Spirit and Dust [NOOK Book]

Overview

   Fans of Veronica Mars and Buffy the Vampire Slayer will love Daisy Goodnight--she can speak to the dead. It’s not the result of a head injury or some near-death experience. She was just born that way. And she’s really good at it. Good enough to help the police solve the occasional homicide.
  But helping the local authorities clear cold cases is one thing. Being whisked out of chemistry class by the FBI and flown to the scene ...

See more details below
Spirit and Dust

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

   Fans of Veronica Mars and Buffy the Vampire Slayer will love Daisy Goodnight--she can speak to the dead. It’s not the result of a head injury or some near-death experience. She was just born that way. And she’s really good at it. Good enough to help the police solve the occasional homicide.
  But helping the local authorities clear cold cases is one thing. Being whisked out of chemistry class by the FBI and flown to the scene of a murder/kidnapping in Minnesota?   That’s the real deal.
  Before the promotion can go to Daisy’s head, she’s up to her neck in trouble. The spirits are talking, and they’re terrified. There’s a real living girl in danger. And when Daisy is kidnapped by a crime boss with no scruples about using magic—and Daisy—to get what he wants, it looks like hers is the next soul on the line.

[STAR] “You can’t really beat a story that has hijinks, romance, and…the bones of Sue the T-rex.”—The Bulletin

[STAR] "This is one of the best YA novels of the year."—School Library Journal, starred review

“This likable, uber-competent heroine’s adventure combines elements of paranormal romance and fast-paced thriller.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Clement-Moore delivers some lovely comic zingers in a romance.”—Booklist




From the Hardcover edition.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—Daisy Goodnight, a 17-year-old psychic wunderkind, is a college student but occasionally she helps the FBI on murder cases. When the Feds whisk her away for another job, what starts out as a routine homicide investigation turns into a deadly game of cat and mouse. Enter crime boss Maguire. He kidnaps Daisy to extort her powers to find his kidnapped teenage daughter and to track down the magical Black Jackal, an ancient Egyptian artifact. A secret brotherhood wants the jackal, too, and neither the brotherhood nor Maguire has any scruples about doing whatever it takes to get it. Maguire pairs Daisy with his handsome young thug-with-a-conscience, Carson, and sends them off on a pulse-pumping hunt. What ensues is a perfectly balanced, dynamite combo of action, suspense, mystery, romance, and the paranormal topped off with a dash of humor. Daisy and Carson race across state lines, searching for clues in cemeteries, libraries, and museums. Along the way, they wrestle mummies, flee from the ghost of the Pompeii volcano, and encounter helpful spirit remnants of dead relatives. As Daisy and Carson get closer to the jackal, they discover that it has the potential to unleash unlimited spirit power. In the wrong hands…well, there's the rub. Daisy is an endearing, strong heroine. Her magical interactions with the spirit world are made utterly believable by finely drawn, evocative details of how she achieves them and the side effects she suffers each time she does. This is one of the best YA novels of the year.—Jennifer Prince, Buncombe County Public Libraries, NC
From the Publisher
[STAR] "This is one of the best YA novels of the year."—School Library Journal, starred

[STAR] “You can’t really beat a story that has hijinks, romance, and…the bones of Sue the T-rex.”—The Bulletin, starred

“This likable, uber-competent heroine’s adventure combines elements of paranormal romance and fast-paced thriller.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Clement-Moore delivers some lovely comic zingers in a romance.”—Booklist

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780375982712
  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books
  • Publication date: 5/14/2013
  • Sold by: Random House
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 400
  • Sales rank: 155,801
  • Age range: 12 - 17 Years
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

ROSEMARY CLEMENT-MOORE is also the author of Prom Dates from Hell and Hell Week (both of which can be found in Brimstone), Highway to Hell, The Splendor Falls, Texas Gothic, and Spirit and Dust. She grew up on a ranch in south Texas and now lives and writes in Arlington, Texas. You can visit her at ReadRosemary.com or follow @rclementmoore on Twitter.




From the Hardcover edition.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Review

    I found this really interesting. At first i was relunctant to read it but it grew on me and i wished it was turned into a series because i LOVED IT!!! certainly a great read. The beginning is a bit boring but it picks up. Definetely reccomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    B

    Okay thats creepy.


    ……=[Featherdust]=……

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'Spirit and Dust' is the second book in a young adult paranormal

    'Spirit and Dust' is the second book in a young adult paranormal series that follows the Goodnight family. This installment follows teenage psychic Daisy Goodnight when she is called in by the FBI to help with a murder case outside a college dorm in Minnesota. Unlike most of the cases that Daisy helps out with, this is very different. The murder is fresh and Daisy can't seem to get a good psychic reading from the scene or the spirit left behind. Soon Daisy finds out that there's more than just the murder - the teenage daughter of a crime boss has been kidnapped and the FBI are relying on Daisy to help find her. As if that wasn't enough, Daisy is kidnapped by the girl's father and is forced to help find his daughter at all costs. Just what has Daisy gotten herself into this time?

    When I first read this book, I had no idea that it was the second book in a series. It can be read as a stand alone novel, because I had no problems in understanding the characters or the story. That being said - this is one of the best books I've read this year! It was so fun and exciting that I was completely hooked from the first couple of paragraphs. Daisy is a perfect leading lady - she's smart, snarky, realistic, and totally devoted to her family. I loved her sarcastic banter and the witty remarks she made throughout the book - it was like being inside my own head at times. I actually found myself snickering along with Daisy at times in the novel - she's really a great main character. The plot was really fascinating and I loved every aspect of it. It might sound a bit corny or cliched - a teenage psychic helping solve murders with the FBI - but the author wrote it with such a fresh perspective and an original voice that it really felt unique to the genre. I loved learning all about Daisy and her psychic abilities, along with the magic in the book and even the interesting historical references. The author really wove all the pieces of the plot together to make a fun and thrilling story. The writing was phenomenal - fast paced, natural and witty dialogue, and effortless flow. I literally could not put this one down and ended up reading it in one sitting. There are so many different genres mixed in with the paranormal - action, adventure, mystery, and always some romance - that it will definitely appeal to readers who love various genres. I highly recommend this book to those who love YA paranormal fiction along with anyone looking for a great story with fun characters and a thrilling paranormal mystery. I'm definitely going to hunt down all the author's other works and am already eagerly awaiting the next book in the series!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Really enjoyable supernatural YA book, even for adults. Love the

    Really enjoyable supernatural YA book, even for adults. Love the witty dialogue. The main character is likeable, and I thought this was a refreshing take on this genre. I liked it so much I read Texas Gothic by this author and thoroughly enjoyed that read, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)