Slim to None [NOOK Book]

Overview

"It took three weeks for my body to shut down. When I was close to the end, I couldn't see very well and could talk only in hoarse whispers because my mouth was so dry. I slept most of the time. But I didn't feel sick. I felt at peace, finally emptied of all the mind and body filth. No more terrifying flashbacks. No more disgust with my body . . . with me. Nothing hurt. I wasn't even hungry. And I didn't have to worry about how guilty I feel when I eat and throw up, and even ...

See more details below
Slim to None

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price
(Save 44%)$19.95 List Price

Overview

"It took three weeks for my body to shut down. When I was close to the end, I couldn't see very well and could talk only in hoarse whispers because my mouth was so dry. I slept most of the time. But I didn't feel sick. I felt at peace, finally emptied of all the mind and body filth. No more terrifying flashbacks. No more disgust with my body . . . with me. Nothing hurt. I wasn't even hungry. And I didn't have to worry about how guilty I feel when I eat and throw up, and even worse, how anguished I feel when I eat and don't throw up."
--Jenny Hendricks, age twenty-five





The true story of one brave young woman's fatal battle with anorexia, from its onset until her final days--in her own words



"This book is a cry from the heart of an anguished father who has enriched our understanding of anorexia as described by his remarkable daughter Jenny in the journals she wrote leading up to her death."
--George McGovern, former U.S. senator and author of Terry: My Daughter's Life and Death Struggle with Alcoholism





"Through Jennifer Hendricks' words, we see that anorexia nervosa is a lethal obsession. Her book provides education and awareness that can help others understand and overcome this disease."
-- Christopher Athas, vice president of the National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders (ANAD)





"Patients' voices can all too easily be forgotten in the world of mental health care, but Jenny's voice rings strong. Through this earnest and captivating exposure, her father succeeds in keeping her story alive."
--David B. Herzog, M.D., president and founder of the Harvard Eating Disorders Center





This eloquently written, heart-wrenching book shares a brave but tormented young woman's candid chronicle of her long and ultimately fatal battle with the eating disorder anorexia. In the tradition of Go Ask Alice, Wasted, and Girl Interrupted, the late Jenny Hendricks speaks to you from her own carefully detailed personal journals--a practice suggested as treatment by one of her many doctors.





Gently edited and narrated by her father, Slim to None vividly illustrates Jenny's intense emotional struggles--her pride at improving her health clashing with her undefined guilt over eating, her internal conflict between will and reason, and the dispiriting war between self-confidence and self-doubt that plagued her. Most of all, here is an amazing account of the efforts to understand the root of an illness that continues to confound the mental-health system, even at the dawn of the twenty-first century.





As we are privy to over a decade of Jenny's battle, much of it spent in hospital confinement, we are also witness to an often painfully incoherent series of treatment approaches. From a confrontational therapist to a pseudo Christian savior who tried to exorcise her to myriad therapy programs, conflicting speculations, and diagnoses from numerous experts, including psychiatrists, psychologists, and MDs, here we learn what is really discussed between a suicidal anorexic and her caretakers--as well as the family dynamics at work and their possible role in the illness.



Reading of the many frustrating, fruitless attempts to "cure" Jenny, we, like her family, are finally left to grapple with the unanswered questions and tragic mystery at the heart of her demise--and to fulfill her last wish by accepting the rare gift of her compelling story.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780071428842
  • Publisher: McGraw-Hill Education
  • Publication date: 1/24/2003
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 190,317
  • File size: 935 KB

Meet the Author

Jennifer Hendricks was the valedictorian of her high school class but spent most of her last five years confined in hospitals. She weighed just forty-five pounds when she died at age twenty-five.





Gordon Hendricks, a retired CPA, has received several awards for excerpts from this book and continues to write for magazines and syndicated newspapers, including the Rocky Mountain News and Steamboat Today. He won third place in the Best of the West fiction contest for his story "The Prize." He lives with his wife in Steamboat Springs, Colorado.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)