Solo

Solo

4.0 3
by Emily Barr
     
 

Evie Silver appears to have it all. A semi-celebrity in the British tabloids, she’s known as much for her fame as a “lite” classical musician as for her own fabulous sense of style.
But this self-made diva is dissatisfied with her stale, safe marriage to her college sweetheart and her artistically shallow career. An extended trip to New York

Overview

Evie Silver appears to have it all. A semi-celebrity in the British tabloids, she’s known as much for her fame as a “lite” classical musician as for her own fabulous sense of style.
But this self-made diva is dissatisfied with her stale, safe marriage to her college sweetheart and her artistically shallow career. An extended trip to New York seems just the thing, but Evie’s problems in London make the transatlantic journey with her: the media demands on an emerging pop starlet; the increasing threats of a determined stalker; and a long kept secret that could ruin her image and all of the relationships she holds dear.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for Emily Barr’s novels:

“Barr’s voice is sharp and bright, her writing darkly funny.” —Washington Post Book World

“Gives the tired single-girl school of fiction a much-needed shot in the arm.” —Publishers Weekly

Library Journal
Barr (Backpack) is sure to please fans with this story of yet another heroine working through the psychological damage of a past trauma. Thirty-year-old Evie Silverman is a semifamous British cellist who relies on her blonde good looks as much as on her musical ability. At the book's outset, she decides to dump her husband but then strings him along just in case. This sets the tone for her behavior for much of the novel: Evie's actions are manipulative and shallow despite her carefully cultivated, charming facade. Fortunately, her problems-a recovered alcoholic father whose tendencies she may have inherited, a dark secret from her past, a stalker in her present, and the constant fear that she really isn't talented-are revealed early on, rendering her more sympathetic than grating. To top off her troubles, which lead her on a transatlantic journey to New York, her best friend is undergoing infertility treatment. A good choice for those who like their light fiction weighed down with some angst and issues, this book will appeal to fans of Anna Maxted or Marian Keyes. Recommended for all popular fiction collections.-Lisa Davis-Craig, Canton P.L., MI Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Cellist dumps hubby and tries for celebrity singledom, only to be chased by doubt, her past and a stalker. Barr may have done all she could with the backpacker genre (Cuba, 2003, etc.) so it's not surprising that she's upgrading (or downgrading) to mildly suspenseful chick-lit. The main problem here is that the suspenseful elements that served her well in previous travelogue fiction are ratcheted up to such a ludicrous extent that her novel's soil has been left rather bare and thin. Thirty-year-old Evie Silverman is a cellist of the pop sort-the kind who always appears somewhat undressed on her album photo and makes sure to cover pop tunes as well as the classical staples. And she's quite well known for it ("I am classical lite, through and through"), so it's to Fleet Street's delight when she rather brusquely dumps her husband after a well-received concert. Evie wastes no time moving into a new apartment, with a rather mousy and worshipful roommate, and making the party rounds, making sure that she's photographed about town in her favorite outfits. Just when her life is looking pretty peachy (her boyfriend is an 18-year-old pop star who follows her around puppy-doglike), though, Evie starts getting threatening stalker letters, anonymous of course. Wherein follows a lengthy jaunt to New York for a publicity tour, more letters, an agonizingly dull stretch about her best friend's attempt to be artificially impregnated, and a rather ridiculous denouement involving a secret from Evie's past and a laughably villainous high-school enemy. Barr quite definitively shows the limitations of her craft, as she takes a promisingly tart beginning and continually waters it down with verbiage, opaquemotivations, subpar suspense and a narrative as focused on the inner life of its amazingly narcissistic heroine as she is on herself. Initially fun, but shot and left for dead by a ludicrous pseudothriller angle.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780452285361
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/28/2005
Pages:
368
Product dimensions:
5.43(w) x 8.07(h) x 0.98(d)

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for Emily Barr’s novels:

“Barr’s voice is sharp and bright, her writing darkly funny.” —Washington Post Book World

“Gives the tired single-girl school of fiction a much-needed shot in the arm.” —Publishers Weekly

Meet the Author

Emily Barr has written columns and travel pieces for London's Observer and The Guardian. After traveling around Asia for a year, she settled back down in England to write novels. The author of Backpack and Baggage, Emily Barr lives with her husband and two-year-old son, Gabriel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Solo 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago