×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Southern Secrets: Susan Gabriel Southern Fiction Box Set
     

Southern Secrets: Susan Gabriel Southern Fiction Box Set

4.5 2
by Susan Gabriel
 
Southern fiction lovers will enjoy this exclusive two book box set from acclaimed Southern author Susan Gabriel. It features two of her most popular novels, Temple Secrets and The Secret Sense of Wildflower (a Kirkus Review Best Book of 2012 and a Nook #1 bestseller). Save 33% off the separate ebooks and 66% off the paperback prices!

Temple

Overview

Southern fiction lovers will enjoy this exclusive two book box set from acclaimed Southern author Susan Gabriel. It features two of her most popular novels, Temple Secrets and The Secret Sense of Wildflower (a Kirkus Review Best Book of 2012 and a Nook #1 bestseller). Save 33% off the separate ebooks and 66% off the paperback prices!

Temple Secrets

Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed writer, Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Best Book of 2012 by Kirkus Reviews).

Every family has secrets, but the elite Temple family of Savannah has more than most. To maintain their influence, they've been documenting the indiscretions of other prestigious southern families, dating as far back as the Civil War. When someone begins leaking these tantalizing tidbits to the newspaper, the entire city of Savannah, Georgia is rocking with secrets.

The current keeper of the secrets and matriarch of the Temple clan is Iris, a woman of unpredictable gastrointestinal illnesses and an extra streak of meanness that even the ghosts in the Temple mansion avoid. When Iris unexpectedly dies, the consequences are far flung and significant, not only to her family--who get in line to inherit the historic family mansion--but to Savannah itself.

At the heart of the story is Old Sally, an expert in Gullah folk magic, who some suspect cast a voodoo curse on Iris. At 100 years of age, Old Sally keeps a wise eye over the whole boisterous business of secrets and the settling of Iris's estate.

In the Temple family, nothing is as it seems, and everyone has a secret.

"The secrets and lies of Savannah, Georgia's upper crust come to light in Gabriel's Southern Gothic novel. Gabriel unfolds her story deftly, with well-paced revelations about the complicated relationships between the mansion's white and black inhabitants...Gabriel also evokes the Spanish moss–covered atmosphere of ghost-filled Savannah, and the Temple mansion in particular, with satisfying spookiness...The author's thoughtfulness about masters and slaves, employers and servants, and family relations also contributes to a satisfying read. Savannah's atmosphere, culture, and history flavor this engaging tale of intertwined families." – Kirkus Reviews

The Secret Sense of Wildflower

The Secret Sense of Wildflower earned a coveted Starred Review from Kirkus Reviews and was named by Kirkus as a Best Books of 2012.

Set in 1940s Appalachia, The Secret Sense of Wildflower tells the story of Louisa May "Wildflower" McAllister whose life has been shaped around the recent death of her beloved father in a sawmill accident. While her mother hardens in her grief, Wildflower and her three sisters must cope with their loss themselves, as well as with the demands of daily survival.

Despite these hardships, Wildflower has a resilience that is forged with humor, a love of the land, and an endless supply of questions to God, who she isn't so sure she agrees with. When Johnny Monroe, the town's teenage ne'er-do-well, sets his sights on Wildflower, she must draw on the strength of her relations, both living and dead, to deal with his threat.

With prose as lush and colorful as the American South, The Secret Sense of Wildflower is powerful and poignant, brimming with energy and angst, humor and hope.

Get two great southern novels for one great price!

Product Details

BN ID:
2940151131452
Publisher:
Wild Lily Arts
Publication date:
10/14/2015
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
366,680
File size:
3 MB

Meet the Author

Susan Gabriel is an acclaimed writer who lives in the mountains of North Carolina. Her novel, The Secret Sense of Wildflower, is a #1 Nook bestseller and was named a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2012.

She is also the author of Temple Secrets and other novels. Discover more about Susan at SusanGabriel.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Southern Secrets: Susan Gabriel Southern Fiction Box Set 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
MountainBlues More than 1 year ago
This two book set gives many days of reading enjoyment. The books are both very well written, but have quite different settings (one in the Appalachian mountains and the other on the Georgia seacoast) and story lines. The Secret Sense of Wildflower is a great story with great writing. The novel is set in 1940's Appalachia and is full of humor mixed in with a serious theme. Wildflower (her nickname) is a spunky teen whose beloved father died a year or so ago and she and her mother and three sisters forge their way without their man. A local boy, Johnny Monroe is one of those mountain cretins you don't want to meet and he and Wildflower have a dramatic encounter. I don't want to reveal the storyline, but I recommend this to those who are tired of badly written novels and want a lyrical, suspenseful story that is hard to forget. Southern literary fiction at its best! Temple Secrets is a meaty Southern Gothic novel. It’s well written, teaches me a few things and makes me - at various points - laugh out loud and cry. I tend to be one of those people who laugh silently, but I burst out with a few in this book! The story is narrated by four women: Queenie, Violet, Rose and Old Sally. These women, black and white, have a lot of shared family history and to varying extent, genes. Queenie is hilarious. Violet, her niece, has some psychic abilities inherited from Old Sally, her grandmother and the wise holder of the Gullah traditions. Rose is the estranged daughter of Iris Temple, the matriarch of this entrenched, elite Savannah family. I don’t want to try to summarize the plot (hint: it has to do with secrets!). But this wonderful novel will leave you feeling satisfied.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do not miss this book . You will want to take up residence in this story.