BN.com Gift Guide

Sometimes I Forget You're a Robot [NOOK Book]

Overview

For fans of Todd Parr and Oliver Jeffers comes this debut picture book about a boy and his robot friend from the creator of the popular crowd-sourced comic blog, explodingdog.com

For a little boy who’s always dreamed of having his own robot, actually getting one isn’t what he expected at all. The robot can’t fly, or swim, or even talk. All he does is beep beep beep like a ...
See more details below

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK Kids for iPad

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (NOOK Kids)
$10.99
BN.com price

Overview

For fans of Todd Parr and Oliver Jeffers comes this debut picture book about a boy and his robot friend from the creator of the popular crowd-sourced comic blog, explodingdog.com

For a little boy who’s always dreamed of having his own robot, actually getting one isn’t what he expected at all. The robot can’t fly, or swim, or even talk. All he does is beep beep beep like a toy. But his robot does have some hidden talents—and one of them is being a great friend.

In this unexpectedly poignant story about adjusting expectations, Sam Brown shows that while no one is perfect, a good friend sure comes close.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
09/23/2013
It’s a dream come true when a huge red robot lands in a boy’s backyard. That elation sours when the boy discovers that the robot can’t fly to the moon or swim to the ocean floor. “All you do is ‘beep, beep, beep’ like a toy,” the boy grouses. A more meaningful friendship emerges, however, when the robot demonstrates its considerable construction talents by helping the boy build a certifiably super treehouse. Debut author Brown has a strong sense of color and composition, a powerful stylus line, and a thoughtful aesthetic that will be familiar to fans of his Web site, explodingdog.com. The boy, a sticklike figure with huge eyes and a gaping mouth, is all raw emotion and energy, while the robot, which is made up of several red boxes, offers a more grounded sense of the world. Brown can’t resist imparting a lesson to readers, but he has a light touch, and the message is a good one: when you value others for who they are, rather than who you want them to be, you’ll be pleasantly surprised. Ages 3–5. Agent: Stephen Barr, Writers House. (Oct.)
School Library Journal
K-Gr 1—With each passing jet or shooting star, a young boy wishes that it were a robot, coming to land in his backyard. One night, a large, red robot begins beeping outside his window. Immediately the boy wants to travel to space or explore the oceans, but the machine cannot do either of these things. It merely repeats its "beep beep." Disgusted, the boy claims the robot isn't real at all and probably can't even help him finish his tree house. But it does, and the boy learns that perceptions can change. While it might have limitations, this robot can become a true friend. Brown's geometric style of artwork offers a childlike interpretation of the objects in the text. The boy, an exaggerated stick figure, lives in a minimal rectangular house with simple pines in the background and five-pointed, misshapen stars in the sky. Colors are vivid, and the text appears handwritten, perpetuating the primary-grade sketchbook quality of the illustrations. While this picture book might be appealing at first, it lacks the charm to sustain multiple readings.—Carol Connor, Cincinnati Public Schools, OH
Kirkus Reviews
A little boy, endearingly rendered as a stick figure, wishes for a robot to land in his backyard. Well, what kid wouldn't, even if the kid didn't have a head the shape and brightness of a full moon, a postage stamp for a body, sticks for limbs and a goofy smile a yard long? Every time he sees a jet in the sky or a shooting star, he hopes it is bringing him a robot, "going ‘beep, beep, beep' as he takes me on an adventure." One appears, of course, adding more cubic yardage to the boy's smile. The robot is physically impressive--gargantuan in that robotic way, painted a red so saturated it feels wet--but short on the grand-adventure front. He can't fly or swim, though he can go "beep," and he can help the little moonhead build his treehouse. Together, they hammer and paint, and the robot is strong, holding up support beams as well as his new friend--wherein lies the point: You don't have to be with a superhero to have a magical time. Brown sends the message easily, not hammering it home like one of the treehouse's boards but allowing it to be organic to the story. And his artwork, with its chalky lines brokenly etched in the planes of big color, calls up that sense of surprise. A smart take on the strangeness of friendship. (Picture book. 3-5)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780698142367
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 10/17/2013
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: NOOK Kids
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 3 - 5 Years
  • File size: 8 MB

Meet the Author


Sam Brown is the creative talent behind the successful interactive art project explodingdog.com, a website which has been up for over a decade and has been featured in the New York Times and USA Today, among other publications. Brown lives in West Hartford, Connecticut, with his wife and two children.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)