×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Solo
     

Solo

3.7 3
by Jill Mansell
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Mansell's...gentle humor and enormous heart always ensure a treat for her readers." -RT Book Reviews for Making Your Mind Up 4 Stars

It all starts at a party, as these things often do...

• A one-night stand with far-reaching consequences
• Momentarily enamored guests going home with all the wrong people
• An

Overview

"Mansell's...gentle humor and enormous heart always ensure a treat for her readers." -RT Book Reviews for Making Your Mind Up 4 Stars

It all starts at a party, as these things often do...

• A one-night stand with far-reaching consequences
• Momentarily enamored guests going home with all the wrong people
• An unfaithful wife struck by jealousy and getting a dose of her own medicine
• A shocking family secret revealed at the worst possible moment

One fling follows another, and now the whole community is embroiled in a great big web of deceit, the untangling of which will charm you, amuse you, make you laugh and make you cry.

Whatever's going on in your life, Solo by Jill Mansell is the perfect distraction right about now...

"A graceful blend of heartbreak, humor and redemptive love." -Kirkus for The Unexpected Consequences of Love

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781492632429
Publisher:
Sourcebooks
Publication date:
01/01/2017
Pages:
480
Sales rank:
60,831
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.30(d)

Meet the Author

With over 9 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella. She worked for many years at the Burden Neurological Hospital, Bristol, and now writes full time. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Solo 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
pagirl56 20 days ago
this book was first published by this author in 1991. I may be a "new" ebook but it is not a new release from this author.
gaele 21 days ago
3 stars – rounded up from 2.5 Usually a book from Jill Mansell is a must-grab for me as her stories are full of humor and heart, often with multiple characters that are compelling and intriguing. I was hoping for the same in this bad boy makes good story. Tessa is an artist, wholly different from her best friend Holly and completely unconcerned with the outward trappings of wealth, and not interested in a relationship. Holly is a bit more driven, focused, and completely convinced that Tessa needs a change, as well as wanting to further her own moments with her boss, Max. Max and Ross are brothers, also very different from one another. These two own an upscale hotel that Max manages, while Ross reaps the benefits in terms of status, wealth and his own little black book. A well-known playboy, Ross is wholly unsuitable for a relationship, but Tessa surprises herself with her attraction to him. She’s aware of what he is – and isn’t looking for more. So – if the book stopped here, I would have thought it felt a bit ‘written to request’ as the Billionaire Alpha Bad Boy Male trope is strong with Ross. And Tessa is just that right, slightly unfocused, not too bright but wholly supportive female friend that works for these stories. And then the wheels fell off the bus. Who, in their right mind (and YES – I know this is fiction – but let’s at least pay nodding acquaintance to sexual health and good practice. Tessa is, oh woe is me, pregnant. From a one night stand – with a renowned player with a history of women in his past. So, she moves down from not too bright to perhaps too stupid for words – but the story goes on. She’s going to raise the child Solo, with no interference or assistance from the father. In fact, she doesn’t want him told. Perhaps a noble move in some respects, but wholly selfish - and I hate this sort of trope. But, I soldiered on hoping that Ross would show me some reason to like him, that Mansell’s previous skill in character development, dialogue and interconnecting stories and people would save me. It didn’t. The book went from not for me to SO not for me: there was little character development, few moments of laughter or lightness, and I was left feeling as if the story was half-hearted. Flat and rather unispiring, I found Tessa insipid, Ross loathesome and while together Holly and Max were cute – there just wasn’t enough emotion or believability in any of them for me to care if their story ended happily. I struggled through to the end, but now struggle with my rating. Solid fans of Mansell may find this story entertaining and similar to Three Amazing Things About You. I thought this lacked the layered characters that brought that story to life. Perhaps not a first choice for a Mansell title, but fans who devour all her books are sure to like this. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
PegGlover 23 days ago
Solo is a story about painful consequences, unrequited love, betrayal, and adultery. This book deviates from Jill Mansell’s usual light and witty chick-lit novels. Although the subject matter is dark and distressing, the author’s talent for writing witty dialogue and funny circumstances substantially lightens up this story. Tessa’s life had turned upside-down since her one-night stand with Ross Monahan. She knew it had been a mistake. Ross was a notorious womanizer and now; unfortunately, she was pregnant by him. Ross; however, after discovering that Tessa was carrying his child, told her that he was a changed man and wanted to marry her. He ended a long-standing affair with Antonia, a beautiful but spiteful, selfish married woman. Antonia was not about to accept defeat, though; she would get her revenge. Antonia was committed to using whatever means necessary to destroy Ross’s relationship with Tessa. Holly, Tessa’s best friend, was eccentric and immature. She also had horrible taste in men. Holly was in love with Max Monahan, Ross’s brother. Max had no romantic interest in Holly. In fact, he found her irritating. Although the story is not entirely realistic, it’s well-written, heart-wrenching and infuriating. The characters are well-developed and captivating. Their stories come alive, demonstrating for the reader, the painful consequences of poor choices, secrets, lies, and betrayals. Many thanks to the publisher and NetGalley, for my advanced review copy of Solo.