×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shut up and Eat!
     

Shut up and Eat!

by Tony Lip, Steven Prigge
 
These well-known Italian-American actors usually have a lot to say. But they'll gladly be quiet when they have a heaping plate of Mama's macaroni, meatballs and sauce in front of them. With talents not just limited to the big screen, they love to be in the kitchen making their own incredible Italian dishes.

For the first time ever, these actors -- stars of such

Overview

These well-known Italian-American actors usually have a lot to say. But they'll gladly be quiet when they have a heaping plate of Mama's macaroni, meatballs and sauce in front of them. With talents not just limited to the big screen, they love to be in the kitchen making their own incredible Italian dishes.

For the first time ever, these actors -- stars of such hits as The Godfather, Goodfellas, Donnie Brasco, Moonstruck, The Sopranos, and A Bronx Tale -- share their families' secret recipes. Plus they tell their own stories of growing up as Italian-Americans.

This delightful cookbook, full of photos, personal stories, and favorite recipes, shows why preparing and sharing an Italian meal is a truly rich experience.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publishers Weekly
The title notwithstanding, there's lots of talk in this compilation and relatively few recipes. Thirty-nine Italian-American actors discuss their childhoods, their careers and their big, happy families, emphasizing the importance of food for their sense of identity. The recipes are all home style and unpretentious; a few come from the actors' favorite restaurants like Da Silvano in Manhattan, but many were handed down through the generations. Accordingly, at times the instructions are a little vague and simplistic for novice cooks, who may struggle with the lack of detail in recipes such as Talia Shire's Thanksgiving Gnocchi and Michael Rispoli's Mussels and Clams Campania Style. In general, though, the dishes are easy, quintessential Italian comfort foods, like Michael Imperioli's Spaghetti Carbonara and Edie Falco's Fettucine Alfredo. The bulk of the recipes are for entrees of pasta, fish and meat, though there are a few soups and vegetable sides and a smattering of desserts. Many cooks will already have mastered most of the items; the book is really for fans of The Godfather and The Sopranos, who will love the actors' endearing anecdotes about washing dishes, adored relatives and eating on set, and who might be inspired to try one of the dishes they recommend so enthusiastically. Photos. Agents, Mitch Ducksworth and Ron Bard. (Oct. 4) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425205556
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/04/2005
Pages:
320
Product dimensions:
7.96(w) x 9.34(h) x 1.05(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews