Sibelius Songs

Editorial Reviews

Daily Telegraph - Richard Wigmore
[Hynninen's] baritone has a fine, oaky resonance; and abetted by Segerstam's atmospheric accompaniments, he deploys it with passion and subtlety.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
This CD is Not Available through

Editorial Reviews

Daily Telegraph - Richard Wigmore
[Hynninen's] baritone has a fine, oaky resonance; and abetted by Segerstam's atmospheric accompaniments, he deploys it with passion and subtlety.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 7/26/1994
  • Label: Ondine
  • UPC: 761195082324
  • Catalog Number: 823


Disc 1
  1. 1 Black Roses (Svarta rosor), song for voice & piano, Op. 36/1 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (1:54)
  2. 2 Sigh, sedges, sigh (Säv, säv, susa), song for voice & piano, Op. 36/4 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (2:37)
  3. 3 The Diamond on the March Snow (Demanton på marssnön), song for voice & piano, Op. 36/6 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (2:26)
  4. 4 On A Balcony by the Sea (På verandan vid havet), for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 38/2 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (3:32)
  5. 5 'Neath the fir trees (Under strandens granar), song for voice & piano, Op. 13/1 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (4:50)
  6. 6 Spring is flying (Våren flyktar hastigt) song for voice & piano, Op. 13/4 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (1:44)
  7. 7 Come Away, Death (Kom nu hit, död!), for voice, harp & string orchestra (Twelfth Night No. 1), Op. 60/1 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (2:40)
  8. 8 Was it a dream? (Var det en dröm), song for voice & piano, Op. 37/4 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (2:09)
  9. 9 The Maid Returned from Meeeting her Lover (Flickan kon ifrån sin älsklings möte), song for voice & piano, Op. 37/5 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (3:02)
  10. 10 Im feld ein Mädchen singt (A maiden yonder sings), song for voice & piano, Op. 50/3 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (2:56)
  11. 11 Die stille Stadt (The silent town), song for voice & piano, Op. 50/5 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (2:56)
  12. 12 Aus Banger Brust (O, wert thou here), song for voice & piano (or orchestra), Op. 50/4 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (2:25)
  13. 13 The Rapids-Shooter's Bride (Koskenlaskijan Morsiamet), for 2 vocal soloists & orchestra (or piano), Op. 33 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (9:11)
  14. 14 Driftwood (Lastu Lainehilla), song for voice & piano, Op. 17/7 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (1:18)
  15. 15 To Evening (Illalle), song for voice & piano, Op. 17/6 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (1:31)
  16. 16 Row, row duck (Souda, souda, sinisorsa), for voice & piano - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (1:20)
  17. 17 The Echo Nymph (Kaiutar), somg for voice & piano, Op. 72/4 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (3:03)
  18. 18 The Fool's Song of the Spider, song for voice & piano (arranged from King Christian II), Op. 27/4 - Leif Segerstam & Jean Sibelius (4:09)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Jorma Hynninen Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously