Solitary Goose

Paperback (Print)
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $13.25
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 33%)
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (3) from $13.25   
  • New (1) from $13.25   
  • Used (2) from $17.00   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$13.25
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(228)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Paperback New (4279)Paperback, The Univ. of Georgia Press 2007; perfect condition!

Ships from: Bethesda, MD

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by

Overview


In the fall of 1996 Sydney Plum encountered a solitary Canada goose on a pond near her home in New England. Caring for the animal became a way for her to reconnect with nature. Walks to the pond were daily rituals--reflective times during which Plum thought about the relationships between humans and animals. Mixing memoir with closely observed nature writing, Plum searches for a deeper understanding of what was changed by the experience with the solitary goose she named SG.

In the tradition of Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, Plum writes lyrical lessons on the life cycle of geese, the mystery of their great migratory patterns, and their amazing adaptability. Canada geese were not always so plentiful in the United States, she explains, nor were they always denigrated as “flying carp.” Plum shows how species-management programs reestablished the birds outside their previous range at the same time as golf courses, office parks, and suburban ponds began dotting the countryside, providing them with prime habitats where they were unwanted.

Memories of breaking holes in the ice for SG to escape predators turn Plum’s thoughts toward what it means to nurture. Coming to terms with how SG thinks leads Plum to examine anthropomorphism in nature writing. In contrast to the metaphors through which we commonly view nature, Plum argues that science combined with metaphor is a better way to understand animals. Though Plum’s focus is generously outward toward nature, this book also reveals an inner journey through which, as she describes it, “the enclosures of my human life had been opened. I had become more susceptible to the kindnesses of birds.”

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"This is a careful and insight-filled account of an old and vexing question: how to make sense of the relationship between man and beast. It's also quite a lovely book."--Bill McKibben, author of Deep Economy: The Wealth of Communities and the Durable Future

"Solitary Goose is a provocative, revelatory meditation on life, both human and wild. While telling the story of caring for a solitary, wounded goose who inhabits a pond near her home, Sydney Plum contemplates not only the resilience and fragility of migratory birds, but also our human place in the world—its separateness from the wild, and all the decisions, inconsistencies, longings, and intentions that separateness entails. Plum’s fine intelligence is evident everywhere in this beautifully written book, as is her passion and warmth."--Jane Brox, author of Clearing Land: Legacies of the American Farm

"In this delicately balanced story of one goose, Sydney Plum has crafted a thought-provoking essay exploring the complex relationship between humans and the natural world. I highly recommend it."--David Sibley, author of The Sibley Guide to Birds

“In the tradition of Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, Plum writes lyrical lessons on the life cycle of geese, the mystery of their great migratory patterns, and their amazing adaptability.”--Edgefield Advertiser

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780820334325
  • Publisher: University of Georgia Press
  • Publication date: 9/25/2009
  • Edition description: New Edition
  • Pages: 152
  • Product dimensions: 5.20 (w) x 8.10 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author


Sydney Landon Plum teaches English and creative writing at the University of Connecticut, Storrs. She is the editor of Coming through the Swamp.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents


Acknowledgments xi

Two Solitary Figures 1
Footprints 21
Th e Life of a Wild Goose 30
Ice 45
Never Underestimate the Animal 49
A Bird Who Cannot Fly 55
Wild Poems 69
Geese, Geese, Geese, Geese, Geese 80
Th e End of Gazing 98
Two Geese and a Duck on a Pond in Winter 107
To Hear Him Again 127

Notes 131

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)