×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Slim to None
     

Slim to None

4.5 4
by Jennifer Hendricks
 

See All Formats & Editions

A young woman's fatal battle with anorexia, in her own words

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice, Prozac Nation, and Girl Interrupted, Slim to None grants readers precious access to the emotional and psychological underpinnings of its author. Step-by-step, readers follow Jenny's long journey through a "wasteland" of failed

Overview

A young woman's fatal battle with anorexia, in her own words

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice, Prozac Nation, and Girl Interrupted, Slim to None grants readers precious access to the emotional and psychological underpinnings of its author. Step-by-step, readers follow Jenny's long journey through a "wasteland" of failed treatments and therapies, false hope, and abuse by the mental health system that kept her captive most of her life.

Although this disease has been at the forefront of public awareness for years, anorexia continues to claim more victims than any other mental illness. Slim to None reveals the glaring inadequacy of the mental health system to treat and fully understand this disease.

The first journal of an anorexic to be published posthumously, the book discloses the innermost thoughts, fears, and hopes of a young girl stricken and fighting to recover.

Jenny Hendricks painstakingly recorded her experiences as she suffered from and eventually succumbed to this eating disorder. With candor, she recounts being shipped from one doctor to another and subjected to widely varying treatments--all of which ultimately proved unsuccessful. Her father, Gordon Hendricks, fills in this compelling narrative with his own memories of his daughter's struggle.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780071428842
Publisher:
McGraw-Hill Education
Publication date:
02/14/2003
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
812,121
File size:
967 KB

Meet the Author

Jennifer Hendricks was the valedictorian of her high school class but spent most of her last five years confined in hospitals. She weighed just forty-five pounds when she died at age twenty-five.

Gordon Hendricks, a retired CPA, has received several awards for excerpts from this book and continues to write for magazines and syndicated newspapers, including the Rocky Mountain News and Steamboat Today. He won third place in the Best of the West fiction contest for his story "The Prize." He lives with his wife in Steamboat Springs, Colorado.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Slim to None : A Journey through the Wasteland of Anorexia Treatment 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I BATTLE ANOREXIA DAILY. EVERYTHING IN THIS BOOK IS SO TRUE AS IF I WERE WRITING IT MYSELF. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A BOOK WITH TIPS ON BEING ANOREXIC THEN THIS IS NOT FOR YOU. I HAVE READ MANY BOOKS ABOUT THOSE WHO HAVE BEEN ABLE TO RECOVER. UNFORTUNATELY, JENNIFER'S STORY IS THE ONLY BOOK I HAVE READ THAT CHOKED ME UP AND MADE BE REALIZE MY LIFE COULD ALSO HAVE THE SAME ENDING. I HAVE ASKED MY FAMILY MEMBERS TO READ THIS BOOK AND PERHAPS HAVE A BETTER UNDERSTANDING OF AN ANOREXIC MIND.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think the first thing that strikes me about this book was the unconditional love that Jennifer's father Gordon Hendricks has for his daughter. Throughout the story you get the sense that this man was the only one who 'got it.' As a 'recovered' anorexic myself I really thought this book was an honest portrayal about the battle between mind and body. Taking writings from Jennifer's journal and incorporating a story around the events in her journal really gives you a intimate look at her struggle. An honest struggle. This book about recovery was unlike any other anorexia book I have read. Most books about this subject go through the same thing, girl gets sick, girl goes through recovery, girl gets well, girl inspires others. However in Jennifer's story she takes you through the torment of her illness and gives you a clear sense of how the healthcare system does not work for those who struggle with eating disorders. Jennifer was couragous for wanting to tell her story. Gordon Hendricks was generous to share it with all of us in the hopes that it will help others. Bravo!