×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Singularity
     

Singularity

4.6 9
by Bill Desmedt
 

See All Formats & Editions

Singularity is a swift, gripping novel with a goose-pimple mix of scary science and near-future action. An excellent debut from Bill DeSmedt - and I'll be looking forward to his next one!"

- GREG BEAR, New York Times bestselling author

"One of the best debuts of the year!"

- Barnes & Noble's Explorations

"DeSmedt veers an action-packed

Overview

Singularity is a swift, gripping novel with a goose-pimple mix of scary science and near-future action. An excellent debut from Bill DeSmedt - and I'll be looking forward to his next one!"

- GREG BEAR, New York Times bestselling author

"One of the best debuts of the year!"

- Barnes & Noble's Explorations

"DeSmedt veers an action-packed thriller into perilous realms of black hole physics. The combination of adrenaline and intellect sizzles."

- DAVID BRIN, New York Times bestselling author

"Singularity juggles Clancy, Crichton and The Da Vinci Code. An innovative concept for an end-of-the-world thriller, with convincing research and locomotive pacing."

- KEVIN J. ANDERSON, New York Times bestselling author

Synopsis:

June 30th, 1908 - In the remote Tunguska region of Siberia, the most violent cosmic collision in recorded history flattened ancient forests over an area half the size of Rhode Island. Yet after a hundred years of international scientific research the cause of this impact remains a mystery.

A MAVERICK ASTROPHYSICIST

Jack Adler thinks he's fingered the culprit: a submicroscopic black hole, smaller than an atom, heavier than a mountain, older than the stars. What's more, that fantastic object is still down there, deep inside the Earth, burrowing through the mantle in an ever-decaying orbit that will end only when it has devoured the entire planet.

A ROOKIE SECRET AGENT

Marianna Bonaventure is tracking three missing scientists suspected of involvement in weapons of mass destruction research. The trail leads to Rusalka, the luxurious floating corporate headquarters of billionaire Russian industrialist Arkady Grishin. Determined to prove herself, Marianna creates an elaborate ruse in order to infiltrate the megayacht - a dangerous gambit that requires the coerced cooperation of a rather special civilian ...

AN UNCANNY CONSULTANT

Jonathan Knox is one of the country's most sought-after analysts; his knack for intuiting hidden relationships among seemingly disparate events serves his Fortune-50 clients well. But when Marianna compels the reluctant Knox to join her undercover mission, he must grapple with puzzles of a whole different order of magnitude.

Against violent and cunning opposition, the three of them unearth a scheme to capture the submicroscopic black hole that caused the Tunguska Event and use its awesome power to transform the world - or end it altogether.

Bill DeSmedt's debut is a tour-de-force of breakneck plotting, complex characters, and cutting-edge science. In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Greg Bear, Singularity weaves a richly detailed and intelligent tale, meticulously researched and elegantly told.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
DeSmedt's debut SF thriller, a brisk Michael Crichton clone, vividly depicts the Tunguska event that leveled a big patch of Siberia in 1908, then shifts to the near-future, where warrior woman Marianna Bonaventure is working for CROM (Critical Resources Oversight Mandate), the U.S. Department of Energy's branch for dealing with loose WMD talent. Meanwhile, in Siberia, scientist Jack Adler discovers that Tunguska was actually hit by a microscopic black hole, not a meteorite. Marianna and an intuitive analyst, Jonathan Knox, are assigned to infiltrate the gigantic yacht Rusalka, owned by the Russian billionaire Arkady Grishin, who is on the trail of something odd. It turns out that Grishin is not who he seems and his motives for finding the Tunguska object are a great deal more sinister than anyone had supposed. The book bounces along, from well-developed scenes to lesser ones and back again, with a good deal of deft if not particularly original characterization. The sexual chemistry between Marianna and Jonathan adds spice. Exotic hardware, lifestyles of the rich and notorious, double- and triple-crosses and a slightly rushed and facile conclusion all make a respectable if not outstanding first effort. Agent, Jake Elwell at Wieser & Elwell. (Nov. 8) Forecast: A $25,000 promo budget, a blurb from Craig Bear and an 11-city author tour should ensure respectable sales. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
The Dallas Morning News - Steve Powers
Singularity stands out because of its highly original premise. ...
This book rocks with great, plausible science and an exciting plot filled with chases, spy action and the big, evil specter of Rusalka, funded by billionaire Arkady Grishin. Those who like their science fiction novels laced with healthy dollops of action and hard science will love Mr. DeSmedt’s first novel.
Amazon - Cynthia Ward
Bill DeSmedt should be on the bestseller lists with Tom Clancy and Dan Brown. DeSmedt’s ambitious and exciting debut novel, Singularity, mixes a post-Cold-War conspiracy with cutting-edge quantum physics and a century-old mystery to create a terrifying techno-thriller.
Barnes and Noble Explorations - Paul Goat Allen
Reminiscent of novels by science fiction masters like Robert A. Heinlein, Larry Niven, Arthur C. Clarke, and Isaac Asimov -- authors who based their stories on hard science -- Bill DeSmedt's debut novel, Singularity, is an edge-of-your-seat thrill ride that revolves around a submicroscopic black hole in a decaying orbit deep inside the Earth's mantle that will persist until it has devoured the entire planet!
Edge Boston - Killian Melloy
Grade: A “What If?” is the mantra of the speculative fiction writer, and Bill DeSmedt asks one big What If in this blend of international espionage, particle physics, and cold-war thriller. What If... this were the one of the funniest, most frightening books of the year?
First time novelist Bill DeSmedt ably blends a mixture of science fiction technology and ideas with international thriller ass-kicking action...

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780974573489
Publisher:
Per Aspera Press
Publication date:
05/13/2014
Pages:
454
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.92(d)

What People are Saying About This

Kip Thorne
"Bill [DeSmedt] got the vast majority of the physics right, which is highly unusual - especially in a book that is such a good read."
national bestselling author of Black Holes and Time Warps: Einstein's Outrageous Legacy
GREG BEAR
Singularity is a swift, gripping novel with a goose-pimple mix of scary science and near-future action. An excellent debut from Bill DeSmedt - and I'll be looking forward to his next one!
New York Times bestselling author; Hugo & Nebula award winner
Anthony Olcott
"Singularity is a three-bag homer of a book - a mind-bending technothriller set on the edge of tomorrow, an East-West political thriller chilling enough to refreeze the Cold War, and an old fashioned pageturner, of the sort you can't decide whether to zip through, for the excitement, or to read slowly, to savor."
Edgar- and Silver Dagger Award nominee
DAVID BRIN
DeSmedt veers an action-packed thriller into perilous realms of black hole physics. The combination of adrenaline and intellect sizzles.
New York Times bestselling author; Hugo & Nebula award winner
KEVIN J. ANDERSON
Singularity juggles Clancy, Crichton, and The Da Vinci Code. An innovative concept for an end-of-the-world thriller, with convincing research and locomotive pacing.
New York Times bestselling author

Meet the Author

Bill DeSmedt has worked as a computer programmer, a consultant to Fortune 500 companies, and a Soviet area expert. He lives in Milford, Pennsylvania.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Singularity 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Brian241 More than 1 year ago
I read this about 4 years ago or so and just thought I would check to see what kind of reviews were now out there. It really is an excellent book with good characters and interesting science. If you like hard science fiction this is a fantastic choice to read! Highly recommended. If you look at what I also recommend, I guarantee this book is right up there with the others.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a fan of Michael Crichton who awaits his releases, this book manages to shine. Hard science blended with an action based plot is sure to please. I also recommend Human Interface by another debut author, Jason Giacchino available here at Barnes & Nobel. These two authors are really providing alternatives for those of us who endure the space between Crichton masterpieces.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A first glance at the cover tab will leave the well read scifi buff thinking of David Brin's Earth or Gregory Benford's Artifact, but let me assure you that Mr. DeSmedt has much more in mind for the piece of the primordial explosion that hides within the earth. His cast of characters have grand plans for the remenant of the Tunguska explosion. Add to this well developed likeable characters, cutting edge and black project level technology and an explosive finish and you have a glimpse of what this book encompasses. Truly a wonderful debut.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Somewhere along the line, somebody took the Science out of Science Fiction. Bill DeSmedt¿s debut novel puts it back. In the hands of a lesser writer, this book could have easily bogged down under the weight of its own technical detail. Fortunately, Bill DeSmedt is not a lesser writer. The plot ricochets from hard science, to espionage, to shamanism, and back again, weaving divergent story lines into the literary equivalent of a black hole. Before you know it, you¿ve skidded past the event horizon, and there¿s no turning back. You¿re in for a white-knuckle ride, and all you can do is hang on for dear life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book deals with a lot of good science and people you would like to meet. It deals with money, power and the situations which change on the spur of the moment. It deals with large corporations and what they will attempt to do for the principles which the founders established it. It has conspiracy theroies, cloak and dagger, and dareing do agents making it up as you go along. I like the fact of the science being well thought out and investigated and displayed with enough plot and twist to keep you involved throughout the story. It gets a bit long developing the storyline and plot but it does not get boring. It also investigates other science facts that help keep the story going. At the end it reaches a pace that will not let you put it down easily.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A new contender for supreme master of the science-thriller has emerged in Bill DeSmedt. 'Singularity' brings together elements of suspense, faithful science, mysticism, and a spine chilling connection to a real world scientific mystery that makes for a remarkable debut book. 'Singularity' takes you from the still-baffling mystery of the Tunguska event, a massive explosion in desolate Siberia in 1908, to the near present. Its characters vary from Evenki tribesman (the only direct observers of the event) to modern day physicists and, of course, to spies (both by training and indenture). If you enjoy Crichton, Bear, Brin, or Benford, and other authors who write science fiction that does not play fast and loose with the laws of physics. You will really enjoy Singularity. I anxiously await DeSmedt's next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
coffeemanKY More than 1 year ago
Fast paced action and suspense