Simon's Dream (The Fog Mound Series #3)
  • Simon's Dream (The Fog Mound Series #3)
  • Simon's Dream (The Fog Mound Series #3)

Simon's Dream (The Fog Mound Series #3)

by Susan Schade, Jon Buller
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The truth about the past of both humans and animals is finally revealed in this third installment of the lively and endearing Fog Mound Trilogy, cited as having “echoes of The Wizard of Oz and Planet of the Apes in a glowing review in the New York Times Book Review. Delightful artwork, clever storylines, and captivating twists and turns earned the trilogy

…  See more details below

Overview

The truth about the past of both humans and animals is finally revealed in this third installment of the lively and endearing Fog Mound Trilogy, cited as having “echoes of The Wizard of Oz and Planet of the Apes in a glowing review in the New York Times Book Review. Delightful artwork, clever storylines, and captivating twists and turns earned the trilogy this honor, and are sure to please fans as well!

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Echoes of The Wizard of Oz and Planet of the Apes."New York Times Book Review, Editor's Choice
Larry Doyle
The wife-and-husband writer-illustrator team tell their story in alternating chapters of prose and graphics, and the combination works seamlessly, and delightfully…Simon's Dream, the brand-new book in the series, involves thought-controlled flying couches and a final battle against the evil Dragon Lady and her hybrid ratmink minions, and reveals what really happened to the humans ("unforeseen consequences") and why this trilogy exists…with echoes of The Wizard of Oz and Planet of the Apes, the "Fog Mound" books read like breezy myth, with enough genuine invention and adventure to keep the story moving.
—The New York Times
Children's Literature - Michael Jung
In the tradition of Planet of the Apes and Redwall, Susan Schade and Jon Buller's "The Fog Mound" trilogy introduces readers to a post-human future where talking chipmunks, bears, lizards, and giant crabs have become earth's dominant species. Curious about how and why the humans disappeared, Thelonious Chipmunk and his friends explore the world and discover Bill, the last human on earth, who has avoided humanity's destruction by being frozen, although the experience has left him slightly brain damaged and shrunken. In Simon's Dream, the third and final chapter in the trilogy, Bill guides them to the Mattakeunk Institute, where they find a time machine that could reveal some of the answers Thelonious has been seeking, but, when the friends learn of a plot by the wicked Dragon Lady to invade the Fog Mound, the home of their friends, Thelonious must use what he has already learned on his travels to stop the Dragon Lady's plans. A charming trilogy, "The Fog Mound" alternates between comic book-style sections and prose novel sections that give readers a unique reading experience similar to G.P. Taylor's "The Doppleganger Chronicles." The plot is also very easy to follow, even for readers who jump right into the final book. Even so, most readers will probably want to start with the first two books, The Travels of Thelonious and Faradawn, since Simon's Dream reveals secrets about the new world that the characters have been wondering about for the entire trilogy. Reviewer: Michael Jung
School Library Journal

Gr 3-6

The chipmunk hero Thelonious is back, along with his companions from the earlier volumes-bears, a porcupine, a renegade lizard, and the shrunken scientist Bob, who may be the last human on the planet-to stop the burgeoning war between the mutant crabs with their robot soldiers and the army of ratminks led by the vainglorious Dragon Lady. Along the way, Thelonious learns secrets about the ultimate fate of humanity and more about the origins of the varied clans of intelligent animals. The illustrator and author continue to alternate between chapters of illustrated prose and comic-book narrative. The conclusion is satisfying, but events leading up to it raise as many questions as they answer, and a rushed final journey of discovery as to how the humans made the planet uninhabitable for themselves feels too much like a visual recap of earlier exposition than a satisfying final revelation. On the other hand, the book does provide enough of an ending to give a sense of closure while still leaving the door open for future episodes. The lessons about trust and prejudice work well, even though the environmental moral lacks punch. The book demonstrates increased skill on the part of the storytellers, despite the poorly paced denouement.-Benjamin Russell, Belmont High School, NH

Kirkus Reviews
Distinguished by its experimental format but not much else, the post-apocalyptic Fog Mound trilogy concludes with happy reunions among its cast of talking animals, a more or less decisive battle with the reptilian Dragon Lady and light shed at last on what became of humans. In chapters that arbitrarily alternate between heavily illustrated prose and Buller's sequential, graphic-fiction-style panels, Thelonious Chipmunk and friends soar off on a flying sofa to defend Fog Mound from the Dragon Lady and her invading army of ratminks. Meanwhile the tiny human survivor Bill recovers his ability to speak (in spades) and reveals at length that humanity had largely wiped itself out through a combination of Too Many Cleaning Products, the GreenBerry virus, careless genetic experimentation and a Road Rage War. Uh-huh. In a jumbled dream at the end, an ancestral chipmunk tells Thelonious that the survivors either headed off into space or changed themselves into small furry creatures, then signs off with the insight that "somehow, life always goes on." Fortunately, this aimless, confusing and, as it turns out, agenda-driven cautionary tale won't. (Graphic fantasy. 10-12)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780689876899
Publisher:
Aladdin
Publication date:
07/21/2009
Series:
Fog Mound Series, #3
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
208
Sales rank:
607,542
Product dimensions:
6.06(w) x 9.04(h) x 0.55(d)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
"Echoes of The Wizard of Oz and Planet of the Apes."New York Times Book Review, Editor's Choice

Meet the Author

Susan Schade works as a team with her husband, Jon Buller. They have worked together on many previous books for children. Jon does the illustrating and Susan writes the stories. For the Fog Mound trilogy, Jon went back to what first sparked his interest in drawing—comics. They live in Lyme, Connecticut.

Jon Buller works as a team with his wife, Susan Schade. They have worked together on many previous books for children. Jon does the illustrating and Susan writes the stories. For the Fog Mound trilogy, Jon went back to what first sparked his interest in drawing—comics. They live in Lyme, Connecticut.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >