Sirens of Swing: Great Songs of the 30's & 40's - 4 Disc Set

This CD is Not Available through

Product Details

  • Release Date: 6/8/1999
  • Label: Compendia
  • UPC: 015095147721
  • Catalog Number: 1477


Disc 1
  1. 1 Near You - Vic Schoen & His Orchestra (3:01)
  2. 2 Until the Real Thing Comes Along - Billie Holiday (3:07)
  3. 3 Penthouse Serenade (When We're Alone) - Nat King Cole (3:06)
  4. 4 Little Girl Blue - Phil Moore 4 (2:33)
  5. 5 Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe - Woody Herman & His Orchestra (3:27)
  6. 6 The One I Love (Belongs to Somebody Else) - Ted Dale's Orchestra (3:11)
  7. 7 I Wish I Didn't Love You So - Sonny Burke's Orchestra (2:55)
  8. 8 The Lady's in Love With You - Nellie Lutcher & Her Rhythm (3:07)
  9. 9 Linger in My Arms a Little Longer, Baby - Dave Barbour's Orchestra (3:04)
  10. 10 So You're the One - Hal Kemp & His Orchestra (2:45)
Disc 2
  1. 1 It's Only a Paper Moon - Jess Stacy & His Orchestra (3:09)
  2. 2 It's Magic - Percy Faith & His Orchestra (3:26)
  3. 3 It Might as Well Be Spring - Paul Weston & His Orchestra (3:12)
  4. 4 The Moon of Manakoora - Cy Feuer's Orchestra (3:00)
  5. 5 I Can't Believe That You're in Love With Me - Ella Fitzgerald & Her Orchestra (2:30)
  6. 6 Out of Nowhere - Victor Young & His Orchestra (2:44)
  7. 7 That's for Me - Paul Weston & His Orchestra (2:45)
  8. 8 Taking a Chance on Love - Max Terr's Orchestra (3:10)
  9. 9 A Sunday Kind of Love - Claude Thornhill & His Orchestra (3:24)
  10. 10 Love Me or Leave Me - Ted Dale's Orchestra (2:55)
Disc 3
  1. 1 Tess' Torch Song (I Had a Man) - Cootie Williams & His Orchestra (2:32)
  2. 2 I'll Walk Alone - Paul Weston & His Orchestra (3:16)
  3. 3 Goodnight My Love - Cy Feuer's Orchestra (2:45)
  4. 4 It's the Bluest Kind of Blues (3:09)
  5. 5 Stormy Weather - Crystalette All-Stars (2:54)
  6. 6 I Can't Begin to Tell You - Betty Grable (2:57)
  7. 7 Lover Man - Camarata Orchestra (3:17)
  8. 8 Rumors Are Flying - Vic Schoen & His Orchestra (2:55)
  9. 9 Deep Purple - Bea Wain (3:39)
  10. 10 My Old Flame - Benny Goodman & His Orchestra (3:05)
Disc 4
  1. 1 I'm Beginning to See the Light - Harry James & His Orchestra (3:13)
  2. 2 Blue Moon (3:08)
  3. 3 I Remember You - Paul Weston & His Orchestra (3:01)
  4. 4 Baby Won't You Please Come Home - Ella Fitzgerald & Her Orchestra (2:28)
  5. 5 The Gyspy - Sonny Burke's Orchestra (3:00)
  6. 6 La Vie en Rose - Guy Luypaerts (3:05)
  7. 7 Body and Soul - Lou Bring's Orchestra (3:11)
  8. 8 Stairway to the Stars - Chubby Jackson's Orchestra (3:01)
  9. 9 One for My Baby (And One More for the Road) - Horace Henderson & His Orchestra (3:21)
  10. 10 My Dreams Are Getting Better All the Time - Les Brown & His Orchestra (3:16)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
The Andrews Sisters Track Performer
Pearl Bailey Track Performer
Doris Day Track Performer
Dinah Shore Track Performer
Jo Stafford Track Performer
Kay Starr Track Performer
Ella Fitzgerald Track Performer
Lena Horne Track Performer
Dinah Washington Track Performer
Lee Wiley Track Performer
Frances Wayne Track Performer
Helen Forrest Track Performer
Monica Lewis Track Performer
Edith Piaf Track Performer
Nellie Lutcher Track Performer
Alice Faye Track Performer
Dorothy Lamour Track Performer
Fran Warren Track Performer
Billie Holiday Track Performer
Sarah Vaughan Track Performer
Martha Tilton Track Performer
Frances Langford Track Performer
Janet Blair Track Performer
Benny Goodman & His Orchestra Musician
Cootie Williams & His Orchestra Musician
Paul Weston & His Orchestra Musician
Woody Herman & His Orchestra Musician
Betty Grable Track Performer
Bea Wain Track Performer
Jeff Alexander Choir Vocals
Jane Russell Track Performer
Technical Credits
Fats Waller Composer
Jimmy McHugh Composer
Andy Razaf Composer
Frank Loesser Composer
Mack Gordon Composer
Billy Reid Composer
Luciano Salvatore Composer
Alfred Newman Composer
Will Jason Composer
Francis Craig Composer
Scott Larsen Graphic Design
Harry Revel Composer
Clarence Gaskill Composer
Val Burton Composer
Robert Rawls Liner Notes
Kermit Goell Composer
R. S. Lourgay Composer
T. Koeler Composer
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously