prose is conversational and friendly in tone, hacking away at the patriarchy with a smile. VERDICT This is a natural fit for fans of Roxane Gay's Bad Feminist, Felicia Day's You're Never Weird on the Internet (Almost), and Jenny Lawson's Furiously Happy.—Stephanie Klose, Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780316348409
Publisher:
Hachette Books
Publication date:
05/17/2016
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
24,211
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.10(d)

What People are Saying About This

Lena Dunham
Lindy West is an essential (and hilarious) voice for women. Her talent and bravery have made the Internet a place I actually want to be. Thank you, Lindy. --Lena Dunham, #1 bestselling author of Not That Kind of Girl
Jessica Valenti
There's a reason Lindy West is such a beloved writer: she gets to the heart of impossible issues with humor and grace. West will have you cringing, laughing and crying, all within one page. Shrill is a must-read for all women. --Jessica Valenti, author of Why Have Kids and Full Frontal Feminism
Jenny Lawson
It made me hurt, both from laughing and crying. Required reading if you are a feminist. Recommended reading if you aren't. --Jenny Lawson, #1 bestselling author of Let's Pretend This Never Happened and Furiously Happy
Samantha Irby
The surge of love and joy I felt while crylaughing through this book almost made my cold dead heart explode. Lindy is so smart and so funny that it almost hurts my little jealous-ass feelings. She is my most favorite writer ever. --Samantha Irby, author of Meaty
Caitlin Moran
It's literally the new Bible. --Caitlin Moran, NYT bestselling author of How to Be a Woman

Meet the Author

Lindy West is a Seattle-based writer, editor, and performer whose work focuses on pop culture, social justice, humor, and body image. She's currently a culture writer for GQ magazine and GQ.com and a weekly columnist at The Guardian, as well as the founder and editor of I Believe You | It's Not Your Fault, an advice blog for teens. In 2015 she wrote and recorded a story for This American Life about confronting an Internet troll who impersonated her dead father. She also was listed as "Internet's Most Fascinating of 2015" by Cosmopolitan.com, and helped launch the viral #ShoutYourAbortion hashtag in defense of women's reproductive rights.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Kate_Brunswick More than 1 year ago
Lindy West writes hilariously, beautifully, and thoughtfully about issues great and small from Disney villains, online harassment, fat phobia and comedy to losing her father and falling in love. I laughed, I cried, and I furiously scribbled "Yaaaaas!" on the borders of nearly every page. Required reading for all humans.
Anonymous 25 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hats off to Lindy for writing a book that speaks the truth about being a woman with agency in our society today. Although, sadly, her feelings about herself mirrored my own at many points in my life, I admire Lindy for getting to a place of strength and acceptance and ultimately power. Lindy is a great role model for young women trying to find their own voices. And yes, she's hilarious too.
6844872 More than 1 year ago
Absolute drivel. Poor Lindy, how oppressed she is! The struggle for equality a middle-class white woman born and raised in Seattle faces must be heroic. Move over BLM- the new, doughy face of the oppressed is here.