×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life
  • Alternative view 1 of Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life
  • Alternative view 2 of Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life
     

Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life

2.8 19
by Lisa Kogan
 

See All Formats & Editions

“[Kogan’s] wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all.” — Martha Beck, author of Expecting Adam and Finding Your Own North Star

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy

Overview

“[Kogan’s] wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all.” — Martha Beck, author of Expecting Adam and Finding Your Own North Star

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy. If David Sedaris were a girl... this is the book he’d write.” — Evan Handler, author of It's Only Temporary

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a collection of the hilarious and poignant essays from beloved O Magazine columnist Lisa Kogan. Writing in the vein of Nora Ephron, Kogan has been called "the Erma Bombeck of our generation" (Kelly Corrigan, author of The Middle Place and Lift). In Someone Will Be with You Shortly, she brings her trademark humor to such real-life quandaries as single motherhood, aging, and sex.

Editorial Reviews

Time Out New York
“Kogan delivers stylish and funny meditations on being a single mom, Rush Limbaugh, modern media and much more. There’s laughter here, sure, but this book winningly rises above comedy to reveal a moving love of life.”
Booklist
“If Lisa Kogan didn’t exist, Nora Ephron would have to invent her. In essays that disarm and delight, Kogan’s take on contemporary living is as irrepressibly savvy as a Prada diaper bag, as reassuringly satisfying as a PB-and-J sandwich.”
O magazine
“Kogan’s riffs on motherhood, politics, relationships, and life itself are what we wish we’d said, only sharper and funnier. This is good stuff.”
Elle
“It’s no mystery why O magazine’s Lisa Kogan is a beloved columnist. She’s self-deprecating enough to be easily relatable, whimsical enough to be reliably entertaining, and clever enough to disguise a gut-socking revelation.”
Redbook Magazine
“In delectable bite-size essays, humor columnist Kogan casts an all-seeing eye on the annoying and hilarious idiosyncrasies of contemporary life.”
First for Women
“The ultimate summer read—engrossing yet light and fun. From page one you’ll be laughing as the author shares her smile-inducing anecdotes.”
O Magazine
"Kogan’s riffs on motherhood, politics, relationships, and life itself are what we wish we’d said, only sharper and funnier. This is good stuff."
Martha Beck
“Her wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all. Buy it, if not to keep Lisa writing, then as an investment in your own happiness. God knows you deserve one fail-safe investment.”
Amy Hempel
“Lisa Kogan has a singularly humane stance as she makes comic sense of the annoying and baffling facts of life. The inventor of ‘the dessert potato’ has made me laugh for years–she’s been a comfort, too.”
Kelly Corrigan
“Lisa Kogan might just be the Erma Bombeck of our generation. Sassy, blunt, and so damn true.”
Amy Dickinson
“Lisa Kogan is the intellectual and creative love child of Noel Coward and Loretta Lynn. Someone Will Be With You Shortly is a hilarious, honest and tender chronical of everyday life as most of us really live it. Lisa Kogan sings all the right grace notes with absolutely perfect pitch.”
Evan Handler
“Lisa Kogan’s Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy. If David Sedaris were a girl (who’d had her pocket book licked by a stranger on Lexington Avenue) this is the book he'd write.”
Peggy Orenstein
“I admit it. I’m a big, drooling Lisa Kogan groupie. I’d read the ingredients on a cereal box if I thought she’d written them. She is funny, wise, compelling, loveable, fallible…So a whole book by her? What heaven!!”
Peter Smith
“Lisa Kogan’s Someone Will Be with You Shortly is like curling up with your best, crabbiest, kindest, wisest, most singular friend on earth.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061735035
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
03/01/2011
Pages:
198
Sales rank:
208,139
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.60(d)

What People are Saying About This

Evan Handler
“Lisa Kogan’s Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy. If David Sedaris were a girl (who’d had her pocket book licked by a stranger on Lexington Avenue) this is the book he¹d write.”
Amy Hempel
“Lisa Kogan has a singularly humane stance as she makes comic sense of the annoying and baffling facts of life. The inventor of ‘the dessert potato’ has made me laugh for yearsshe’s been a comfort, too.”
Kelly Corrigan
“Lisa Kogan might just be the Erma Bombeck of our generation. Sassy, blunt, and so damn true.”
Peter Smith
“Lisa Kogan’s Someone Will Be with You Shortly is like curling up with your best, crabbiest, kindest, wisest, most singular friend on earth.”
Amy Dickinson
“Lisa Kogan is the intellectual and creative love child of Noel Coward and Loretta Lynn. Someone Will Be With You Shortly is a hilarious, honest and tender chronical of everyday life as most of us really live it. Lisa Kogan sings all the right grace notes with absolutely perfect pitch.”
Martha Beck
“Her wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all. Buy it, if not to keep Lisa writing, then as an investment in your own happiness. God knows you deserve one fail-safe investment.”
Peggy Orenstein
“I admit it. I’m a big, drooling Lisa Kogan groupie. I’d read the ingredients on a cereal box if I thought she’d written them. She is funny, wise, compelling, loveable, fallible…So a whole book by her? What heaven!!”

Meet the Author

Lisa Kogan is the writer-at-large for O, The Oprah Magazine. She lives in New York City with her seven-year-old daughter.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life 2.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! So clever and hilarious -- I found myself laughing out loud many times. A definite must for any mother, New Yorker, friend, woman, or fan of life!
McGuffyAnn More than 1 year ago
Lisa Kogan's observations on being a woman, on motherhood, and life in general are funny, honest and I think relatable, for most women today. The essays have thought and purpose, as well as humor. Lisa tells her story in bits and pieces, with a sharp, keen wit. She tells of her life in New York, from dating, working, motherhood, and even personal tales such as health issues. There is even a bit of politics that can be taken however the reader chooses. The final product is a funny, charming little memoir of humorist essays.
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Lisa Kogan is a forty-nine year old single mother who was blessed at 42 with a little girl. She spent her early life "growing out bangs, searching for a good bra, and wishing she was skinny." She now faces a reality where there is such a thing as shapely clothes even though gravity is not a friend. The love of her life is a man who automatically knows that when she tries to cook a chicken for Thanksgiving that a brochure from the Poison Control Center should be held by a super-sized magnet on the fridge, and instinctively reacts to her questions about life with, "Have you lost weight?" The man of her dreams has given her a stepson, and even though he lives overseas eight months out of the year, they are true soul mates (even though no ring has been placed on her finger). However, she speaks about love in the sense of camaraderie, friendship, and balance - a person who holds you up and loves you at all times and whose favorite author is not the guy who wrote "Pull Tab to Open" on the top of a can of beer. Lisa delves into motherhood and how it was incredibly hard to have a child, let alone to actually raise it. From essays on the first birthday to the making of blueberry muffins (out of a box so that she can actually hear her grandmother rolling over in her grave), every single word that this woman has put on paper will have readers smiling, laughing out loud, or nodding their head in acceptance and understanding of what a fragile thing life really is. She is a believer that for every bad there is a good and for every pro there is a con, but also lets the reader know that she isn't picky. In fact, there was a time when she would have "dated Ted Bundy as long as it was in a well-lit public place." She believes in urban legends about the romantic men out there in the world, like DiCaprio giving up his side of the door and freezing his behind off so that his love could have her heart go on after the Titanic sank, but remains the sensible woman who has no idea what a bodice is but certainly doesn't want it to be ripped. And, above all, the essays that offer the truly emotional are something that will bring every reader to tears. There is that part of her that still wishes one night she hadn't been in a hurry to go to a party and instead had stayed home and listened to her Grandmother's stories, instead of coming home and realizing that Grandma's trip to the hospital that night would be the last time she ever saw the woman who could've taught her so much. She loves her dysfunctional family, and makes sure that every time her daughter speaks she lays down on the bed and doesn't miss a moment of time or one single word that comes flowing out of her child's mouth...because there are certain times in life we will never get back. From the "flambe" incident where she learned that she may not be the best party thrower because some of her friends are still angry that their eyebrows haven't grown back, to the pain and hardship and complete joy of being a single parent, this author has completely "nailed it," saying everything that we all want to say but can't quite put into words. Quill Says: Any and all out there who are interested in a fresh, savvy, fantastically hilarious point of view on life and all that it has to offer (and take away) will truly love this book.
Anonymous 8 months ago
This book was an enjoyable read as I recovered from surgery. I used a throw pillow to protect my incision while I laughed out loud.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago