BN.com Gift Guide

The Snowfly

( 3 )

Overview

The Snowfly is a spellbinding novel of suspense, international intrigue, and fly fishing. The holy grail that burns at its core is the snowfly, a legendary insect—enormous, white, and exceedingly rare—that attracts trout of such size that they couldn't possibly exist in the world as we know it. But in The Snowfly, such things can and do exist. Bowie Rhodes is a UPI reporter and a fly fisherman of extraordinary talent. He learns of the myth of the snowfly early in his childhood. Legend has it that the giant ...

See more details below
Paperback
$14.19
BN.com price
(Save 16%)$16.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (15) from $2.27   
  • New (9) from $3.80   
  • Used (6) from $2.27   
Snowfly

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 34%)$15.99 List Price

Overview

The Snowfly is a spellbinding novel of suspense, international intrigue, and fly fishing. The holy grail that burns at its core is the snowfly, a legendary insect—enormous, white, and exceedingly rare—that attracts trout of such size that they couldn't possibly exist in the world as we know it. But in The Snowfly, such things can and do exist. Bowie Rhodes is a UPI reporter and a fly fisherman of extraordinary talent. He learns of the myth of the snowfly early in his childhood. Legend has it that the giant snowfly hatches every seven to ten years, never on the same river twice. It brings to rise only trout that strain the imagination: trout that are so huge they would have to have lived forty years or more; trout so wily that they never allow themselves to be caught—or even seen; trout so hungry for this fly that they will risk exposure to rise for the hatch. The snowfly is the sacred quest of only the most obsessed trout hunters, and has been seen by no living man or woman, existing only in myth and in a lost manuscript. Rhodes's reporting brings him to the extremes of humanity—in the jungles of Vietnam, in the labyrinth of Brezhnev's Soviet Union, in a poisoned Canadian wasteland of uranium mines. His hunt for the manuscript takes him deep into his own heart of darkness.The Snowfly is a richly imaginative and sensual novel. The world Heywood creates is broader and more wild, with more mystery lurking beneath the surface waters, than our own. Or is it? The Snowfly makes it all seem gloriously possible.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A truly wonderful, wild, funny and slightly crazy novel about fly fishing. The Snowfly ranks with the best this modern era has produced." —San Francisco Chronicle "A magical whirlwind of a novel, squarely in the tradition of Tim O'Brien's Going After Cacciato and Jim Harrison's Legends of the Fall." —Howard Frank Mosher, author of The Fall of the Year and others"The Snowfly is as much about fishing as Moby Dick is about whaling." —Library Journal"Fly-fishing legend meets global adventure in Heywood's sparkling, ambitious novel. . . . an engrossing bildungsroman. . . . part Tom Robbins, part David Copperfield." —Publishers Weekly, starred review "If The Snowfly becomes a movie, it will blast A River Runs Through It out of the water." —Fly Angler's Online Book Review"...a finely tuned plot and masterful, literary craftsmanship. It will stand with The River Why as the finest of its kind." —Riverwatch
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Fly-fishing legend meets global adventure in Heywood's sparkling, ambitious third novel. At the heart of this engrossing bildungsroman is the legendary, perhaps nonexistent snowfly, whose once-a-decade breeding cycle supposedly attracts trout far bigger than most fishermen have ever seen. Narrator Bowie Rhodes overhears a remark about the snowfly when he's eight: his quest for the elusive insect lasts, off and on, for the rest of his life. He grows into a man with a natural gift for fly-fishing and sees traces of the snowfly everywhere. Working as a reporter in Vietnam, Bowie chances on a book called The Legend of the Snowfly by M.J. Key--then loses it during the Tet offensive. In Moscow, his hunt for the same book makes him a marked man. Bowie's peripatetic existence includes stints as a spy in a Canadian mining town, a drifter in the mountain West and a tremendously successful fly-fishing guide. At every turning point in Bowie's life, the snowfly makes another appearance; careful readers come to feel that someone or something has dangled the snowfly legend before Bowie, using it as a lure to catch him. Heywood (The Berkut) expertly plants hints of a conspiracy (library references to M.J. Key, for example, disappear almost as soon as Bowie locates them). As the reflective Bowie continues his quest, the intricate plot brings in a childhood sweetheart, a government coverup and a cameo by a world-famous author, wrapping everything up on Michigan's Upper Peninsula (where Heywood himself fishes) in a denouement as neat as any in myth. Heywood's absorbing narrative is part Tom Robbins, part David Copperfield (the Robbinsesque parts take over near the end). It's at once, and almost all the way through, a story about growing up and self-discovery, a fast-moving intercontinental romp and a good fish story, focused (as all of them are) on how people handle the one that got away. Agent, Betsy Nolan. (Sept.) Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.|
Library Journal
Upon picking up this book, the reader's first reaction might be to toss it aside. A novel about trout fishing? But wait! The Snowfly is as much about fishing as Moby Dick is about whaling. In other words, it is a framework upon which to build an exciting story. The hero, Bowie Rhodes, is a fisherman whose job as a reporter brings him to such locales as Moscow, Vietnam, Canada, and northern Michigan in the course of the book. Running parallel is the plot of the snowfly, which hatches every seven to ten years, never in the same river twice. It attracts huge trout that risk exposure to rise for the hatch. No one has ever seen the snowfly; it exists only in myth--and in a lost manuscript. Heywood (The Berkut) neatly ties together Rhodes's job as a UPI reporter and his search for this manuscript--a search that turns out to be more than he bargained for. Recommended.--Fred M. Gervat, Concordia Coll., Bronxville, NY Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.\
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780762786954
  • Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
  • Publication date: 5/7/2013
  • Pages: 560
  • Sales rank: 321,824
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 7.90 (h) x 1.70 (d)

Meet the Author

Joseph Heywood is the author of Covered Waters (Lyons), The Berkut, Taxi Dancer, The Domino Conspiracy, the eight novels comprising the Woods Cop Mystery series, and Red Jacket (A Lute Bapcat Mystery). Featuring Grady Service, a detective in the Upper Peninsula for Michigan's Department of Natural Resources, the Woods Cop Mysteries have earned its author cult status among lovers of the outdoors, law enforcement officials, and mystery devotees. Heywood lives in Portage, Michigan. Visit the author's web site at www.josephheywood.com.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    Must Read

    This is an incredible book. Full of life's lessons. Passed this on throughout my neighborhood and to friends and family. Author's prowess in metaphor is legend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A LIFETIME OF TROUT

    I'm not fishing for trout, so this is probablly not the book for me. Well written and good story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    Outdoorsmens Special

    Although a bit too far reaching it's true to the major theme of a love for fishing, true human emotions and a passion for the great outdoors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)