Someone Else's Skin: Introducing Detective Inspector Marnie Rome [NOOK Book]

Overview

The debut of an exciting new series for fans of Sophie Hannah, Kate Atkinson, and Tana French



No two victims are alike.



DI Marnie Rome knows this better than most. Five years ago, her family home was the scene of a shocking and ...
See more details below
Someone Else's Skin: Introducing Detective Inspector Marnie Rome

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

The debut of an exciting new series for fans of Sophie Hannah, Kate Atkinson, and Tana French



No two victims are alike.



DI Marnie Rome knows this better than most. Five years ago, her family home was the scene of a shocking and bloody crime that left her parents dead and her foster brother in prison. Marnie doesn’t talk much about her personal life, preferring to focus on work. Not even her partner, DS Noah Jake, knows much about Marnie’s past. Though as one of the few gay officers on the force and half Jamaican to boot, Noah’s not one to overshare about his private life either. Now Marnie and Noah are tackling a case of domestic violence, and a different brand of victim.



Hope Proctor stabbed her husband in desperate self-defense. A crowd of witnesses in the domestic violence shelter where she’s staying saw it happen, but none of them are telling quite the same story, and the simple question remains: how did Leo Proctor get in to the secure shelter? Marnie and Noah shouldn’t even have been there when it happened but they were interviewing another resident, Ayana Mirza. They’re trying to get Ayana to testify against her brothers for pouring bleach on her face for bringing dishonor the family, and blinding her in one eye. But Ayana knows that her brothers are looking for her, and she has no doubt that they’ll kill her this time.



As the violence spirals, engulfing the residents of the women's shelter, Marnie finds herself drawn into familiar territory: A place where the past casts long shadows and she must tread carefully to survive.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
05/12/2014
In British author Hilary’s promising if uneven first novel, Det. Insp. Marnie Rome and her partner, Det. Sgt. Noah Jake, visit a rundown women’s shelter in North London, where they plan to get testimony from Ayana Mirza, a domestic abuse survivor. Instead, they stumble on another domestic abuse survivor, Hope Proctor, standing over her bleeding husband, Leo, bloody knife in hand. Rome is no stranger to violence—her foster brother murdered her parents—and the case seems an open and shut example of another possessive, violent husband finally pushing his wife too far. Nagging questions remain, such as how Leo got into what was supposed to be a secure facility, the safety of which is further cast into doubt when Hope vanishes and Ayana’s abuser kidnaps her. Hilary can be heavy-handed in establishing Rome’s character and backstory, but she skillfully interweaves multiple viewpoints on the way to the mystery’s unsettling conclusion. Agent: Jane Gregory, Gregory & Company Authors Agents (U.K.). (July)
From the Publisher
"A truly engrossing read from an exceptional new talent" —-Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls
Kirkus Reviews
2014-06-05
Intertwined cases of battered women lead a detective on a journey of self-discovery.When DI Marnie Rome investigates the case of a man whose left hand was chopped off by a scimitar, she and her partner, DS Noah Jake, discover that the person of interest in the crime, Narif Mirza, has a sister in a women’s refuge. Ayana Mirza is blind in one eye because Narif and her other brothers threw bleach in her face for dishonoring the family, and she’s hiding from them in the shelter. While Marnie and Noah are interviewing her as a witness to her brother’s violence, one of the other women in hiding, Hope Proctor, gets an unwelcome visitor, her husband, Leo, who sneaks in a knife that Hope uses to stab him. Much as Noah despises Leo, he saves his life, and both Hope and Leo are rushed to the hospital. When Hope finds out that her husband will live, she leaves with her friend Simone Bissell, another abuse victim, who was held captive for a year in a basement room. Then Ayana’s brothers kidnap her from the refuge, and Marnie has to find the missing victims with the help of Victim Support worker Ed Belloc; at the same time, she’s dealing with the ongoing effects of her parents’ murders five years ago. Her foster brother stabbed them to death when he was 14, and Marnie has been visiting him over the years in hopes of understanding why he did it. A violent act of revenge leaves her feelings, including her attraction to Ed, in even greater turmoil. And her failure to share a startling discovery about one of the abusers threatens the life of someone close to her in this dense and disturbing tale.Although Hilary’s debut weaves a knotty plot and then drops threads along the way, Marnie’s courage and her determination to help the abuse victims create a strong center.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780698151154
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 6/24/2014
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 416
  • Sales rank: 64,405
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author


Sarah Hilary lives with her husband and daughter in Bath, where she writes copy for a well-known travel publisher. She has also worked as a bookseller, and with the Royal navy. An award-winning short story writer, Sarah won the Cheshire Prize for Literature in 2012. SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN is her first novel.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)