Spirit Lights

( 2 )

Overview

A coming-of-age novel for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell & Jack London, in which a young French boy learns to love and let go. Returning to the Arctic after a two-year absence, 12-year-old Jean-Paul has overcome his fear of the dark, but discovers his best Inuit friend is terrified of the Northern Lights. Polar bears, huskies, auroras that speak--and danger in the Arctic. (Ages 12 & up)
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (4) from $2.61   
  • New (1) from $33.96   
  • Used (3) from $2.61   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$33.96
Seller since 2011

Feedback rating:

(940)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand new and unread! Join our growing list of satisfied customers!

Ships from: Phoenix, MD

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Spirit Lights

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

A coming-of-age novel for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell & Jack London, in which a young French boy learns to love and let go. Returning to the Arctic after a two-year absence, 12-year-old Jean-Paul has overcome his fear of the dark, but discovers his best Inuit friend is terrified of the Northern Lights. Polar bears, huskies, auroras that speak--and danger in the Arctic. (Ages 12 & up)
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Ian Ruxton
An enchanting tale, brilliantly told

Bonnie Turner is an experienced children's novelist who clearly loves to write and does it very well indeed. This book is captivating, vivid and set in the beautiful North of Canada. Definitely a recommended book for younger readers.
Liz (none given)
It seems that adversity forms strong bonds. The friendship between Jean-Paul and Chinook take them a long way in helping other people. They reveal an admirable bravery in their adventure. The girls in this book show some as well; the polar bear scared me. I'm glad all was well in the end (and hope that the missing nephew will be found).
Nerissa (none given)
A sequel better than the first book!

This is a suspenseful book continuing the story of John-Paul, Sasha, and the Ice Patrol. It is beautifully written.
Sherry Chaudoir
The author of this book portrayed the Canadian environment as if one was really there. I actually felt cold in the ice and snow, and felt happy with the characters, as well as experienced their heartships with them.

The main character, Jean Paul, is a great role model for young men who begin their own journeys and personal struggles in entering adulthood. I think a lot of young people can truly relate to the characters.

I highly recommend any young person to read this book - es
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781411616240
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • Publication date: 10/28/2004
  • Pages: 120
  • Age range: 10 - 14 Years
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.28 (d)

Meet the Author

For a number of years, Bonnie Turner visited grade schools with a life-sized Inuit doll, where she lectured students on the importance of reading and writing, and offered them “polar bear hugs” along with her autograph.

Spirit Lights is the long-awaited sequel to her first book for children, The Haunted Igloo. For Bonnie Turner, this book was a labor of love.

Bonnie Turner lives in Wisconsin.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Wonderful book for young adults entering adulthood

    This book truly portrayed the struggles that young adults face as they enter adulthood. When reading the book, I actually felt as though I was in Canada's Northwest with the main character, Jean Paul. I experienced his happiness as well as the sadness from the hardship he experienced. You will love this book if you love the outdoors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    A vivid canvous of emotions and suspense.

    This story excites the senses, rewards the imagination, and brings out the child within the adult. Truly a work of art that blends mystery, inspiration, and respect for diverse cultures. Lots of kaona (hidden meanings) to ponder upon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    A beautiful story

    This book is beautiful in every way; the characters are very interesting, from the young boy to the husky dogs, the author's knowledge of the culture is well used, the story is exciting and passionate. I would love to see this story developed into a film, it would be very popular, for old and young alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    An enchanting tale, brilliantly told

    Bonnie Turner is an experienced childrens' novelist who clearly loves to write and does it very well indeed. This book is captivating and set in the beautiful North of Canada.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)