BN.com Gift Guide

Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood [NOOK Book]

Overview

In this laugh-out-loud funny and inspiring autobiography, one of Hollywood’s best-loved comediennes muses about movies, men, motherhood, and MS

In a book that is at once Hollywood hilarious and personally moving, Teri Garr, star of such classic films as Young Frankenstein, Oh God!, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Mr. Mom, and Tootsie, for which she received an Academy Award nomination, writes about her life with the same wit and warmth ...
See more details below
Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price

Overview

In this laugh-out-loud funny and inspiring autobiography, one of Hollywood’s best-loved comediennes muses about movies, men, motherhood, and MS

In a book that is at once Hollywood hilarious and personally moving, Teri Garr, star of such classic films as Young Frankenstein, Oh God!, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Mr. Mom, and Tootsie, for which she received an Academy Award nomination, writes about her life with the same wit and warmth that have won the hearts of fans for over three decades. From sipping Cokes with Elvis Presley to hangin’ with the Beatles; from her secrets to succeeding in Hollywood without losing her sanity, to dealing with the fear, anxiety, and denial of being plagued by mysterious physical problems that eluded diagnosis for over twenty years—the insights in Speedbumps, while always couched in Garr’s trademark humor, are honest, heartfelt, and often profound. BACKCOVER: “The driven comedian tells (almost) all…[and] she’s as dizzily funny as ever.”
Entertainment Weekly

“Garr sticks to the truth whether it’s hysterically funny, or, at times, heart wrenching. Read this book, it’s a lesson in courage.”
—Mel Brooks


Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble
Teri Garr's acting career boasts enough high points to satisfy any reader of Hollywood memoirs: Her 40-year run includes roles in Tootsie, Young Frankenstein, Mr. Mom, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, and no fewer than nine Elvis Presley films; and TV credits spanning eras from The Sonny and Cher Show to Friends. But the professional career of this Oscar-nominated actress is only half the story. In October 2002, Garr announced on national television that she had multiple sclerosis. This heartfelt memoir of her life before and since MS will appeal to readers of Michael J. Fox, Christopher Reeve, and Peggy Lipton.
Publishers Weekly
This dishy memoir may be about "speedbumps"-obstacles that slow a person's journey in life-but Garr's delivery is smooth as glass, with no jarring notes. Garr's performance highlights her wonderfully edgy sarcasm and self-deprecating humor. This audio version is often better than the print book, particularly when Garr launches into funny digressions or catty parenthetical comments about people in Hollywood. She seems to have a marvelous time poking fun at herself, from her drama-queen tendencies to the ways she used to pad her resume. Her behind-the-scenes commentaries about some of her more famous roles, such as the buxom German nurse in Young Frankenstein, are delicious. The last third of Garr's book is devoted to multiple sclerosis, which she was definitively diagnosed as having in 1999, after 20 years of strange, on-again, off-again symptoms. But even here, her humor is in full sway, as she describes her new role as a celebrity spokesperson for the disease. Listeners will cheer her on as she invites us along for an exciting ride, speed bumps and all. Simultaneous release with the Hudson Street hardcover (Reviews, Aug. 22). (Dec.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781440627309
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 10/31/2006
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 514,648
  • File size: 293 KB

Meet the Author

Teri Garr is a leading advocate in raising awareness for multiple sclerosis and one of Hollywood's most beloved comic actresses, starring in such classic films as Young Frankenstein, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Mr. Mom, and Tootsie, for which she received an Academy Award nomination.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 7 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    An Inspirational Story on Many Levels

    This book is a must read if you have been recently diagnosed with MS. Through Teri's story you can see how her life began changing and how long it took for her to realize that something was wrong. It gives the reader, especially if newly diagnosed, a sense of community, they are not alone in the confusion and time it takes to figure out what the symptoms mean and getting a confirmed diagnosis. Teri uses humor to help the reader laugh at the tough spots she finds herself in and how to overcome the stereotypes that go with having MS. I would recommend this book even if you don't have MS because it is such an inspirational story that everyone will benefit from reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    For any fan of Teri...

    I really enjoyed learning a good bit about Teri Garr's life. She's been a favorite of mine since she danced on "Shindig". We get to see her slow evolution from humble beginnings and cheer as she succeeds. She details the ravages of her MS, which began so subtly, and are inspired by the way she accommodates it into her life. I would have liked much more "insider" information, but enjoyed what was there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    What sample?

    The sample was one paragraph that said ABSOLUTELY
    nothing. Being that I have MS, possibly looking forward to reading it, it gave me no insight into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    Fun read on Terri's life

    I'm enjoying her book right now--about half way through. I have MS like she does and can relate to her. I didn't know she was such a talented dancer! All these years I recall her in films like Close Encounters and Young Frankenstein. She's one cool chick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 7 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)