Someone You Know (Lucy Black Series #2)

Someone You Know (Lucy Black Series #2)

3.4 36
by Brian McGilloway
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

All three parts in one volume!

From the author of New York Times bestseller Little Girl Lost, this unforgettable and moving thriller is perfect for fans of Tana French and Dennis Lehane. (Released in the UK as Hurt.)

Just before Christmas, the body of a sixteen-year-old girl is found along the train tracks on the outskirts of a

…  See more details below

Overview

All three parts in one volume!

From the author of New York Times bestseller Little Girl Lost, this unforgettable and moving thriller is perfect for fans of Tana French and Dennis Lehane. (Released in the UK as Hurt.)

Just before Christmas, the body of a sixteen-year-old girl is found along the train tracks on the outskirts of a small town. As Detective Lucy Black investigates the teenager's tragic last hours in search of clues to her death, she realizes that some of the victim's friends may have been her most dangerous enemies—and that whoever killed her is ready to kill again. Haunted by the memory of a case gone wrong, and taunted by a killer on the loose, Lucy finds herself pitted against a lethal opponent hiding in plain sight.

From an author described by John Connolly as "a major force" in suspense literature, Someone You Know is one of the most atmospheric, powerful thrillers you'll read all year.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062336705
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/20/2014
Series:
Lucy Black Series , #2
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
6,018
File size:
658 KB

Meet the Author

Brian McGilloway is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Inspector Benedict Devlin and DS Lucy Black series. He lives near the Irish borderlands with his wife, daughter, and three sons.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Someone You Know (Lucy Black Series #2) 3.4 out of 5 based on 2 ratings. 36 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best new (to me) author I've read this year.
binglebella More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. This is book 2 from the series- Must read the first to truly enjoy the second one!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, great plot though not sure how I feel about Lucy's decision in the end. Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read! Kept my attention to the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read several of the Lucy Black books. Lucy is a constable leutinent in England. This across the pond book is 300 pages and well edited. It is part of a series. It is a series about England which I enjoy. I think I may have missed one or two books between this one and the last one I read as Cooper, who played an extremely minor role in this book, was a major player in the others, also Lucy's sister was non existant, as was Lucy's partner, Malcom, she also had a new title. Some of the English slang and other referrals are still throwing me for a loop. I wish these books came with an index. The books are non graphic in description and this one included arson, a teenage gang rioting,, murder, violence, drug use, smooking, truancy, alcohalism, kidnapping, child abuse, under age sex and prostitution. There was no romance, cursing, gay or lesbians or religion in this installment. This series of books is very well thought out. There plenty of twists, turns and action to reader engrossed. Lucy is a bit of a smart alec and does not seem to have many emotions. I was pleasantly surprized when she showed a litle bit more humanity in this novel. I really missed Cooper, he has always been my favorite character and Malcom was good for a few laughs. This book was about teenagers and how the social media on the internet can be dangerous. It is not chick lit nor rooster lit, it is the type of book everyone in the chicken coop can enjoy. From pullets (teens) on up. If you enjoy reading English mysteries, then this series of books is for you. The endings, while satisfactory, always leave the reader hanging just a little bit, so the next book will be purchased. Which is why I rated them at four stars. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you for putting the number of pages in your review.I've been on a mission of late,asking everyone to please do this and how much people appreciate it.For now this is the only way we will know.Thanks again and I hope everyone will also do the same!!~~~~~~Granny B.
Sunflower9900 More than 1 year ago
First time reading this author. I liked the book and the characters he created. Of course the main character Lucy was a favorite. In fact I am now reading 'Little Girl Lost' which is another Lucy Black thriller. I'm always looking for new authors, and he didn't disappoint. So I do recommend this book to others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my second McGilloway novel and I will read the next one.
REID324 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the way in which this story was written, although I must say I do not know the Irish history as much as would have been good to fathom the ending. This is a no-nonsense, no-romantic book, a good read. I don't think I will read another by the author as I guess I am too American to sort through the Irish jargon one should know. My flow got interrupted continually trying to figure out some of the unfamiliar words. But it was good if you are smarter than I am.
Anonymous 9 days ago
Anonymous 22 days ago
otterly More than 1 year ago
Can't find the review--may not have read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Edge of your seat story. I couldn't pu5 this book down,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Northern Ireland Police story. Good Plot, good characters, well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting, but primarily as an object lesson of what happens when a criminal popukace has all the power and the poluce none. Policing in Britain has been largely emasculated, and nowhere eorse than Ireland. Most if tbepeople in this book should have been arrested, but they feel perfectly safe assaulting police and knowing they'll be too afraid of stirring up the belligerant populace to charge them. Really disgusting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting female protagonist but she is too immature.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good book but I can't seem to stay with it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book 3, of 3 great suspense's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Construction of this tale. if you can not manage a creative take on a standard classic mystery without grafic violence detailed to provide padding fillers and general smut why try to write. You have to increase the grafics with each book to hold the attention of the perverse while losing the disgusted reader
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago