Spirit Lights

Spirit Lights

4.3 6
by Bonnie Turner
     
 

A coming-of-age novel for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell & Jack London, in which a young French boy learns to love and let go. Returning to the Arctic after a two-year absence, 12-year-old Jean-Paul has overcome his fear of the dark, but discovers his best Inuit friend is terrified of the Northern Lights. Polar bears, huskies, auroras that speak--and danger in… See more details below

Overview

A coming-of-age novel for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell & Jack London, in which a young French boy learns to love and let go. Returning to the Arctic after a two-year absence, 12-year-old Jean-Paul has overcome his fear of the dark, but discovers his best Inuit friend is terrified of the Northern Lights. Polar bears, huskies, auroras that speak--and danger in the Arctic. (Ages 12 & up)

Editorial Reviews

Ian Ruxton
An enchanting tale, brilliantly told

Bonnie Turner is an experienced children's novelist who clearly loves to write and does it very well indeed. This book is captivating, vivid and set in the beautiful North of Canada. Definitely a recommended book for younger readers.
Sherry Chaudoir
The author of this book portrayed the Canadian environment as if one was really there. I actually felt cold in the ice and snow, and felt happy with the characters, as well as experienced their heartships with them.

The main character, Jean Paul, is a great role model for young men who begin their own journeys and personal struggles in entering adulthood. I think a lot of young people can truly relate to the characters.

I highly recommend any young person to read this book - es
Liz (none given)
It seems that adversity forms strong bonds. The friendship between Jean-Paul and Chinook take them a long way in helping other people. They reveal an admirable bravery in their adventure. The girls in this book show some as well; the polar bear scared me. I'm glad all was well in the end (and hope that the missing nephew will be found).
Nerissa (none given)
A sequel better than the first book!

This is a suspenseful book continuing the story of John-Paul, Sasha, and the Ice Patrol. It is beautifully written.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940000906231
Publisher:
Bonnie Turner
Publication date:
04/09/2010
Series:
North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy
Sold by:
Smashwords
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
0 MB
Age Range:
12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >