×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Spartan Frost
     

Spartan Frost

4.2 42
by Jennifer Estep
 
Estep blends the perfect amount of action, romance and comedy. --RT Book Reviews

I'm Logan Quinn, the deadliest Spartan warrior at Mythos Academy. At least I was--until the day I almost killed Gwen Frost.

Professor Metis and Nickamedes say that I'm fine, that Loki and the Reapers don't have a hold on me anymore, but I can't risk it. I can't risk

Overview

Estep blends the perfect amount of action, romance and comedy. --RT Book Reviews

I'm Logan Quinn, the deadliest Spartan warrior at Mythos Academy. At least I was--until the day I almost killed Gwen Frost.

Professor Metis and Nickamedes say that I'm fine, that Loki and the Reapers don't have a hold on me anymore, but I can't risk it. I can't risk hurting Gwen again. So I'm leaving Mythos and going somewhere far, far away.

I know Gwen wonders what's happening to me, whether I'm safe. I can't tell her, but this is my story. . .

Praise for the Mythos Academy Series

"The strongest installment thus far--Estep delivers." --Library Journal on Dark Frost

"Lots of twists and turns and a surprise ending will leave the reader breathless!" --RT Book Reviews on Kiss of Frost, 4 Stars

"Recommended for fans of Richelle Mead, Rachel Hawkins and P.C. Cast." --NocturneReads

"Ms. Estep's Mythos Academy is sure to appeal to all those who love a good character-driven YA that uses humor, snark, and seriousness to create a world you won't want to leave." --Heroes & Heartbreakers

"It has literally everything: mystery, romance, mythology, boarding schools. What could be better?" --Simply Nerdy Book Reviews on Touch of Frost

14,767 Words

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 7 Up—"I was going to kill her. I wanted to kill her-more than anything else." Logan Quinn remembers being under a spell cast by his stepmother and attacking and nearly killing Gwen Frost, the girl he loves. Logan is a deadly Spartan warrior and student at Mythos Academy, which trains students with mythological powers. He is racked by guilt and has retreated to the home he shares with his father in New York. After such a riveting, intense beginning, the rest of this e-novella feels like a sedate series of events. Through the teen's narration, readers learn more about him and his father. It turns out that Linus is the head of the Protectorate, the group that is responsible for tracking down and getting rid of the evil Reapers. When Reaper activity is reported in the vicinity, Logan joins his father and two other Protectorate members to track down the villains. After they deal with the situation in New York, something occurs that puts Logan's friends at the academy in great danger. The story comes to an abrupt end at this point. Familiarity with the "Mythos Academy" novels is necessary to understand fully what is happening here. The short format does not allow for in-depth characterization, detailed plot, or very much action.—Mary Oluonye, Shaker Heights Public Library, OH

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780758294777
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
06/25/2013
Series:
Mythos Academy Series
Sold by:
Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
58
Sales rank:
69,004
File size:
623 KB
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Jennifer Estep is a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author prowling the streets of her imagination in search of her next fantasy idea. Spider’s Bite, Web of Lies, Venom, Tangled Threads, Spider’s Revenge, the eNovella “Thread of Death,” By a Thread, Widow’s Web, and Deadly Sting are the other titles in her Elemental Assassin urban fantasy series for Pocket Books. She also writes the Mythos Academy young adult urban fantasy series.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Spartan Frost 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
AlwaysYAatHeart1 More than 1 year ago
I love Jennifer Estep's Mythos Academy Series.  Spartan Frost is a short novella which is actually told from Logan's point of view.  Logan Quinn is the Spartan hottie who is Gwen, the main character's boyfriend.  The story begins immediately after the events that occurred in Crimson Frost.  Distraught, ashamed, guilty, and angry at himself, Loki, his stepmother and the reapers, Logan can't face Gwen or his friends, so he has left with his father.  In Spartan Frost we get a glimpse inside Logan's head and get his perspective on the things that happen, how he is feeling now, and what how he plans to go forward.  Of course, they are always reapers to battle.  As this novella ends, story begins to unfold and lead into the next installment, Midnight Frost.  Spartan Frost is quick read that lives up to the expectations fans of Jennifer Estep have come to expect from this series.  I am looking forward to diving into Midnight Frost and seeing where she takes the story from here. 
PsiqueBezerra More than 1 year ago
I love Gwen and this book is almost perfect. I have a few issues with this cover and if you're following this series, we both now this is so not a guy. But anyway I missed Gwen in this little novella and it’s actually funny, but I never hated Logan, even after everything he did in the last book, I’m not saying what!! Logan is actually perfect, because he never knows about anything and he was clearly betrayed, so more pity and that is exactly what he’s running from. He is in love with Gwen but after the way he acted and how much he was hurt her, it’s actually understandable seeing him trying to put some distance between them, but I liked knowing his doubts and he’s clearly trying to get back on his feet. So this was a nice little insight to Logan POV and I liked seeing him torn about Gwen.
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Spartan Frost is Logan Quinn's short story, this takes place after Crimson Frost.  Logan Quinn is the strongest warrior in Mythos Academy, possessed he almost commits the most heinous crime...killing Gwen Frost and his friends. Removing himself from the academy and all his friends, Logan has lost faith in himself. He is living with his father and they soon discover that the Reapers aren't done and the battle is far from over. Spartan Frost is great insight into the mind of Logan after is ordeal. It might be short but it packed a punch...giving us just enough that make us want to beg for more! The Mythos Academy is a wonderful young adult series. Anxiously waiting for Midnight Frost coming July 30, 2013. Midnight Frost I received this ARC copy of Spartan Frost from Kensington Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication June 25, 2013.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Headline says it all. Just 49 pages and while the insight to Logan's mind and attitude was great it was way too short.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Expected it to be longer it was just a tease
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is a med cat apprentence; nneeds a mentor. Is seven moons old. Can somtimes see starclan in dreams. Is white with blue eyes; ran away from clan 'home'. Was born in snowclan. Mother: Icepool, was Snowclan med cat and used to be mentor. Unknown father.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A frosty field
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Rachel Book provided by NetGalley for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book To be fair, I hadn’t read any of the books in this series until now, but the blurb totally captivated me. I mean I knew if I was hooked by that I would be totally hooked by the story. Although it was only 46 pages, this story packed a punch. Immediate we are thrown into Logan’s reality as he is faced with killing not only his best friend but love interest from the previous books. He’s possessed, and is trying to fight against the demon or in his case Greek god inside him. He wakes up in a cold sweat. And then you have the beginning of Logan’s story. As a reader you realize right away its telling the story of his point of view, what was going on when he was faced with killing the love of his life? What was he thinking? Could he stop himself? Could he control himself? Amazing. Is all I have to say because by reading the emotion in that short snippet I’m ridiculously tempted to go grab the entire series and devour it. Was it satisfying? Heck no. Because I wanted more. Hats off to the author you left me salivating for the entire story, exactly what a novella should do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a short novella filling in a little bit more of Logan's background between the 5th Mythos Academy novel, Crimson Frost, and the 6th, Midnight Frost, and what happened to him after he left Mythos Academy. I recommend reading it the way I listed here, because otherwise you'll get a few spoilers and have questions about some of the events this novella refers to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Way too short 5 chapters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Alec Howle. Age: 16. Weight: 180. Body type: very muscular but not slow. Weapons: knives grenades, his M-16 and M1911
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
1. Logan Quinn, Mythos Academy series 2. Henry, The Goddess Test Series 3. Percy Jackson, Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and The Heroes of Olympus series 4. Harry Potter, Harry Potter series 5. Edward and Jacob, Twilight series Did I mention that the list is in order with Really Hot guys as no.1 and Not-so Hot guys as no.5?
Duckcarver More than 1 year ago
Great series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thats fine with me. Thanku for your consideration.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kopsahl More than 1 year ago
The much anticipated e-novella from Jennifer Estep has come! Logan’s POV is something fans of Estep’s Mythos Academy series have been patiently for. Although I wish that it wasn’t such a short insight into the tortured Spartan, most fans will be slightly satisfied. I don’t want to give much away and it is hard to write a review on something that is about 46 pages long so in short Estep gives her readers a look into how much Logan is beating himself up about what he did when his body was controlled by Loki. The emotionally impact that Estep packs into this novella will have you wanting more and looking forward to the next book in this series, Midnight Frost.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stares at the empty camp.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kewl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Readergirl_Revus More than 1 year ago
Because I love these books so very much, it was amazing to get a tiny bone like this novella thrown my way. Thank you, Jennifer Estep, for giving us a small taste between the big bites. I loved this novella. First of all, it's all about Logan, which I love, because hey... who isn't absolutely in love with Logan? After the ending of the last book, it was really great to see inside Logan's head and get an idea of what his emotions are right now, and what he was thinking at the end of the last book. Being in his head was a really cool place to be. We get a deeper key into who he is, even in such a short period of time. This novella answers some questions that were left in the last book, and it also gives you a bit of an idea of what might be in store in future. I think it's perfectly possible to read the next full length book without having read this, yes, but this adds something to the next book that I didn't realize I would need when I read the Midnight Frost. So this is a great companion. Logan lovers will not want to miss it. The writing is exactly what we've all come to expect from Jennifer Estep! Look for my review of Midnight Frost tomorrow.
Blaaa More than 1 year ago
Was great. It was a good thing to starve off but made me hungry for more. Wish it was long though.