SonoSings [Barnes & Noble Exclusive]

( 7 )
This CD is Not Available through

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/15/2009
  • Label: Verve
  • UPC: 602527180922
  • Catalog Number: 001340002


Disc 1
  1. 1 Re: Stacks (4:46)
  2. 2 Everything in Its Right Place (4:09)
  3. 3 Gravity (3:54)
  4. 4 I Want You Back (3:38)
  5. 5 Again and Again (2:20)
  6. 6 Little Bird (4:22)
  7. 7 Come Here Boy (3:49)
  8. 8 Enjoy the Silence (3:32)
  9. 9 Bittersweet (4:48)
  10. 10 Oh What a World (4:10)
  11. 11 Joga (4:46)
  12. 12 White Winter Hymnal (2:31)
  13. 13 Hold On (4:08)
  14. 14 The Opposite Side of the Sea (1:58)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Sonos Primary Artist
Rachel Bearer Group Member
Jessica Freedman Group Member
Ben Mclain Group Member
Paul Peglar Group Member
Technical Credits
Gabriel Mann Producer
Hugo Vereker Producer
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010


    Unbelievable sound! Fantastic choices of songs, sung masterfully in a modern, cool harmony.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous new vocal group!

    This is an AMAZING debut of a phenomenally talented and creative group of musicians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sonos Bonus

    The best vocal music Ive heard, period. First played on the radio at LA"s KCRW, their sound has completely obsessed me this year. They take songs you've heard a million times (Jackson 5, Radiohead, Depeche Mode) and reinvent them with an utterly compelling mood and twist. Then there are those you've never head before e.g. Bon Iver's "Re: Stacks" that are so beautiful, you hit repeat 50 times, write absurd Facbook love notes to the singers, then go explore the original artist also. This is just a spectacular breath of fresh air. And this B&N edition seems to be the best value -- with 2 bonus tracks, one featuring vocal percussionist Ben on his first lead (I read on their myspace site) and another recorded live at KCRW; never heard song before, it's Eleanor Rigbyesque and LIVE! you won't believe it. Favorite songs White Winter Hymnal and I Want You Back.... then theres the early Imogen Heap cover... hmmmm.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kinda Boring, actually.

    Meh. This album tries hard, but ends up laying there like so much fish. It's not a bad record by any stretch of the imagination, and it's good background music...but when I play a CD, I want to focus on the music, rather than feel my attention drifting in and out of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great original new voices

    Delicious arrangements, great voices made all the more magical when you know that the voice is the only instrument on the whole collection. The reunion with Sarah Bareillis on her piece "Gravity" is an added bonus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sonos Reinvents Indie Gems

    This is simply wonderful music. Sonos has taken a dip into the rich pool of music found in the über hip indie scene and applied their vocal magic to create reinventions of the originals that will paint elaborate images in your mind. This music points to the fact that composers of wonderful music may not necessarily be the best performers of their creations. (Think Burt Bacharach versus Dionne Warwick.) The rich, complex, dynamic arrangements created by Sonos in this album beg for another listen, and another , and another. There is a wonderful interview at this link that will give you a better picture of what Sonos is all about:
    The best way to appreciate what they have done is to buy the album and immerse yourself in their world. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews