×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Song of the Lion
     

Song of the Lion

by Anne Hillerman
 

See All Formats & Editions

A deadly bombing takes Navajo Tribal cops Bernadette Manuelito, Jim Chee, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, back into the past to find a vengeful killer in this riveting Southwestern mystery from the bestselling author of Spider Woman’s Daughter and Rock with Wings.

When a car bomb kills a young man in the Shiprock

Overview

A deadly bombing takes Navajo Tribal cops Bernadette Manuelito, Jim Chee, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, back into the past to find a vengeful killer in this riveting Southwestern mystery from the bestselling author of Spider Woman’s Daughter and Rock with Wings.

When a car bomb kills a young man in the Shiprock High School parking lot, Officer Bernadette Manuelito discovers that the intended victim was a mediator for a multi-million-dollar development planned at the Grand Canyon.

But what seems like an act of ecoterrorism turns out to be something far more nefarious and complex. Piecing together the clues, Bernadette and her husband, Sergeant Jim Chee, uncover a scheme to disrupt the negotiations and inflame tensions between the Hopi and Dine tribes.

Retired Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn has seen just about everything in his long career. As the tribal police’s investigation unfolds, he begins to suspect that the bombing may be linked to a cold case he handled years ago. As he, Bernadette, and Chee carefully pull away the layers behind the crime, they make a disturbing discovery: a meticulous and very patient killer with a long-simmering plan of revenge.

Writing with a clarity and grace that is all her own, Anne Hillerman depicts the beauty and mystery of Navajo Country and the rituals, myths, and customs of its people in a mystery that builds on and complements the beloved, bestselling mysteries of her acclaimed father, Tony Hillerman.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
01/23/2017
At the start of Hillerman’s thoughtful third Southwestern mystery (after 2015’s Rock with Wings), a bomb detonates in the parking lot of Shiprock High School, where police officer Bernadette “Bernie” Manuelito is looking forward to watching an alumni basketball game in the gym. Bernie discovers a gravely injured man at the scene, but it seems the real target was Aza Palmer, a lawyer scheduled to mediate a meeting among Native Americans, environmentalists, and others to discuss a controversial proposed resort on Navajo land. Bernie’s husband, Sgt. Jim Chee, is assigned to guard the reluctant Palmer and navigate the tricky waters of protesters and residents with different tribal affiliations, languages, and concerns. Meanwhile, Bernie consults veteran investigator Joe Leaphorn, who has contributions to make to the case during his ongoing recovery from a serious gunshot wound. Though seasoned mystery readers may guess the perpetrator before the tense denouement, the book offers insights on the strength of family ties and the possibilities of redemption after a history of pain. Agent: Elizabeth Trupin-Pulli, JET Literary Associates. (Apr.)
Library Journal
02/01/2017
Last seen in Rock with Wings, Bernadette Manuelito, a Navajo police officer and Shiprock High School alum, is on the scene when a car bomb explodes in the school parking lot during a basketball game. A young man is killed, but was the intended victim really the car's owner—a Navajo lawyer working as a mediator for a multimillion-dollar development planned at the Grand Canyon? As Officer Manuelito studies the evidence, her husband, Sgt. Jim Chee, has his hands full guarding mediator Palmer, who appears to be hiding information. Bernie discusses the case with retired lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, who is reminded of one of his cold cases that involved two small children on the reservation. As the facts present themselves, the case unwinds to reveal what appears to be a complicated paradigm of revenge against Palmer and his family. VERDICT Fans of Leaphorn, Chee, and Manuelito, characters created by the author's father, Tony Hillerman, will savor this multilayered story of suspense, with its background of contemporary environmental vs. development issues. [See Prepub Alert, 10/17/16.]—Patricia Ann Owens, formerly with Illinois Eastern Community Colls., Mt. Carmel
Kirkus Reviews
2017-02-05
Tribal divisions cause tensions that result in a car bomb—or is the motive something closer to home?The world around Navajo Police Officer Bernadette Manuelito is literally rocked while she watches the annual alumni basketball game at local Shiprock High School, and it isn't because of the talent on the court. When Bernie goes to the parking lot to inspect the apparent sonic boom, she finds that a car has exploded, presumably the result of an improvised device. Though she's been attending the game while off duty, Bernie kicks into work mode and tries to keep attendees safe while simultaneously investigating. When things settle down and she's able to return home to her husband, fellow officer Jim Chee, he's the one who has to work the case. The car's owner is Aza Palmer, a mediator working on some tensions between the Hopi and Diné tribes out in Tuba City, and Chee serves as an informal bodyguard to Palmer in the midst of the tense talks. Chee can't wait for the assignment to end because Palmer's in no mood to be guarded despite being otherwise friendly, and both Chee and Bernie know things will go back to normal once they crack this case. The secret may lie in the failing memory of former Lt. Joe Leaphorn, friend and mentor to both Chee and Bernie and a character whose link to the past could break the case open. The latest from Hillerman (Rock with Wings, 2015, etc.) continues worldbuilding in a tale that will reward long-term readers.
Booklist
“Hillerman seamlessly blends tribal lore and custom into a well-directed plot, continuing in the spirit of her late father, Tony, by keeping his characters (like Chee) in the mix, but still establishing Manuelito as the main player in what has become a fine legacy series.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062391902
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/11/2017
Series:
A Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel Series
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
54,319
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.97(d)

Meet the Author

Anne Hillerman is an award-winning reporter, the author of several nonfiction books and the New York Times bestselling novel Spider Woman's Daughter, and the daughter of New York Times bestselling author Tony Hillerman. She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.