Someone Knows

Someone Knows

4.0 4
by Karen Young
     
 

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal - Library Journal
Valerie Olivier-Long, award-winning magazine editor, has a secret life. Twenty years earlier, she was Caroline Weston, a scared teenager living with a pimp. When her best friend died in childbirth, Caroline took the baby and, with the help of a maverick nun, raised the child as her own. But now, Valerie is getting messages that someone knows who she really is. Worse yet, the stalker is ruthlessly killing people she loves and makes it clear that Valerie herself is a target. Meanwhile, Valerie is mending her relationship with Jordan Case, her new boss, who soon finds himself in the role of her protector as well as her lover. Young skillfully mixes romance with edge-of-your-seat suspense in this dark nail-biter. Fans of Karen Robards and Kay Hooper will enjoy this book. Young lives in Pearland, TX. Shelley Mosley, Glendale P.L., AZ Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780821768297
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
03/01/2002
Pages:
384
Product dimensions:
4.66(w) x 6.48(h) x 1.06(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Someone Knows 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of romantic suspense and find Karen Young to be one of the top authors in this category. In this book, Someone Knows, Ms. Young has written a much darker book than her more current ones (and those from her past). I think she has a real talent for writing stories about women who are faced with some pretty awful scenarios in life and manage to overcome their challenges. This author has been around for a long time for a reason.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's good , but I've read some better mystery books .
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this book very much and it is very suspensfull , and mysterious , but something just wasn't perfect when I finished reading it . I thought about and found out what it was , I compared Karen Young with Jeff Abbott since they are both mystery novel authors . I figured that Jeff Abbott was better in my opinion , he was perfect , and Karen Young was not , so If I grade " Someone Knows " 5 stars , then Ineed to give Jeff Abbott 7 stars , and that wouldn't be fair , so that is how I came up with 3 stars .
Guest More than 1 year ago
A few years ago college student Charlie Case got his girl friend Sara Long pregnant. The couple talked of marriage, but his father Jordan interceded and said no. Unable to buck his father, the twenty-one year old Charlie acquiesced. Not long afterward, teenage Sara miscarried. Her mother Valerie blamed Jordan for the tragedy.

Valerie is delighted abouther promotion to editor-in-chief of Manhattan¿s Panache magazine until her boss drops the other shoe. The drawback is that Jordan has also been hired by the holding company Kurtz-Whitman to oversee the directions of all the magazines including Panache. Valerie will work for the person she hates most in the world. However, Valerie soon has a more dangerous problem to cope with. Someone knows her New Orleans street kid roots and is methodically ripping her present life asunder. With Jordan at her side, Valerie must face a shocker from her past if she is to have any future.

Karen Young furbishes readers with a strong romantic suspense that is filled with varying causes of tensions that tie back together. The story line emphasizes the suspense as Valerie struggles with the resurfacing of her demons that could cost her everything she cherishes in life. The growing love between Jordan and Valerie as well as that between their children is cleverly designed to enable the audience to better understand the lead couple and appreciate Valerie¿s peril. SOMEONE KNOWS will lead to everyone knows how good an author Ms. Young is.

Harriet Klausner