Squirrel's World

( 1 )

Overview

Hello, hello, hello! Meet frenetically helpful Squirrel and his patient animal friends in four funny, engaging stories for the early chapter-book crowd.

Squirrel is a very, very, very good helper! He helps his tree grow, he helps the river flow, and he helps his three best friends, Mouse, Turtle, and Rabbit. He is such a good helper, in fact, that he helps his friends when they don’t even know they need help! It is a lot of work being such a caring squirrel, but there is much to...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (12) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $80.00   
  • Used (11) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$80.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(139)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Hello, hello, hello! Meet frenetically helpful Squirrel and his patient animal friends in four funny, engaging stories for the early chapter-book crowd.

Squirrel is a very, very, very good helper! He helps his tree grow, he helps the river flow, and he helps his three best friends, Mouse, Turtle, and Rabbit. He is such a good helper, in fact, that he helps his friends when they don’t even know they need help! It is a lot of work being such a caring squirrel, but there is much to do before sleep, sleep, sleep time. Prepare to fall in love with the utterly endearing — and undeniably exhausting — Squirrel in this sweet and funny chapter book from author Lisa Moser and illustrator Valeri Gorbachev.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Joella Peterson
Squirrel is "busy, busy, busy." His three main jobs are to help the trees ("grow, grow, grow"), the river ("flow, flow, flow") and his friends. Sometimes squirrel doesn't know how to help his friends, but he does his best. Squirrel helps mouse get more food (although he gets so much that he almost covers mouse). Squirrel helps turtle play the perfect game (turtle sleeps while squirrel goes off to hide). Last but not least, Squirrel helps Rabbit get a lily pad to use for an umbrella (by splashing around and getting Rabbit wet). However, even with all the mischief that Squirrel causes, he is especially appreciated when he helps Rabbit a second time. It turns out that Rabbit is afraid of the dark and Squirrel finds a firefly to help. This sweet story has a plethora of color illustrations scattered throughout four short chapters. These illustrations really bring to life the lovably energetic squirrel and his forgiving friends. Beginning readers will enjoy this clever and charming story of a squirrel's friendship in the forest. This book is a must for any early reading library. Reviewer: Joella Peterson
School Library Journal

Gr 1-3
Squirrel's world is a dizzying blur of activity and chatter that is somehow endearing and sure to elicit a giggle or two from young readers. The well-meaning but blundering creature frisks and capers through each of the four chapters, offering "assistance" to his friends. The softly colored illustrations and understated text complement each other well. Gorbachev's lively ink-and-watercolor art captures the sleepy patience of Turtle, the tremulous fear of Mouse, and the frenzied energy of Squirrel to a tee. Readers see an exasperated Mouse try to conceal her annoyance with her friend after he accidentally buries her under a pile of food, for the second time. Repetitive text and well-designed pages support the efforts of young readers who will likely enjoy Squirrel's humorous misadventures and his unique way of talking. Despite his many missteps, Squirrel's good heart shines through as he comforts Rabbit, who is frightened of being alone in the dark. Parents may find that a little Squirrel goes a long way, but young readers who enjoy Dori Chaconas's "Cork and Fuzz" books (Viking) will laugh at his antics.
—Neala ArnoldCopyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Kirkus Reviews
Bridging the turf between easy readers and beginning chapter books, this story stars a very squirrelly squirrel fond of declarations in triplicate: "Got to go. Got to go. Got to go, go, go!" Squirrel's well-meaning overcompensation results in a windfall of food for Mouse, a lively (if one-sided) game with sleepy Turtle and plenty of splashy cheerleading for Rabbit's efforts to snag a lily-pad umbrella from the pond. Gorbachev's appealing watercolors provide the right touches for Moser's wry text, depicting Squirrel's manic activity in a plethora of amusing spots. This kinesthetic trip through Squirrel's "good, good, good day," less predictable than most easy-reader fare, will charm and challenge emergent readers-and the critter's final-page snooze should satisfy on several levels. (Fiction. 5-7)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780763629298
  • Publisher: Candlewick Press
  • Publication date: 8/28/2007
  • Pages: 48
  • Age range: 5 - 9 Years
  • Product dimensions: 6.10 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

Lisa Moser is the author of THE MONSTER IN THE BACKPACK, illustrated by Noah Z. Jones. She says she got the idea for this story by watching a squirrel scamper, scamper, scamper around her backyard. She and her family live in Grafton, Wisconsin.

Valeri Gorbachev is the author and illustrator of many acclaimed children’s books, including ALL FOR PIE, PIE FOR ALL by David Martin. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    this book is hilarious! Illustrations are artwork, as they are in all Valeri Gorbachev illustrated children books. Your child will love the busy squirrel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)