Speedbumps: Flooring It through Hollywood

( 3 )

Overview

At once laugh-out-loud funny and remarkably down-to-earth, the popular Oscar-nominated actress muses about movies, men, motherhood, and MS in a book that is both Hollywood hilarious and personally moving

From Speedbumps:
I was originally up for the principal female role in Young Frankenstein. Mel Brooks was directing. He had just finished Blazing Saddles, and was at the top of the comedy world.

Mel had ...

See more details below
This Hardcover is Not Available through BN.com
Note: This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but may have slight markings from the publisher and/or stickers showing their discounted price. More about bargain books
Sending request ...

Overview

At once laugh-out-loud funny and remarkably down-to-earth, the popular Oscar-nominated actress muses about movies, men, motherhood, and MS in a book that is both Hollywood hilarious and personally moving

From Speedbumps:
I was originally up for the principal female role in Young Frankenstein. Mel Brooks was directing. He had just finished Blazing Saddles, and was at the top of the comedy world.

Mel had picked me out of five hundred girls, but admitted that he was still trying to convince Madeline Kahn to take the lead role. After I auditioned three times, Madeline finally did decide to take the part of the fiancée.

I was crushed. I’d never come so close to getting a major part in a major movie. But then Mel told me that if I came back the next day with a German accent I could read for the part of Inga, Gene Wilder’s buxom lab assistant.

A German accent in twenty-four hours? Luckily, I was still on The Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour, and, as fate would have it, Cher’s wig stylist was German. So, I sat in on Cher’s hairstyling session (that gave me hours of study!) and emerged with a perfect German accent when saying, “Mein Gott, zis vig veighs forty pounds.” That would translate to the script!

There was one last thing I needed for Inga. Or two, actually. I realized Inga’s part was really all about the boobs, so the next day I went in to the audition wearing a bra stuffed with socks. People pay over five thousand dollars for a boob job today. Mine cost under five dollars at Woolworth’s, and got me the part, my biggest to date.

I was thrilled. I’d been chosen by one of the best. My career was finally in motion.

I got to thinking that I should have stuffed my bra with socks for every audition.

In The New Yorker, the late, great film critic Pauline Kael called Garr, "the funniest neurotic dizzy dame."

Author Bio: Teri Garr is a leading advocate in raising awareness for multiple sclerosis and one of Hollywood’s most beloved comic actresses, starring in such classic films as Young Frankenstein, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Mr. Mom, and Tootsie, for which she received an Academy Award nomination.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble
Teri Garr's acting career boasts enough high points to satisfy any reader of Hollywood memoirs: Her 40-year run includes roles in Tootsie, Young Frankenstein, Mr. Mom, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, and no fewer than nine Elvis Presley films; and TV credits spanning eras from The Sonny and Cher Show to Friends. But the professional career of this Oscar-nominated actress is only half the story. In October 2002, Garr announced on national television that she had multiple sclerosis. This heartfelt memoir of her life before and since MS will appeal to readers of Michael J. Fox, Christopher Reeve, and Peggy Lipton.
Publishers Weekly
This dishy memoir may be about "speedbumps"-obstacles that slow a person's journey in life-but Garr's delivery is smooth as glass, with no jarring notes. Garr's performance highlights her wonderfully edgy sarcasm and self-deprecating humor. This audio version is often better than the print book, particularly when Garr launches into funny digressions or catty parenthetical comments about people in Hollywood. She seems to have a marvelous time poking fun at herself, from her drama-queen tendencies to the ways she used to pad her resume. Her behind-the-scenes commentaries about some of her more famous roles, such as the buxom German nurse in Young Frankenstein, are delicious. The last third of Garr's book is devoted to multiple sclerosis, which she was definitively diagnosed as having in 1999, after 20 years of strange, on-again, off-again symptoms. But even here, her humor is in full sway, as she describes her new role as a celebrity spokesperson for the disease. Listeners will cheer her on as she invites us along for an exciting ride, speed bumps and all. Simultaneous release with the Hudson Street hardcover (Reviews, Aug. 22). (Dec.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780641829147
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 11/3/2005
  • Pages: 256
  • Product dimensions: 6.20 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

TERI GARR is a leading advocate in raising awareness for multiple sclerosis, and one of Hollywood's most beloved comic actresses.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    This is One to Read.

    This book looks back at Teri's life in show biz. She is funny, but can make you cry too with her MS from the beginning to today. I applaud her dedication to MS and to being a MS Abassador.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)