Smoke and Ashes (Tony Foster Series #3)

Smoke and Ashes (Tony Foster Series #3)

4.4 13
by Tanya Huff
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Tanya Huff’s supernatural fantasy Smoke series, with a gothic twist • Mix of ghostly mystery, paranormal horror, and dark humor • Lamba Award nominated
 
Fans of the X-Files and Twin Peaks will love acclaimed master of contemporary fantasy Tanya Huff’s twisted version of vampires, wizards, and TV terror.

Overview

Tanya Huff’s supernatural fantasy Smoke series, with a gothic twist • Mix of ghostly mystery, paranormal horror, and dark humor • Lamba Award nominated
 
Fans of the X-Files and Twin Peaks will love acclaimed master of contemporary fantasy Tanya Huff’s twisted version of vampires, wizards, and TV terror.
 
Tony Foster, fledgling wizard and now trainee assistant director on Darkest Night—the syndicated vampire detective show—is hoping that they only supernatural events he’ll be caught up in are those in the script.
 
But that isn’t meant to be, for a demonic convergence is about to begin, creating weak spots through which lesser demons may enter the world. To complicate matters, Leah, the incredibly seductive stuntwoman who freelances for the show, is an immortal Demongate. Should Leah die, the Demongate will open and her sensual demon master will wreak havoc upon the unsuspecting human race.
 
Can Tony—with the help of Leah, Henry, a tabloid reporter, a Mountie, and the cast of Darkest Night—halt a demonic invasion and stave off the end of the world?


From the Hardcover edition.

Editorial Reviews

For former street kid Tony Foster, the news couldn't be better. Landing a job as a production assistant on a syndicated TV show seems a plausible first step towards his dream of becoming a director. But soon after he gets to the set, Tony begins to worry about the high price of success. Some of the activities on the set seem uncomfortably close to the series' vampire theme. Nevertheless, he stays on, eventually winning a promotion to trainee assistant director. Unfortunately, his career advance only places him closer to a full-scale demonic invasions.
Publishers Weekly
Fans of Buffy and The X-files will cheer the latest exploits of Tony Foster, wizard-in-training, in the third novel of Huff's contemporary fantasy series (after 2005's Smoke and Mirrors). The cult vampire detective TV show for which Tony is now a trainee assistant director is filming in Vancouver-which is also the epicenter of an upcoming deadly Demonic Convergence, according to sexy stuntwoman Leah Burnett, who also happens to be the 3,500-year-old handmaiden and personal Demongate of Ryne Cyratane, "He Who Brings Desire and Destruction." Worse yet, Leah is vulnerable to demon attack, and if she dies, Ryne will be able to return and wreak havoc on Earth. Tony, who has a laptop loaded with spells left behind by Arra Pelindrake, his former wizard mentor, needs a crash course in high-power wizardry to save the world. This spinoff from Huff's popular Blood series stands alone as an entertaining supernatural adventure with plenty of sex, violence and sarcastic humor. (June) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal
Rescued from life on the streets by 500-year-old vampire Henry Fitzroy, former street hustler Tony Foster now lives in Vancouver and works as a trainee assistant director for CB Productions. When an outbreak of supernatural occurrences leads him to the discovery that stuntwoman Leah is more than she seems-and much, much older-Tony must rely on his developing wizard talents and his growing list of friends to help him prevent a Demonic Convergence that could destroy the world. Huff's third addition to her "Smoke" series (Smoke and Shadows; Smoke and Mirrors) demonstrates her talent for creating believable suspense out of the most improbable circumstances. Vibrant characters and a tongue-in-cheek portrayal of current TV trends make this a strong addition to most fantasy or horror collections. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
From the Publisher
Praise for the Smoke series:

"Fans of Buffy and the X-Files will cheer the latest exploits of Tony Foster, wizard-in-training.... An entertaining supernatural adventure with plenty of sex, violence, and sarcastic humor." —Publishers Weekly

"It's a wild romp, full of dark humor, a delightfully twisted version of the usual haunted house story." —Locus

"Huff is one of the best writers we have at contemporary fantasy, particularly with a supernatural twist." —Chronicle

"[Huff's] delightfully light touch lends a sense of timeliness to this effortlessly told fantasy mystery." —Library Journal

"This latest offering is just as gothic and horror-filled as its prequel. The conversational writing is a pleasure.... Huff continues to add many details of filming and life on the set of a television show while maintaining suspense." —VOYA

"Lots of action and amusing show-biz detail keep things moving for a fun dark-fantasy adventure." —Locus

"[A] talent for creating believable suspense out of the most improbably circumstances. Vibrant characters and tongue-in-cheek portrayal of current TV trends make this a strong addition to most fantasy or horror collections." —Library Journal

"Huff writes a spellbinding, fascinating tale that fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Jim Butcherwill enjoy." —Midwest Book Review

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101215548
Publisher:
DAW
Publication date:
06/06/2006
Series:
Tony Foster Series , #3
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
416
Sales rank:
259,075
File size:
420 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Tanya Huff may have left Nova Scotia at three, and has lived most of her life since in Ontario, but she still considers herself a Maritimer. On the way to the idyllic rural existence she shares with her partner Fiona Patton, six cats, and a chihuahua, she acquired a degree in Radio and Television Arts from Ryerson Polytechnic—an education she was happy to finally use while writing her recent Smoke novels. Of her previous twenty-three books, the five—Blood Price, Blood Trail, Blood Lines, Blood Pact, Blood Debt—featuring Henry Fitzroy, bastard son of Henry VIII, romance writer, and vampire are among the most popular.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Smoke and Ashes 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The whole series is good, but this is easily the best! I liked the new character Leah. I loved the way her and Tony acted together. They talked and argued like real people. I like that Henry and the studio workers were in the mix. I liked the Tony and Lee encounters/situations. The only thing I didn't like was the ending. It left me wanting more. Would recommend to anybody with an open mind.
harstan More than 1 year ago
It has been almost two months since Tony Foster fought any supernatural entities so he enjoys the respite especially with his promotion to the Trainee Assistant Director on the set of Darkest Night, a TV show starring a vampire detective. Tony finds life ironic that he works on a vampire show when his lover, best friend, and father figure Henry Fitzroy (baseborn son of King Henry VIII) is a real vampire.--------- Tony¿s hiatus from the supernatural ends when he learns from stunt woman Leah Barrett who doubles as a Demongate keeping her demon out of our world that the Demon Convergence has begun. It is a time when energies are moving is such a way that the barriers between earth and the Hells are penetrable. Leah is 3500 years old and because her demon master miscast a spell she has been protected and he unable to breach the ¿walls¿. If he gains access as it seems likely he will, the demon master will dominate the world of humanity. His minions are coming for Leah and Tony, who still remains a tyro when it comes to using his wizard powers. With the help of friends like Henry, Tony knows he will stand brave and strong trying to stop the demon horde.--------------- The hero has changed from a street hustler and prostitute to a courageous person willing to die to keep his friends and his world safe. This superb urban fantasy is at times funny, but mostly dramatic as there is plenty of action especially as Tony learns how to use his skills as he wars with demon assassins sent to kill Leah, considered by her kind as a traitor. Tanya Huff writes a spellbinding fascinating tale that fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Jim Butcher will enjoy.------------ Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read the Blood Series, and at this point, don't even remember how I found the Smoke series. I think I was excited to see there were more stories about Henry Fitzroy. I quickly learned that Henry was not the main character, and even better, Tony is! This series wonderful. Easily one of my favorites, and one of the few I insist on keeping in paper form after clearing out my book shelves. I feel for Tony as he struggles, cheer him on, feel his heartache poignantly, and laugh out loud even in public. I've reread them several times, and was excited to find the short story "See Me" today, which follows up two years after then end of "Smoke and Ashes". My only complaint? No more adventures on which to follow Tony and the cast and crew of Darkest Night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
Coming soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago