Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood

Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood

3.7 7
by Teri Garr, Henriette Mantel
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In this laugh-out-loud funny and inspiring autobiography, one of Hollywood’s best-loved comediennes muses about movies, men, motherhood, and MS 

In a book that is at once Hollywood hilarious and personally moving, Teri Garr, star of such classic films as Young Frankenstein, Oh God!, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Mr. Mom, and&

Overview

In this laugh-out-loud funny and inspiring autobiography, one of Hollywood’s best-loved comediennes muses about movies, men, motherhood, and MS 

In a book that is at once Hollywood hilarious and personally moving, Teri Garr, star of such classic films as Young Frankenstein, Oh God!, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Mr. Mom, and Tootsie, for which she received an Academy Award nomination, writes about her life with the same wit and warmth that have won the hearts of fans for over three decades.

From sipping Cokes with Elvis Presley to hangin’ with the Beatles; from her secrets to succeeding in Hollywood without losing her sanity, to dealing with the fear, anxiety, and denial of being plagued by mysterious physical problems that eluded diagnosis for over twenty years—the insights in Speedbumps, while always couched in Garr’s trademark humor, are honest, heartfelt, and often profound. BACKCOVER: “The driven comedian tells (almost) all…[and] she’s as dizzily funny as ever.”
Entertainment Weekly 

“Garr sticks to the truth whether it’s hysterically funny, or, at times, heart wrenching. Read this book, it’s a lesson in courage.”
—Mel Brooks

Editorial Reviews

Teri Garr's acting career boasts enough high points to satisfy any reader of Hollywood memoirs: Her 40-year run includes roles in Tootsie, Young Frankenstein, Mr. Mom, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, and no fewer than nine Elvis Presley films; and TV credits spanning eras from The Sonny and Cher Show to Friends. But the professional career of this Oscar-nominated actress is only half the story. In October 2002, Garr announced on national television that she had multiple sclerosis. This heartfelt memoir of her life before and since MS will appeal to readers of Michael J. Fox, Christopher Reeve, and Peggy Lipton.
Publishers Weekly
This dishy memoir may be about "speedbumps"-obstacles that slow a person's journey in life-but Garr's delivery is smooth as glass, with no jarring notes. Garr's performance highlights her wonderfully edgy sarcasm and self-deprecating humor. This audio version is often better than the print book, particularly when Garr launches into funny digressions or catty parenthetical comments about people in Hollywood. She seems to have a marvelous time poking fun at herself, from her drama-queen tendencies to the ways she used to pad her resume. Her behind-the-scenes commentaries about some of her more famous roles, such as the buxom German nurse in Young Frankenstein, are delicious. The last third of Garr's book is devoted to multiple sclerosis, which she was definitively diagnosed as having in 1999, after 20 years of strange, on-again, off-again symptoms. But even here, her humor is in full sway, as she describes her new role as a celebrity spokesperson for the disease. Listeners will cheer her on as she invites us along for an exciting ride, speed bumps and all. Simultaneous release with the Hudson Street hardcover (Reviews, Aug. 22). (Dec.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781440627309
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/31/2006
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
1,039,351
File size:
300 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Teri Garr is a leading advocate in raising awareness for multiple sclerosis and one of Hollywood's most beloved comic actresses, starring in such classic films as Young Frankenstein, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Mr. Mom, and Tootsie, for which she received an Academy Award nomination.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a must read if you have been recently diagnosed with MS. Through Teri's story you can see how her life began changing and how long it took for her to realize that something was wrong. It gives the reader, especially if newly diagnosed, a sense of community, they are not alone in the confusion and time it takes to figure out what the symptoms mean and getting a confirmed diagnosis. Teri uses humor to help the reader laugh at the tough spots she finds herself in and how to overcome the stereotypes that go with having MS. I would recommend this book even if you don't have MS because it is such an inspirational story that everyone will benefit from reading.
Faaus More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed learning a good bit about Teri Garr's life. She's been a favorite of mine since she danced on "Shindig". We get to see her slow evolution from humble beginnings and cheer as she succeeds. She details the ravages of her MS, which began so subtly, and are inspired by the way she accommodates it into her life. I would have liked much more "insider" information, but enjoyed what was there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample was one paragraph that said ABSOLUTELY nothing. Being that I have MS, possibly looking forward to reading it, it gave me no insight into the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm enjoying her book right now--about half way through. I have MS like she does and can relate to her. I didn't know she was such a talented dancer! All these years I recall her in films like Close Encounters and Young Frankenstein. She's one cool chick.